2014 X-Trail

Quantum

no leh... I tried the showroom car in LK, only one locking leh, even the sales lady said it is like that... I am referring to forward/backward sliding, not reclining the which i think has a few locking.

Yes. Fwd and back. Really, there are a few notches available. I tried it on my car.

We are both talking about nissan x-trail right?

to be fair.

this is the first time i heard of xtrail gear box issue.

you are probably just suay.

Refer to my earlier post, TC contacted me yesterday to offer a replacement car while waiting for the new gearbox to arrive. My SE also informed me this morning that I will get a call from the workshop. Collected the replacement car this morning. 

Although the replacement car is older and lower range than my new x-trail, I feel safer to drive and ferry my family members. So far everything has been good, just hope to get back my x-trail soon.

Thanks folks for all your advise.

For those who intend to buy x-trail, hopefully my gearbox issue is an isolated one. I have heard lemon cases from other brands and models as well. What is more important is the service recovery, remedy and support given by the car dealers.

Yes. Fwd and back. Really, there are a few notches available. I tried it on my car.

We are both talking about nissan x-trail right?

Yes xtrail, stange leh... another brother mentioned his xtrail has only one forward lock too the second row. I wonder would it be due to different batch? Is yours newly collected? The showroom car might be old stock. Edited by Stdfrank

Yes xtrail, stange leh... another brother mentioned his xtrail has only one forward lock too the second row. I wonder would it be due to different batch? Is yours newly collected? The showroom car might be old stock.

Collected car late Jan.

The 2nd row seat shld have a few sliding position..there is a minimum distance from the 3rd row b4 it locks on..then frm there onward,there is a few more position u can adjust

Bro, price only drop $5k and trade-in car value also drop a lot. Give and take, you might still be better off. Not forgetting that your xt has higher paper value.

That's true. Trade-in car value drop, might have to put up more cash upfront for downpayment. Many things in life are unpredictable, just enjoy what you got and don't think too much about what ifs.  

The 2nd row seat shld have a few sliding position..there is a minimum distance from the 3rd row b4 it locks on..then frm there onward,there is a few more position u can adjust

Thanks for the info, I can only guess the showroom car is old stock while newer batch is improved, good anyway as don't have to think about install myself, if I do decide on xtrail.

I am sure you viewed the car and test drove it before handing over the cheque>

If during test drive no vibration , which I believe there should be none, then it should be obvious to you that the vibration is abnormal and not a feature of the car.  

Do you really own a x-trail?

If you meant test driving the test drive car months before, I don't remember the drone and vibration.

That's why during delivery I asked my SE if this was normal. He said it could be that the engine was too new. Well, the vibration never went away. I'm starting to think I got a lemon gearbox like the other gentleman.

I wish if another new X-Trail owner can help sit in my car to verify if this is normal before I report it up again.

Btw, speaking of delivery, mine was done tucked right at the back of the washing shed at the Bt Timah service centre. There were topless foreign cleaners lying around next to where my car was. Totally unglam.  :grin:

Nav14, I'm still wondering why you asked if I "really own a x-trail". I hope you were not being sarcastic. Btw, are you a sales executive at Tan Chong?

Yes xtrail, stange leh... another brother mentioned his xtrail has only one forward lock too the second row. I wonder would it be due to different batch? Is yours newly collected? The showroom car might be old stock.

Not sure if you were referring to me, but I remember aside from the further back setting, the other locking position is around 10-12 cm to the front. Any further there won't be any more leg room for the second row.

If you meant test driving the test drive car months before, I don't remember the drone and vibration.

That's why during delivery I asked my SE if this was normal. He said it could be that the engine was too new. Well, the vibration never went away. I'm starting to think I got a lemon gearbox like the other gentleman.

I wish if another new X-Trail owner can help sit in my car to verify if this is normal before I report it up again.

I suggestion is for you to get a test drive of the xtrail at at least 2 locations (LK/Ubi/BktTimah). That way you can feel for yourself the relative norm. If you have that as a challenge point to TC, they will have to think doubly hard how to push away the blame.

Btw, speaking of delivery, mine was done tucked right at the back of the washing shed at the Bt Timah service centre. There were topless foreign cleaners lying around next to where my car was. Totally unglam. :grin:

Nav14, I'm still wondering why you asked if I "really own a x-trail". I hope you were not being sarcastic. Btw, are you a sales executive at Tan Chong?

Not sure if you were referring to me, but I remember aside from the further back setting, the other locking position is around 10-12 cm to the front. Any further there won't be any more leg room for the second row.

The first locking position is at around 10cm fwd. But that doesn't render the second row unusable.

In all reviews, it's all well documented that the last row is more of an emergency seating for kids or smaller people than a permanent one like the xc90 etc. But when that need arises, the first row can also move forward a little to make room for everyone.

If 7 seats are a must, then maybe a mpv is a more logical choice at this price point.

It's a 130k purchase. I guess doing some homework is necessary before one commits to it.

Haha mine more sian, I buy during 50k Coe den now drop 38k ðð

No wonder I will never win toto or 4d, sibeh suay ðð

Thought that is the best time on buying. No rebate when drop to 38k?