COE - May 2014

without $2B collected from coe, where got special gift including gold pendant for next year SG50 baby [laugh]

without $2B coe, where got special gift including gold pendant for next year SG50 baby [laugh]

I thoughts it's gold plated birth certificate? Haha

Frankly... there are sure many ways to control cars in Singapore.

But our government are always the same old measurable trick... that is dollars & cents

It's like our workplace appraisal system... boss will tell us to set measurable goals... it's really the

easiest & what the bosses are interested...

Our ministers are paid in millions in annual salary & they are expected to do better than this.

If every decision almost the same get ah pig & ah dog can liao or everyone gets to become a minister a month lor

They really got to do better than this...

Actually they are really good at their jobs judging with current situation. Because of the current system, coe bring in a lot of revenue to fund other projects and infra-structures without being a burden to the country. Where you think the funds will come from? The government will need to raise tax from other revenues to cover the expenses - you like to pay higher personal tax? Or more corporate taxes to be levies so end up all consumers have to pay more for essential things?

Cars, being considered a luxury item, has become a sacrificial lamb in the complete picture. Some might not accept, but I think it is brilliant. Forget about all the fanciful way of allocating coe, the options have definitely been considered. This is simply brilliant - 1 stone many birds.

You think you can do better?

do you also think that govt purposely (or intentionally) let property price skyrocketed to collect billion dollar stamp duty to fund other projects?

yes, $2B is collected from coe can fund many projects. but don't forget the high coe causing insane car price, taxi and private bus raise their fares, higher transportation cost also piss off a lot of "voters" ... not an easy choice as it sounds

Actually they are really good at their jobs judging with current situation. Because of the current system, coe bring in a lot of revenue to fund other projects and infra-structures without being a burden to the country. Where you think the funds will come from? The government will need to raise tax from other revenues to cover the expenses - you like to pay higher personal tax? Or more corporate taxes to be levies so end up all consumers have to pay more for essential things?

Cars, being considered a luxury item, has become a sacrificial lamb in the complete picture. Some might not accept, but I think it is brilliant. Forget about all the fanciful way of allocating coe, the options have definitely been considered. This is simply brilliant - 1 stone many birds.

Car=collateral damage?

do you also think that govt purposely (or intentionally) let property price skyrocketed to collect billion dollar stamp duty to fund other projects?

yes, $2B is collected from coe can fund many projects. but don't forget the high coe causing insane car price, taxi and private bus raise their fares, higher transportation cost also piss off a lot of "voters" ... not an easy choice as it sounds

Above just what I think, isolated to coe thingy only. To me if need to find a sector to generate revenue, coe is really brilliant. The direct impact on those richer wiould be much greater than those on less-well off with the trickle effect as cost is passed down the chain.

Anyway, just my thinking. I am not the government.

Car=collateral damage?

Maybe? But don't put it so badly lah. More like the richer contributing more while the less well-off contributing less.

Unpopular and will cost some votes in GE but brilliant in bigger picture. The government is beefing up the public transport system with many more km of mrt being rolled out. Above just my opinion.

Edited by Heartlander

154 agenda need ask meh? [sly]

You're not a baby, neither are a lot of people, but then again, there are other people who ARE babies.

I'm sure you would have met a few of them before, either at school, work or otherwise. They are the people who can't take care of themselves, and who would blame everybody else for their own failures. While I too detest at being treated in this way with the loan curbs, I think that it is vital to have some form of curbs so people cannot simply buy a car by walking into a showroom empty handed.

I remember pre-loan curbs, there were car dealers in pasar malaam selling a $1 driveaway.. Many people couldn't resist it.

Yes so for these "babies" the banks should then deny them their loan application if they are not credit-worthy enough. Problem is banks are often greedy themselves or chasing loan targets hence they will grant loans even to those they should not be giving loans to.

hmm... i thought they are the ones current situation...

haha... you ask me ' You think you can do better ? '

i say... they are paid millions annually & i say they should do better than just always use the money trick.

i understand all the above you had mention...

i need them to say they want to use the money for all these you had mention & not

' use COE to control car population ' if they don't dare say means that there are other uses

which are non transparent

anyway we are getting out of topic... haha

Edited by Mcist

Above just what I think, isolated to coe thingy only. To me if need to find a sector to generate revenue, coe is really brilliant. The direct impact on those richer wiould be much greater than those on less-well off with the trickle effect as cost is passed down the chain.

Anyway, just my thinking. I am not the government.

Direct impact on the rich ?

If really so then all the while should be 50% dp & 5 years loan liao...

Objective is to hit the KPI of 2 billion a year & increase every year becos of inflation...

like what was done to our CPF

perhaps, a new tagline ...

coe is not to control car population ... coe is to fund projects

will the people feel better?

hmm... i thought they are the ones current situation...

haha... you ask me ' You think you can do better ? '
i say... they are paid millions annually & i say they should do better than just always use the money trick.

i understand all the above you had mention...
i need them to say they want to use the money for all these you had mention & not
' use COE to control car population ' if they don't dare say means that there are other uses
which are non transparent

anyway we are getting out of topic... haha

perhaps, a new tagline ...

coe is not to control car population ... coe is to fund projects

will the people feel better?

YES!!! If i can see what they say they are doing... they will get my vote for sure

ERP is another rubbish... use to control traffic flow... haha

without $2B collected from coe, where got special gift including gold pendant for next year SG50 baby [laugh]

Ya lor, if i spend 50k or more for a COE, i feel happy coz i am contributing to the SG50 baby good pendants etc etc. This is how good citizens are made, through letting those aspiring to be one make their contributions through buying COEs [grin]

YES!!! If i can see what they say they are doing... they will get my vote for sure

ERP is another rubbish... use to control traffic flow... haha

Add:- They choose not to mention why traffic is congested. The congestion is a direct result of their failure to provide sufficient. effecient public transport to meet the need of commuters, resulting in many commuters prefer to drive instead of relying on the poor service provided by buses / trains. In other words, they created the problem ie congestion, then use ERP / COE to milk the people with the excuse to solve traffic congestion [crazy][mad]

Anyway if the minister are being paid $120k annually i can still understand la these screw up or lack of

vision... 10x more they must really prove their worth...

We need leader with more passion & compassion...

Anyway if the minister are being paid $120k annually i can still understand la these screw up or lack of

vision... 10x more they must really prove their worth...

We need leader with more passion & compassion...

What to do when 60% of the population don't understand this.....

i think they do purposely unintentionally allow hdb prices to go up...

cos they need $$$ in CPF as those baby boom period born ppl are all in the 50s liao & can start to claim

liao... i believe lots of our CPF $$$ are stuck in investment so need some ' cash flow '

What to do when 60% of the population don't understand this.....

Again... all political parties are the same one... ones they become ruling party.

You think if the WP become our ruling party they will say they only take 120k annual salary ?

Do you think they will take away COE & ERP ?

Look at neighbourhood countries... especially Thailand... no end la

Back to COE... haha

I just need to work hard & earn more or be patient to wait good fate to shine on me :)