Goldbug 6th Gear June 9, 2014 Share June 9, 2014 The minimum sum at 55 aren't going to last you long, and if you get retrenched, maybe can start looking at other forms of employment like road sweeping? ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Somewhat1975 6th Gear June 9, 2014 Share June 9, 2014 So meaning, after the withdrawal at age 55 (if have excess above MS), I would have to wait for another 10 long years till 65, before I can take out money from RA. Wow, thats a long long 10 years to survive. If I ganna retrenched after age 55, then gone liao lor, cannot survive liao. Neither here not there: cannot contribute further into account, and cannot take out the monthly payout from RA also. Ok, then I have to pray everyday that I cannot get retrench (or thinking of retirement) after age 55 Can CPF is only one of the social safety net measures. If you are retrenched and need help, public assistance scheme is always there to help. Furthermore, free medical at polyclinic and govt hospital for all the recipient of public assistance. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ktglfc Hypersonic June 9, 2014 Share June 9, 2014 Eh ello, you can still draw out whatever excess you have over the MS, at 55 lah! Unless, that is, you only have gnam gnam $155K at 55? It's not as bleak as you have painted lah ... at least for your case. Exactly! He's only confusing the issue lah Heehee. Right! Edit: create damages to life [/b]AND COUNTRY[/b]! Now, its $155k. Still have 15 long years to reach age 55, then what will the MS be? Quite bleak if you know how to calculate Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator June 9, 2014 Share June 9, 2014 How to plan for retirement when you still have family to support? How to save more money when expenses are marginally below earnings? I am at 40 now, and MS is at $155k now. in 15 years, when i reach 55, what will the MS be? $200k? $250k? I don't think I would be able to get anything from the excess of MS at age 55. Savings from current salary will all go to children education. And we are all talking abt local schs, university. Not cheap leh. not sure you are too prudent or pessimistic, you are better off than a lot of people. Count your blessing and dun keep thinking negative like the other and you may even get to help in other ways. Education will not cost you an arm or leg locally. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic June 9, 2014 Share June 9, 2014 These are the ungrateful people, who keep wanting more! Very money faced and materialistic! If only they are born as Indonesians, Philippina, Vietnamese, or even Bolehsian ... They just don't know what good life they have had. School holidays lah ... plenty keyboard warriors around I wouldn't say is ungrateful...........everyone has different needs and wants at different stage of their life...........is at which stage and at what time........with what is happening around. tell me who is not money face and materialistic????.............even monks want a bigger temple and churches go into investments........... And I dont think is a good comparison against these countries............there are ppl who voted in their gov as well............meaning there are ppl who are happy with what they have there ............even in UK and USA there are ppl who may not be living as well off........... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ktglfc Hypersonic June 9, 2014 Share June 9, 2014 CPF is only one of the social safety net measures. If you are retrenched and need help, public assistance scheme is always there to help. Public.JPG Furthermore, free medical at polyclinic and govt hospital for all the recipient of public assistance. The eligibility is quite vaque. Due to age? What age what they talking abt? Due to illness? If i am able body, so can't? Permanently unable to work? That's if I am diabled. In anyway, meaning can't apply for PAS. Still need to search for job, if retrench not sure you are too prudent or pessimistic, you are better off than a lot of people. Count your blessing and dun keep thinking negative like the other and you may even get to help in other ways. Education will not cost you an arm or leg locally. We have 3 kids, so we have supported garmen's cry for boosting singaporeans. Hopefully, they can get some scholarships to lessen tuition fees, in 15-20 years time. If not, really siao... Thought I read somewhere that to raise a kid, needs abt half a million?! Ok lah, have to stop pessimistic thinking, like what you said :) 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Count-Bracula Twincharged June 9, 2014 Share June 9, 2014 You serve NS is serve country. To pay you low salary to serve country is your dignity They also serve the country. To pay them highest salary is their dignity. Dignity got different grades like abalone/bird's nest/sharks fin? 