Pervert on MRT!

Yamapi

They actually choose to retain or discard teachers after serving the first 3 years bond?

Thought they have problem keeping people.

Yes.  I think all new teachers have something like points.  If you couldn't hit you can appeal.  My relative doesn't want to appeal and he chose to leave instead.

I think now job market is very bad.  My colleague's fresh grad son went to apply for teacher post and was told that they have not much opening.

Yes.  I think all new teachers have something like points.  If you couldn't hit you can appeal.  My relative doesn't want to appeal and he chose to leave instead.

I think now job market is very bad.  My colleague's fresh grad son went to apply for teacher post and was told that they have not much opening.

Thought they always not enough teachers? Now not much opening liao?

saturated and closed all for now

note declining birth rates and schools closing, etc

I don't know leh, that's what my colleague told me. 

Maybe you can check with @kusje, his wife is a teacher.

My son told me that his friend in student care was in Xinmin Pri School.  He told him that the principal announced in school assembly that Mr James Chua has officially left the school yesterday.

For every merger a whole group for one school maybe 50-80 teachers are made redundant and posted to another. Last yr i think there were 7 schools that was merged and not including the jcs that were merged this yr. More will follow soon.

My son told me that his friend in student care was in Xinmin Pri School.  He told him that the principal announced in school assembly that Mr James Chua has officially left the school yesterday.

I already posted earlier though the information is from various sources (including friends who tried to apply) and not just my wife.

Basically there is a surplus of teachers because MOE overhired (school closures, low birth rate, etc). Those who were interviewed were told that there are only slots for Primary school teachers (and not many at that).

Think the planners in MOE dropped the ball on this. Low birth rate doesn't explain the overhiring because it takes 7 years for students to reach schooling age. It was just in 2009-2011 where they claimed there was a shortage of teachers and were looking for mid-career hires.

they have stopped recruiting since few years ago, with the merging of schools and drop in poly intake numbers, they probably hope the older ones can volunteer for early retirement  [laugh]  [laugh]

For every merger a whole group for one school maybe 50-80 teachers are made redundant and posted to another. Last yr i think there were 7 schools that was merged and not including the jcs that were merged this yr. More will follow soon.

I could not understand their logic here. They opened so many JCs in recent years then suddenly started closing them. The only reason I can think of is changing demographics in the towns (e.g. Sengkang and Punggol would have more students) but they could have just as easily relocated the schools i/o of starting new ones and closing old ones.

Low birth rate obviously cannot be an excuse because it takes 16 years for someone to reach JC standard so there's plenty of reaction time.

they have stopped recruiting since few years ago, with the merging of schools and drop in poly intake numbers, they probably hope the older ones can volunteer for early retirement  [laugh]  [laugh]

Want people to retire then offer them a package lor.

Pretty sure there are a lot of teachers out there willing to take a reasonable package.

Want people to retire then offer them a package lor.

Pretty sure there are a lot of teachers out there willing to take a reasonable package.

limpeh ledy retired....

I could not understand their logic here. They opened so many JCs in recent years then suddenly started closing them. The only reason I can think of is changing demographics in the towns (e.g. Sengkang and Punggol would have more students) but they could have just as easily relocated the schools i/o of starting new ones and closing old ones.

Low birth rate obviously cannot be an excuse because it takes 16 years for someone to reach JC standard so there's plenty of reaction time.

Agree.......the planning was quite awkward. Now students are more inclined to go through the poly's route but they pushed to try to get many to go jc. School's merger has been around for so many yrs......USTS, Sang Nila Utama, Parameswara.....all were closed down or merged. My school was merged too back in the 80s. Can say the jc planning was a bit off. Edited by Eviilusion

Indeed sad that even teachers have stopped recruiting. 

So this guy got sacked by the school liao?! Any action taken from the police side ah?

Agree.......the planning was quite awkward. Now students are more inclined to go through the poly's route but they pushed to try to get many to go jc. School's merger has been around for so many yrs......USTS, Sang Nila Utama, Parameswara.....all were closed down or merged. My school was merged too back in the 80s. Can say the jc planning was a bit off.

i know poly also quite tough now, the cohort is getting smaller and not enough students. 

name sounds familiar

@jamesc?

[dizzy]  :D