Heartlander Turbocharged May 11, 2014 Share May 11, 2014 Direct impact on the rich ? If really so then all the while should be 50% dp & 5 years loan liao... Objective is to hit the KPI of 2 billion a year & increase every year becos of inflation... like what was done to our CPF Some times policy are being refined along the way to achieve the objectives. If you take one + one, you will see that the recent loan restriction actually means those relatively more well-off will be able to buy new cars and directly contribute to the government coffers as consumption tax. As everything in the country need money to run, please just pause to think abit where else could we get revenue besides taxes? For $2bil assuming 5mil people paying tax, each will need to cough out $400. If only 1mil paying tax, each will need to pay $2000 extra on top of their normal tax. Would you want to contribute in this way? And from what I know, the number who pay tax is way lower than 1 mil. Would you be happy to contribute? Get the picture? Brilliant? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcist 1st Gear May 11, 2014 Share May 11, 2014 (edited) Some times policy are being refined along the way to achieve the objectives. If you take one + one, you will see that the recent loan restriction actually means those relatively more well-off will be able to buy new cars and directly contribute to the government coffers as consumption tax. As everything in the country need money to run, please just pause to think abit where else could we get revenue besides taxes? For $2bil assuming 5mil people paying tax, each will need to cough out $400. If only 1mil paying tax, each will need to pay $2000 extra on top of their normal tax. Would you want to contribute in this way? And from what I know, the number who pay tax is way lower than 1 mil. Would you be happy to contribute? Get the picture? Brilliant? You ask if i am willing to pay 2k tax annually to take away COE ? I say YES!!! YES!!! YES!!!which mean i only pay 86k for a Audi A4... now A4 selling at 156k mah minus 70k COE haha If i buy a car now i will be paying 6 to 7k annually wor & upfront... hahaha Anyway i driving a 6.5 years car with a19k COE then which mean i already paying the amount you mention liao... COE idea of generating revenue is brilliant as what you had mention... i fully agreed but the reasoning is bulls**t to me la !!! Edited May 11, 2014 by Mcist Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged May 11, 2014 Share May 11, 2014 (edited) You ask if i am willing to pay 2k tax annually to take away COE ? I say YES!!! YES!!! YES!!! which mean i only pay 86k for a Audi A4... now A4 selling at 156k mah minus 70k COE haha If i buy a car now i will be paying 6 to 7k annually wor & upfront... hahaha Anyway i driving a 6.5 years car with a19k COE then which mean i already paying the amount you mention liao... COE idea of generating revenue is brilliant as what you had mention... i fully agreed but the reasoning is bulls**t to me la !!! You only looking at small picture again. But try to convince the rest of 1mil people to pay would be the problem, those who do not want to buy car or simply cant afford. They would be screaming why should they pay for you to enjoy the benefits blah blah blah. which is quite valid. Even paying for IUP or MUP got a lot of people kpkb. Anyway I will not comment further as this is only a hypothesis which could be true and not true. Not going to expend energy on something not concrete. Cheers. Edited May 11, 2014 by Heartlander Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcist 1st Gear May 11, 2014 Share May 11, 2014 You only looking at small picture again. But try to convince the rest of 1mil people to pay would be the problem, those who do not want to buy car or simply cant afford. They would be screaming why should they pay for you to enjoy the benefits blah blah blah. which is quite valid. Even paying for IUP or MUP got a lot of people kpkb. Anyway I will not comment further as this is only a hypothesis which could be true and not true. Not going to expend energy on something not concrete. Cheers. Peace !!! :) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Hypersonic May 12, 2014 Share May 12, 2014 (edited) govt intentionally keep tax low is to attract investment, FT to relocate to spore (talking about those earning $500k above) and compete with other countries especially in Asia (ie: HK) spore is labeled with low-tax haven is not for no reason ... it's all about business ... spore inc seriously, if the richies want to earn a lot and don't want to pay a lot of taxes ... simply don't buy expensive car ($1.5M for a Ferrari) ... even a $400K+ 7-series is *ouch* Some times policy are being refined along the way to achieve the objectives. If you take one + one, you will see that the recent loan restriction actually means those relatively more well-off will be able to buy new cars and directly contribute to the government coffers as consumption tax. As everything in the country need money to run, please just pause to think abit where else could we get revenue besides taxes? For $2bil assuming 5mil people paying tax, each will need to cough out $400. If only 1mil paying tax, each will need to pay $2000 extra on top of their normal tax. Would you want to contribute in this way? And from what I know, the number who pay tax is way