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Astrid 4th Gear June 9, 2014 Share June 9, 2014 (edited) I wouldn't say is ungrateful...........everyone has different needs and wants at different stage of their life...........is at which stage and at what time........with what is happening around. tell me who is not money face and materialistic????.............even monks want a bigger temple and churches go into investments........... And I dont think is a good comparison against these countries............there are ppl who voted in their gov as well............meaning there are ppl who are happy with what they have there ............even in UK and USA there are ppl who may not be living as well off........... Insatiable greed ... keep on wanting more.Want private property, want car, want first class everything, want more money now, want more money post retirement ... Not everybody can have everything that they want ... like spoilt brats. There will always be the rich and elite, the mediocre middle class and the down-trodden. Govt policies ought to be made more inclusive of the latter group, and we're seeing these adjustments already being made. Life will never be level from a societal-demographic aspect (mind you, not even in a communistic state) ... although education can potentially be a means toward the end. Edited June 9, 2014 by Astrid Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged June 9, 2014 Share June 9, 2014 Not confusing. Just switch side nia. Show U my power. Easier to bash gahmen Leh. More supporter. What u need to do is to planned for retirement starting from 55. If u Kenna retrench at 45. U still need 10 years to get cpf money. So no different lah. who say no difference ? 45 yo still young but 55 yo kena retrenched got security... security guard ... while you see the FTs and younger kids take your job, remove you 1, replace by 3 but do same amount of job. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic June 9, 2014 Share June 9, 2014 Insatiable greed ... keep on wanting more. Want private property, want car, want first class everything, want more money now, want more money post retirement ... Not everybody can have everything that they want ... like spoilt brats. There will always be the rich and elite, the mediocre middle class and the down-trodden. Govt policies ought to be made more inclusive of the latter group, and we're seeing these adjustments already being made. Life will never be level from a societal-demographic aspect (mind you, not even in a communistic state) ... although education can potentially be a means toward the end. what's wrong with wanting more???................there is even a book title "the magic of thinking big"............you have to think big to get big.............how to get more if you dont think you want more??? everyone has the right to defence their thought and believe............there are ppl who oppose because they do find the system lagging...........just as there are ppl who will support because they have benefited.......so engage with an open mind........... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigerwoods Turbocharged June 9, 2014 Share June 9, 2014 Dignity got different grades like abalone/bird's nest/sharks fin? got another grade : Kiam Chye Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Somewhat1975 6th Gear June 9, 2014 Share June 9, 2014 (edited) The eligibility is quite vaque. Due to age? What age what they talking abt? Due to illness? If i am able body, so can't? Permanently unable to work? That's if I am diabled. In anyway, meaning can't apply for PAS. Still need to search for job, if retrench Sorry, PAS is not for retrenchment. There is employment assistance from comcare (http://app.msf.gov.sg/ComCare/FindTheAssistanceYouNeed/EmploymentAssistance.aspx.) I get PAS with this employment assistance mixed up Edited June 9, 2014 by Somewhat1975 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Astrid 4th Gear June 9, 2014 Share June 9, 2014 what's wrong with wanting more???................there is even a book title "the magic of thinking big"............you have to think big to get big.............how to get more if you dont think you want more??? everyone has the right to defence their thought and believe............there are ppl who oppose because they do find the system lagging...........just as there are ppl who will support because they have benefited.......so engage with an open mind........... Everyone has a place in society. You want more? You work for it, or apply your mental faculties / business acumen to the fullest! NOT blame the garmen for anything and everything! Have a more balanced, reasonable and constructive engagement please. Like Catherine Lim. Not another Roy, or CSJ please. