Toothiewabbit Supersonic May 24, 2014 Share May 24, 2014 (edited) His articles are about how we as citizens have our cpf locked and minimum sum increased repeatedly. And I would say his arguments on cpf are not illogical. He isn't calling to abolish cpf, just to return it reasonably with fair interest in reasonable time, the moment govt take notice. .. It usually means you struck a sensitive nerve liao. Here's my take on the case. LHL and the gahmen have to stop suing citizens over every single slander. Their job is to serve the people. If facts are twisted, it is up to them to come out and provide facts to make people believe. Everything also suka suka sue make the gahmen look very 小气 (petty). It just shows how incompetent they are trying to convince the people and only know how to use the "money" game to win everything. . Bump up 2 of the many good posts in this thread. Wish they could have responded differently in winning hearts and minds of the citizens. . Edited May 24, 2014 by Toothiewabbit ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic May 24, 2014 Share May 24, 2014 (edited) how much is the damages? Looks like blogger really tio big big liao :(Likely he will ganna court, fine, and declare bankrupt if cannot pay.All it takes is just one outburst, his future is gone at this tender age.Moral of story:Sensible rebuke and critique on garmen policies are ok, but NO personal attack is allowed.A heavy price for him to pay :( Edited May 24, 2014 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Complexkid 1st Gear May 24, 2014 Share May 24, 2014 how much is the damages? Enough to wet his pants. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ktglfc Hypersonic May 24, 2014 Share May 24, 2014 how much is the damages? Don't know yet, but should be quite substantial ba. As usual, the defamation sum will be donated to charity at the end of day. At least, some charities benefit, though it's unfortunate thru this kind of circumstances. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ktglfc Hypersonic May 24, 2014 Share May 24, 2014 so many examples before hand, foolish to risk saying what he said. But super heavy handed - Yes I agree. After all, Roy is not in same class as Tang Liang Hong, Francis Seow, Jeyaretnam, Chee Soon Juan etc .... He's not even a politician yet. Think zheng hu want to set precedent One thing for sure, don't think blogger will be the last one to come out to say. However, from this incident, ppl will be more careful, at least back up claims with what they said. Simple, if want to say that someone is corrupted, better back up claims to support. Afterall, no one, including you and I, want to be accused of this kind of allegations. We have to be fair, and look at things in broad perspective. We are all critical on garmen policies, but we never go personal attack. That's the difference. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear May 24, 2014 Share May 24, 2014 Setting aside foreign exchange risk, 10 years US treasury is already at around 2-3% in this low interest rate environment. Any fund manager that cannot meet 2.5% p.a. return over a 35 years investment period should be fired. Period. I don't think you can compare US with SG. US is in debt whereas we have a large reserves which, correct me if I'm wrong, generates interests. Besides, the interest given to the people IS suppose to be higher than banking interest rate. It's meant to be a mean to give back to the people. With the large reserve and overall sovereign income, imho, gahmen is more than capable of paying out high interest. I could think of 2 reasons of them holding back 1) They think too far ahead. 2) They have the mentality of that the reserve was earned by several generations ago, why should the current generation squander or "raid" it? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Goldbug 6th Gear May 24, 2014 Share May 24, 2014 I don't think you can compare US with SG. US is in debt whereas we have a large reserves which, correct me if I'm wrong, generates interests. Besides, the interest given to the people IS suppose to be higher than banking interest rate. It's meant to be a mean to give back to the people. With the large reserve and overall sovereign income, imho, gahmen is more than capable of paying out high interest. I could think of 2 reasons of them holding back 1) They think too far ahead. 2) They have the mentality of that the reserve was earned by several generations ago, why should the current generation squander or "raid" it? you mean the current cohort is incapable of generating good returns? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
macrotrust2 5th Gear May 24, 2014 Share May 24, 2014 you mean the current cohort is incapable of generating good returns? Time has changed since the global crisis of 2008- where it is the new normal where the external environment or " black swan"events can change overnight like political risk, regulatory n others Sovereign fund is not exception to the new rule as they cannot stop the many millions printed by the US fed ie printing money as to shift the direction of the market. In the past, soverign fund can "perform"given the enormous knowledge and some certainly in investment but no longer now as many have upped the game with more funds & knowldege given the internet revolution giving everyone the same information and knowledge in millesecond to buy or sell- in short, the field is "level playing"no advantge to soverign fund. Good return is difficult to achieve- with constant fluctation and volatility but to have faith in foresight in longer term return. why 2.5% return is over the years- as no can guranteee return- can you? UNless there is a warren bufffet in singapore- which we do not have. so dont expect too much? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic May 24, 2014 Share May 24, 2014 (edited) I don't think you can compare US with SG. US is in debt whereas we have a large reserves which, correct me if I'm wrong, generates interests. Besides, the interest given to the people IS suppose to be higher than banking interest rate. It's meant to be a mean to give back to the people. With the large reserve and overall sovereign income, imho, gahmen is more than capable of paying out high interest. I could think of 2 reasons of them holding back 1) They think too far ahead. 