lower than 1 mil. Would you be happy to contribute? Get the picture? Brilliant? Edited May 12, 2014 by Wt_know 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Super7 Turbocharged May 12, 2014 Share May 12, 2014 (edited) Again... all political parties are the same one... ones they become ruling party. You think if the WP become our ruling party they will say they only take 120k annual salary ? Do you think they will take away COE & ERP ? Look at neighbourhood countries... especially Thailand... no end la Back to COE... haha I just need to work hard & earn more or be patient to wait good fate to shine on me :) A lesson learned:- the root cause for our current woes in sub par train n bus systems n services can be traced back to the complacency n incompetence of whoever in charge (including minister, chairman, board of directors, CEO, etc and PM and PTC,nonetheless) years before the breakdowns and overcrowding started in recent years ie failure in maintenance n forward planning, n only looked at bottom line at the expense of customer service / safety. The next / future ruling parties may repeat the same. The watchdog body / commission has been disappointing in the way they go about fulfilling their duties. We really need effective co-drivers with strong bites to see that the above mistakes n oversights are not repeated. These are costly mistakes sgp can ill afford to see a replay. Edited May 12, 2014 by Super7 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hydrocarbon Turbocharged May 12, 2014 Share May 12, 2014 Again... all political parties are the same one... ones they become ruling party. You think if the WP become our ruling party they will say they only take 120k annual salary ? Do you think they will take away COE & ERP ? Not to any specific party, but politics is a quest for power. From time to time there will be some who actually care more how they can benefit others than themselves, but I think this group is the small minority. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
msian Neutral Newbie May 17, 2014 Share May 17, 2014 hi, I hv a Kia Cerato Forte Jan 2010, I bought at price $52000 with Including COE $18502 I would like to know how much I can get back for COE rebate and PARF if I sell my car now. my monthly installment is $544 for 10 yrs. COE expired at 2020 Jan. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Heartlander Turbocharged May 17, 2014 Share May 17, 2014 hi, I hv a Kia Cerato Forte Jan 2010, I bought at price $52000 with Including COE $18502 I would like to know how much I can get back for COE rebate and PARF if I sell my car now. my monthly installment is $544 for 10 yrs. COE expired at 2020 Jan. You can check from onemotoring.com.sg. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
sam138 1st Gear May 19, 2014 Share May 19, 2014 Hi Bros, sorry to hijack this thread any idea how long it takes for a newbie to be able to start own thread? Cheers Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Matrix0405 5th Gear May 20, 2014 Share May 20, 2014 Doomsday lai liao. 2nd day already got 50 ppl put in $1 bids. Many AD COE rebate are at $50K - $55K. Indicating the baseline for this round, the last round of bidding for May. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Chowyunfatt Turbocharged May 20, 2014 Share May 20, 2014 Doomsday lai liao. 2nd day already got 50 ppl put in $1 bids. Many AD COE rebate are at $50K - $55K. Indicating the baseline for this round, the last round of bidding for May. $1? ... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kevin613 1st Gear May 20, 2014 Share May 20, 2014 Doomsday lai liao. 2nd day already got 50 ppl put in $1 bids. Many AD COE rebate are at $50K - $55K. Indicating the baseline for this round, the last round of bidding for May. i thought that's just the lowest bid? as long as the number of bidders stay below the quota, it will always show $1.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Bigtoothpick 3rd Gear May 20, 2014 Share May 20, 2014 Doomsday lai liao. 2nd day already got 50 ppl put in $1 bids. Many AD COE rebate are at $50K - $55K. Indicating the baseline for this round, the last round of bidding for May. Thrill seekers hahaha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
F355 Turbocharged May 20, 2014 Share May 20, 2014 Doomsday lai liao. 2nd day already got 50 ppl put in $1 bids. Many AD COE rebate are at $50K - $55K. Indicating the baseline for this round, the last round of bidding for May. Doesnt mean 50 person put $1 la . It means there are 50 bids submitted , and the lowest bid is $1 . And since the COEs available is more than bid received , it is reflected as $1. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
JackyChoong Neutral Newbie May 20, 2014 Share May 20, 2014 Doomsday lai liao. 2nd day already got 50 ppl put in $1 bids. misleading la. Cat A received only 26 bids now. this is already much lower than the previous round at the similar time pt. plus, i doubt these bidders bid at $1. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ixus75 3rd Gear May 20, 2014 Share May 20, 2014 It means the lowest successful bid is 1 dollar, it does not mean those guy bid at 1 dollar. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic May 20, 2014 Share May 20, 2014 $1? ... never say never got $50 and $101 before ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...