Potential MPV buyers fall in please

Aukang

I won't be renewing my Presage either for the same reasons.

Might end up with Sharan, Ody or England. Not considering Estima (ridiculously has 2 airbags).

We have the exact same choices. Elgrand a bit too tall at 1.81m and difficult for old folks as need to step up due to height to get seated .

Ody was Ok but omv is really too low at 30k. I felt like a carrot head paying that kind of price

Edited by Enye

Have not seen much discussion on Chevrolet Orlando. Searched Mycarforum as well Chevroletclubsg but really not much feedback.

I test drove it a while back (1.4 turbo), quite power... But then all new cars have more power than my current Trajet. Major disadvantage is the middle seats - if I remember correctly they can't slide forward or back. Means you can't adjust space for last row (which are of course also fixed).

Exterior aesthetics I think the Orlando CMI but me being a practical person, quite seriously considering it. With only 1.4l engine, if it can last 10 years then it may even be viable for COE extension (assuming all rules remain the same).

Comments from any potential buyers or owners? Reliability? Real world FC? Etc..

I test drove sometime back and today went back to do 3rd row test with my son...he is 1.75 m tall. Wanted to see which particular MPV he finds ok. . ..Orlando. was one of them.

Turned out it was quite ok. But it lacked 3rd r ow aircon.

It is one of those budget mpv which provides quite a good balance between budget and luxury.

I test drove sometime back and today went back to do 3rd row test with my son...he is 1.75 m tall. Wanted to see which particular MPV he finds ok. . ..Orlando. was one of them.

Turned out it was quite ok. But it lacked 3rd r ow aircon.

It is one of those budget mpv which provides quite a good balance between budget and luxury.

I'm surprised. My impression was that last row is quite tight....

Bigtoothpick,....yeah I was surprised too.

I shortlisted the Orlando but challenge with it could be reliability issues...recently an accident mentioned by MCF bros here.... the whole axle of the accident vehicle, an Orlando fell off.

Spare parts also a concern but it is the only budget MPV... besides the prc one, with cruise control, which I deem a must-have because of my trips up north.

When COE goes south, it will be this, or more likely the Wish....although Wish has no cruise control...but much more reliable... sigh.

Bigtoothpick,....yeah I was surprised too.

I shortlisted the Orlando but challenge with it could be reliability issues...recently an accident mentioned by MCF bros here.... the whole axle of the accident vehicle, an Orlando fell off.

Spare parts also a concern but it is the only budget MPV... besides the prc one, with cruise control, which I deem a must-have because of my trips up north.

When COE goes south, it will be this, or more likely the Wish....although Wish has no cruise control...but much more reliable... sigh.

hmm… i'm… more than surprised that your son (1.75 m) found Orlando bearable. it was like sitting on the floor, or at best, squatting down with some support on the back and backside :-) Confirmed kana cramp if sit more than 15 min...

I went to see Zafira followed by Orlando. For both, when coming out from third row, i sprained my back (ok, maybe cos first one kana liao, then haven't recovered in time when tried 2nd one).

i never had good impression of chevrolet. An ex-colleague bought an Aveo, then when i asked for feedback, he said spent a lot on it… And 3+ yr back when looking for a 2nd (cheap car), i was considering seriously Aveo. Even went to chevrolet forum to recce, pulled the brake only when one seasoned forumer there replied my PM to say his honest opinion is to avoid the car...

But an old classmate recently said his wife used to drive a Optra Estate, and it was a workhorse that never failed her…

Feedback? Quite a few on resale market....

so far so good, only minor parts faulty in 3 incident

1, Aircon thermal sensor down at around 72k mileage, still driveable without aircon. Repair at CnC at $400+

2. Turbo airduct break at 80K mileage, still driveable, replace at United motor around $160

3. Turbo electro valve down last month at 99K mileage, still driveable but no power. Replaced at CnC at $200+

Other than that, is just normal routine maintenance and wear n wear item like battery and brakes pad...

overall still enjoy the rides very much and good FC around 12km/ltr

I googled for them, called a few but just make general enquiry, their reply standard one, when due for scrap then call them to get exact quote

But general they mentioned that 2 to 3 hundred bucks no problem, it all depends on what car you driving, if in demand, then "chow ti" value will be much more, my trajet if got 300 bucks, i happy like f... leow

also

i happens to found a namecard stick on my car

this guy mr lim deals in scrap car, you might wanna give him a call 90891118

Guys,I just called the guy who offer to take my my trajet for scrap that I posted

LPPL, give me this take out that

Initially give me me lower then what used car offer me !

then I told him i still got COE rebate, road tax rebate of 4 months leh

then increase abit, and I ask where is my "chow ti" $$$ of $300 that he offers me

cock and bull story...... say no value etc.....

haiz waste my time.

Guys,I just called the guy who offer to take my my trajet for scrap that I posted

LPPL, give me this take out that

Initially give me me lower then what used car offer me !

then I told him i still got COE rebate, road tax rebate of 4 months leh

then increase abit, and I ask where is my "chow ti" $$$ of $300 that he offers me

cock and bull story...... say no value etc.....

haiz waste my time.

might as well drive till the 2nd last week and scrap at the LTA approved yards. and you still can remove parts and lay long... and use it as a "bumper car" for those who are aggressive on the roads. [sly]

my trajet one moment ok one moment not

think it want to go for early retirement

since I manage to found a used car that I liked, have to get scrap it

anybody want a trajet for 4month usage till jan 2015 :)

BIG, STRONG AND FRIENDLY !

nobody wants la. haha. its a bit of a hassle to arrange insurance for such a short period. unless you sell at the current scrap value now.

But an old classmate recently said his wife used to drive a Optra Estate, and it was a workhorse that never failed her…

Yes, one senior forumer here also drives the Optra Estate and he claims it is very reliable and no major problems.

But why same brand but different model can differs so much on its reliabitlity..? Funny sia...

I'm surprised. My impression was that last row is quite tight....

Hi may i know the safety features of this car? How many airbags? Can't seem to find the info from their website. Thanks.

nobody wants la. haha. its a bit of a hassle to arrange insurance for such a short period. unless you sell at the current scrap value now.

haha

already at scrap value, scrap somemore can see bare metal leow !

Yes, one senior forumer here also drives the Optra Estate and he claims it is very reliable and no major problems.

But why same brand but different model can differs so much on its reliabitlity..? Funny sia...

wah ha ha… sounds like the same as back in school leh...

same teachers teach one class, got some scored straight As, then got some CMI...

Partly depends on user. How hard you drive the car and how careful you take care of it, how much maintenance you put in, including preventive maintenance.

One example - I had slam shut my car tailgate very hard for a few years... Then the lock actuator arm broke. Couldn't lock electrically. You can say it's unreliable but can also say it's abuse...

Hi may i know the safety features of this car? How many airbags? Can't seem to find the info from their website. Thanks.

Nothing exotic. I have the brochure at home, but offhand I think just two airbags, ABS... maybe electronic brake assist...

so far so good, only minor parts faulty in 3 incident

1, Aircon thermal sensor down at around 72k mileage, still driveable without aircon. Repair at CnC at $400+

2. Turbo airduct break at 80K mileage, still driveable, replace at United motor around $160

3. Turbo electro valve down last month at 99K mileage, still driveable but no power. Replaced at CnC at $200+

Other than that, is just normal routine maintenance and wear n wear item like battery and brakes pad...

overall still enjoy the rides very much and good FC around 12km/ltr

Not bad....

What car did you get?

Hi Guys,

i will some feedback on brand new honda freed from PI. Any one driving now or waiting to take car?