2) They have the mentality of that the reserve was earned by several generations ago, why should the current generation squander or "raid" it? I can only think of one, greed. And perhaps to encourage a work to death culture, maintain low return, up min sum. I am probably wrong, it is too simple. It seems strange that the country is so rich yet so poor as many could not afford to retire. Where in the world can you find 60-70 years old table wipers? Time has changed since the global crisis of 2008- where it is the new normal where the external environment or " black swan"events can change overnight like political risk, regulatory n others Sovereign fund is not exception to the new rule as they cannot stop the many millions printed by the US fed ie printing money as to shift the direction of the market. In the past, soverign fund can "perform"given the enormous knowledge and some certainly in investment but no longer now as many have upped the game with more funds & knowldege given the internet revolution giving everyone the same information and knowledge in millesecond to buy or sell- in short, the field is "level playing"no advantge to soverign fund. Good return is difficult to achieve- with constant fluctation and volatility but to have faith in foresight in longer term return. why 2.5% return is over the years- as no can guranteee return- can you? UNless there is a warren bufffet in singapore- which we do not have. so dont expect too much? If I have a large sum of monies that can be held for 35 years horizon, helped by a decent diversification strategy, I think it won't be diffficult to return 2.5% pa in guaranteed return. Think insurance companies. Don't need Warren Buffet, Mr. Tan Ah Kow from AXX can liow. Edited May 24, 2014 by Voodooman Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged May 24, 2014 Share May 24, 2014 i Don't know yet, but should be quite substantial ba. As usual, the defamation sum will be donated to charity at the end of day. At least, some charities benefit, though it's unfortunate thru this kind of circumstances. I like to see the ministers donate directly themselves. Grossly overpaid compared even to Obama as it is. Best of all. Our elites still want scholarships for their children too. . If they really want to help charities or the poor, they would have make it govt policy instead of 猫鸡猫蓝 famously talk about The poor want coffee shop or restaurants meal. So no, using the charities is just a way to mask and make these legal suits more acceptable to people. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Astrid 4th Gear May 24, 2014 Share May 24, 2014 (edited) . Wish they could have responded differently in winning hearts and minds of the citizens. . How can?When Roy told lies, made false accusations, tok grandmother kok story and showed a CHC-alike chart and made up more libelous claims and accused the PM of cheating and stealing citizen's money? He deserves it for going too far lah! Edited May 24, 2014 by Astrid Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Albeniz Turbocharged May 24, 2014 Share May 24, 2014 I am interested to see actual stat based on today's cases of such squandered cpf money you cited because we have to be very sure the number of such cases are large enough to justify the blanket raising of withdrawal age across the board which affects EVERYONE, including the majority who don't squander their cpf as feared. Such a major change of cpf rule cannot be justifled if the reason is merely based on the minority who mishandled their cpf. +5! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Astrid 4th Gear May 24, 2014 Share May 24, 2014 One thing for sure, don't think blogger will be the last one to come out to say. However, from this incident, ppl will be more careful, at least back up claims with what they said. Simple, if want to say that someone is corrupted, better back up claims to support. Afterall, no one, including you and I, want to be accused of this kind of allegations. We have to be fair, and look at things in broad perspective. We are all critical on garmen policies, but we never go personal attack. That's the difference. They never learn, do they? If you want to make a personal attack, you will need to PROVE IT, to back up your claim. It just does NOT work the other way around. Roy's confused mind (by whom ah?) seems to think, wrongly of course, that by making such accusations, he can draw LHL out into a public debate, to refute his allegations! It just does not work that way under the English Law of Torts. Roy, Roy, whyyyy you so bodoh one? So goblock?? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yoongf 4th Gear May 24, 2014 Share May 24, 2014 Actually are we really earning just 2.5%? The bulk of my funds left with CPF is earning 4%. (SA and MA). A huge chunk of OA is invested out through CPFIS. What's left in the OA is earning 3.5%. This is more or less similar to NTUC income participating policies (After factoring in their policy fees?) Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rm2s 5th Gear May 24, 2014 Share May 24, 2014 One thing for sure, don't think blogger will be the last one to come out to say. However, from this incident, ppl will be more careful, at least back up claims with what they said. Simple, if want to say that someone is corrupted, better back up claims to support. Afterall, no one, including you and I, want to be accused of this kind of allegations. We have to be fair, and look at things in broad perspective. We are all critical on garmen policies, but we never go personal attack. That's the difference. I can certainly agree with your point of view. There are just too many, even on this board, people confusing themselves between disagreeing with government policies and launching personal attack. You can do the former and no one will sue you but try doing the latter without proof? Then better be ready to defend yourself. Worst still using freedom of speech as a cover. My goodness, want freedom then be prepared to also take up the responsibilities that come with it. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Astrid 4th Gear May 24, 2014 Share May 24, 2014 There are just too many, even on this board, people confusing themselves between disagreeing with government policies and launching personal attack. You can do the former and no one will sue you but try doing the latter without proof? Then better be ready to defend yourself. Worst still using freedom of speech as a cover. My goodness, want freedom then be prepared to also take up the responsibilities that come with it. Fully agree! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Rm2s 5th Gear May 24, 2014 Share May 24, 2014 They never learn, do they? If you want to make a personal attack, you will need to PROVE IT, to back up your claim. It just does NOT work the other way around. Roy's confused mind (by whom ah?) seems to think, wrongly of course, that by making such accusations, he can draw LHL out into a public debate, to refute his allegations! It just does not work that way under the English Law of Torts. Roy, Roy, whyyyy you so bodoh one? So goblock?? Agree! I would imagine all learned lawyers who passed the Singapore bar would know this. Don't they? I hope people are adequately advised. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Blackyv Turbocharged May 24, 2014 Share May 24, 2014 Well, if someone can sell a million dollar stuff to a $2 company with lease back deal, past auditing with whatever committee saying there were no wrong doing, from that point onward, I no longer trust anyone as long I didn't see the book personally.... So, can i see the book?... I guess I can't since the president also cannot... ↡ Advertisement 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...