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Datsun366 Turbocharged June 9, 2014 Share June 9, 2014 Insatiable greed ... keep on wanting more. Want private property, want car, want first class everything, want more money now, want more money post retirement ... Not everybody can have everything that they want ... like spoilt brats. There will always be the rich and elite, the mediocre middle class and the down-trodden. Govt policies ought to be made more inclusive of the latter group, and we're seeing these adjustments already being made. Life will never be level from a societal-demographic aspect (mind you, not even in a communistic state) ... although education can potentially be a means toward the end. Hear hear, education can and will be the means, as evidenced by all of us here, just different levels and qualities. We cannot expect our nation to be like how it is today, much like how Angkor Wat (the Khmer Civilization) from days past. Look at Cambodia today...or Macchu Picchu... Just make sure you have enough rice, what is enough? Tianmo you are correct in wanting more if you subscribe to Oliver Twist, may I have summore. Different levels of Enough. May I have some more, asked Datsun366. Go get it yourself, said the woman, bashing his head hard with the ladle. Cheers. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tt_hh 2nd Gear June 9, 2014 Share June 9, 2014 who say no difference ? 45 yo still young but 55 yo kena retrenched got security... security guard ... while you see the FTs and younger kids take your job, remove you 1, replace by 3 but do same amount of job. govt more interested in the 3 head levy... $$$ Insatiable greed ... keep on wanting more. Want private property, want car, want first class everything, want more money now, want more money post retirement ... Not everybody can have everything that they want ... like spoilt brats. There will always be the rich and elite, the mediocre middle class and the down-trodden. Govt policies ought to be made more inclusive of the latter group, and we're seeing these adjustments already being made. Life will never be level from a societal-demographic aspect (mind you, not even in a communistic state) ... although education can potentially be a means toward the end. to have a simple life and enough doesn't mean we can be exploited by the greedy capitalist greeds. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged June 9, 2014 Share June 9, 2014 (edited) How to plan for retirement when you still have family to support? How to save more money when expenses are marginally below earnings? I am at 40 now, and MS is at $155k now. in 15 years, when i reach 55, what will the MS be? $200k? $250k? I don't think I would be able to get anything from the excess of MS at age 55. Savings from current salary will all go to children education. And we are all talking abt local schs, university. Not cheap leh. I also thought so. Don't mind cleaner job, if situation worsens. $1k income, is still income :) That is why people need to start planning early. Why can't plan for retirement early? I am going to be in my mid 20s next year. Have already set aside 1k for protection and retirement planning and another 1k for both of my kids' education. That amount will increase as I progress in my career or when I have finished paying off my flat. Before that I have already set aside savings that will last me for 6months to 1 year in the event I lose my job. Many people feel they can't plan for retirement because they start too late and the sum they need seems to be too large to achieve. Spoke to many people in their 30s and many still don't want to start planning for retirement, reason being they are still young. Wait till 40+ then start planning then they'll realise how much harder it is to reach their targeted amount/time to retire. Edited June 9, 2014 by Nzy 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Coolad 5th Gear June 9, 2014 Share June 9, 2014 In the last 15 years, from the bottom of my heart, my life has been better than before. I've paid off my flat, I have a car to drive, my eldest kid now in local U, my SA amount is increasing, I've travelled on holiday about every other year, my block been painted couple of times, I have lift that stop on every floor, they built a MSCP so my car is parked under shed, the neighborhood park near my block has been completely redone, the PCN is growing ... If I want to just pick on the negatives, there are some too .. but I prefer to enjoy a positive Monday. What you quoted are the effects of good foundations made way back in the 80s/90s... our children and some of us will witness the impact of the post 2000 bad policy making....1st waves hitting now... and many more waves coming.... even if we do something now.. it will be 5-10 years before we see the corrections... MIW of late had shown they are more disconnect with the ground than ever and also total lack of empathy... a sign of how twisted the regime has gone.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Joseph22 Turbocharged June 9, 2014 Share June 9, 2014 who say no difference ? 45 yo still young but 55 yo kena retrenched got security... security guard ... while you see the FTs and younger kids take your job, remove you 1, replace by 3 but do same amount of job. U retrench at 45 also as hard to find job lia. Experience is not wanted now a day. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...