Nzy Twincharged May 29, 2014 Share May 29, 2014 Still have alot of our locals working inside, especially the older and aged postman / postwoman. Talked to a friendly auntie postwoman, and she takes pride in her delivery every evening to our blocks :) Ensure mails are arrived on time and she double-checked the addresses to make sure she put into correct letter boxes :) Hopefully this investment won't affect our locals who are earning a decent salary. My experience is opposite. My uncle's block letters are delivered by this china man who always delivers at the same time in the afternoon everyday and hardly lose any letters and deliver to wrong address. But my block the letters delivered by this local aunty and I lost quite a number of letters already. Recently just lost 2 letters containing my replacement ATM card for a replacement ATM card that was also lost in the mail. Then I have been receiving some of my neighbors letters quite frequently. Plus she seems to come on alternate days cuz I'll have no mail on one day and suddenly my mailbox is overflowing the next day. ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Azhiwen 3rd Gear May 29, 2014 Share May 29, 2014 My experience is opposite. My uncle's block letters are delivered by this china man who always delivers at the same time in the afternoon everyday and hardly lose any letters and deliver to wrong address. But my block the letters delivered by this local aunty and I lost quite a number of letters already. Recently just lost 2 letters containing my replacement ATM card for a replacement ATM card that was also lost in the mail. Then I have been receiving some of my neighbors letters quite frequently. Plus she seems to come on alternate days cuz I'll have no mail on one day and suddenly my mailbox is overflowing the next day. At least this didn't happen: Thousands of undelivered mail dumped in leafy Ukay Heights ravine 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic September 6, 2014 Share September 6, 2014 This guy damn terok. Didn't pay with FULL CASH! Over three decades, Son used borrowed money to transform the software wholesaler he founded in 1981 into a phone company spanning two continents. In Japan, he built a challenger to larger carriers and was first to bring Apple Inc.’s iPhone to the country. He bought Sprint to take on the top players in the U.S., Verizon Communications Inc. (VZ) and AT&T Inc. http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2014-05-07/son-makes-58-billion-on-alibaba-with-buffett-type-return.html 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged September 6, 2014 Share September 6, 2014 (edited) With the number of tiongs living here now, it only makes sense for Alibaba to invest in Singpost right? Edited September 6, 2014 by Lethalstrike 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ktglfc Hypersonic September 6, 2014 Share September 6, 2014 With the number of tiongs living here now, it only makes sense for Alibaba to invest in Singpost right? No lah, nothing to do with ah tiongs lah.. SingPost has potential, and being the garmen backed company with sole or majority of the network, this is a plus for investment. Same will goes to ST Engineering..though it won't be divested due to sensitivity in its business Good to invest in these companies :)) 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator November 11, 2014 Author Share November 11, 2014 why lonely people need to spend so much?? Who just made US$1 billion worth of sales in 18 minutes? Alibaba PUBLISHED ON NOV 11, 2014 People ride a double bicycle past a logo of The Alibaba Group at the company's headquarters on the outskirts of Hangzhou, China, on Nov 10, 2014. -- PHOTO: REUTERS NEW YORK (Reuters) - China's online shopping king Alibaba said about US$2 billion worth of goods were sold on the e-commerce giant's websites within the first hour and 12 seconds of Singles Day on Tuesday, its annual 24-hour shopping grabfest. Alibaba did US$3.1 billion in business in half a day during Singles Day last year, equivalent to what it sold in the full day in 2012. Half of the US$2 billion gross merchandise volume this year was sold within the first 18 minutes after the "11.11 Shopping Festival" opened, the company said. Singles' Day - so named because the date Nov. 11 has four singles (11.11) - was started as an in-joke between university students, but has morphed into China's equivalent of Cyber Monday. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ktglfc Hypersonic November 11, 2014 Share November 11, 2014 why lonely people need to spend so much?? Spent on gadgets so as to coop in home to play and watch whole day Spent on ladies' items so as to go out on that day to woo singles' ladies :)) Only winner: Alibaba 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator November 12, 2014 Author Share November 12, 2014 how much was Amazon sales on Black Friday or Cyber Monday? Alibaba reports record $9 bln Singles' Day sales Reuters By Adam Jourdan HANGZHOU China (Reuters) - E-commerce giant Alibaba Group Holding Ltd reported more than $9 billion in sales on China's Singles' Day on Tuesday, illustrating the buying power of the Chinese consumer and the importance of the event in the retail calendar. Real-time figures on a giant screen at Alibaba's sprawling Hangzhou campus surged past 2013's record to 57.1 billion yuan ($9.3 billion) just after midnight after Chinese and overseas shoppers snapped up heavily discounted goods online. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator November 12, 2014 Author Share November 12, 2014 According to Bloomberg, online spending on Black Friday $1.2B nia nia .. this was 2013. Online spending increased 15 percent to a record $1.2 billion on Black Friday, according to research by ComScore Inc. (SCOR)Still, because of the in-store slump, total purchases fell 2.9 percent to $57.4 billion during the four days beginning with the Nov. 28 Thanksgiving holiday, according to a survey commissioned by the National Retail Federation. http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2013-12-02/cyber-monday-sales-increase-19-percent-aided-by-mobile-ibm-says.html but then $57 billion for 4 days was A LOT!! think Cyber Monday is getting more sales. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator December 18, 2014 Author Share December 18, 2014 Delivery delays for vPost users after US mix-up By Leong Wai Kit, Channel NewsAsia 7 Dec 2014 vPost, the shipping service by SingPost, has been affected by delays due to agents in the United States sending the items to the wrong warehouse. SINGAPORE: Some online shoppers have been experiencing delays in their deliveries from the US. While it is a common challenge during the festive gift-giving season, vPost - the shipping service by SingPost - said the delay is made worse as agents in the United States messed up deliveries. One of those affected is new home owner Ms Chng Kheng Leng. She chose to use vPost's services for the delivery of an online purchase she made about three weeks ago. "Part of the deal is to have the contractors fit the toilet accessories for me, so with this delay, there is a bit of inconvenience because it is either I have to fit it myself later, or get the contractors to come in again to fit it. Given that this is peak season, I think it is perfectly fair to have such delays, but the only thing is I would have wished for a proper notification of such delays," said Ms Chng. vPost said emails were sent to customers alerting them of the delays earlier this month. For vPost's delivery system, users have to first sign up for an online account with vPost before they begin shopping. They are then given the address of an overseas warehouse where their purchases will be sent to. Third-party delivery agents then send the physical purchases to the warehouses - in either the US, UK, China or Japan. Once the orders are in these warehouses, vPost collects and delivers the goods to its customers. However, US online shops mixed up the orders recently - sending the purchases to the wrong warehouse for processing. Ms Sherine Teo, vice president of vPost, said: "All of us in the e-commerce shipping industry have been impacted by the failure of the US online shops not physically handing over the items to us. Online shops need to deliver the items to us, so that we can deliver them to our customers." As a goodwill gesture, vPost said it plans to compensate customers affected by the delays by waiving the base shipping charge of S$13.40. - CNA/ac Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator July 8, 2015 Author Share July 8, 2015 Alibaba to invest $206M in SingPost and its subsidiary to boost ecommerce logistics Tech in Asia By Michael Tegos | Tech in Asia Chinese ecommerce giant Alibaba and Singapore’s national postal and logistics company SingPost have taken their relationship up another notch. Alibaba will invest an additional S$187.1 million (US$138 million) in SingPost, increasing its previous 10.23 percent stake in the company to 14.51 percent. Not stopping there, Alibaba will also acquire a 34 percent stake in Quantium Solutions International (QSI) by investing up to S$92 million (US$67.9 million). QSI, a wholly owned subsidiary of SingPost, handles end-to-end ecommerce logistics and fulfillment services. The company operates in more than 10 countries across Asia Pacific. The third part of the deal will see Alibaba and SingPost enter into a “joint strategic business development framework.” This will allow the two companies to work together and combine knowledge, experience, and strengths. As both companies handle different parts of the ecommerce chain, this collaboration should allow them to better manage and scale their respective businesses. “The pace of transformation at SingPost has been accelerating steadily,” said Lim Ho Kee, chairman of SingPost, in a statement. “As a postal service provider, we are on a burning platform, facing a global decline in mail revenue with trends like e-substitution and lifestyle changes. It is a win-win situation for both of us because we share similar goals and have a natural fit between our operations across Asia.” People might not be using the mail to send each other letters anymore, but ecommerce is a booming business that still needs that “last mile” care and attention. SingPost has been particularly active in rolling with the times and making the most out of its position as a vital link in the ecommerce chain. Last year, it unveiled plans for a 553,000-square-foot, S$182 million (US$134 million) ecommerce logistics hub in Singapore, aiming to ramp up its ecommerce support network in Southeast Asia. This year saw initiatives such as an ecommerce deal with Indonesian telco Trikomsel and a US$3.2 million investment in Australian ecommerce firm Hubbed, through QSI. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 if can get cheap shipping from taobao, i aint compraining Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 Need to go brush up on my Chinese liao 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 Was thinking of selling it off since the dividend yield is now only 3+ percent. But maybe got some more legs in this counter yet. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 (edited) that's what i'm hoping for bro. lol besides. they slowly also adjusting the dividend upwards and its a fairly strong defensive bluechip. holding long term is not an issue that said, if you got other blue chip with more than 3% dividend and good growth please share leh. lol Was thinking of selling it off since the dividend yield is now only 3+ percent. But maybe got some more legs in this counter yet. Edited July 8, 2015 by Little_prince Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 (edited) that's what i'm hoping for bro. lol besides. they slowly also adjusting the dividend upwards and its a fairly strong defensive bluechip. holding long term is not an issue that said, if you got other blue chip with more than 3% dividend and good growth please share leh. lol None. I am looking to simplify my portfolio into just mostly STI ETF + a few of my pre-existing counters So i was looking at the dividend yield of the counters i had to see if i can simplify it. No big amounts but just want to simplify it lor. But nothing i want to sell leh other than my trash S-chips that i hold to remind me of how stupid I am. Maybe sell off SIA EC at a loss... It also yields at 3.7% but looks like it's price will be weak. Edited July 8, 2015 by Lala81 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 s chip was my biggest mistake too. lol None. I am looking to simplify my portfolio into just mostly STI ETF + a few of my pre-existing counters So i was looking at the dividend yield of the counters i had to see if i can simplify it. No big amounts but just want to simplify it lor. But nothing i want to sell leh other than my trash S-chips that i hold to remind me of how stupid I am. Maybe sell off SIA EC at a loss... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic July 8, 2015 Share July 8, 2015 (edited) s chip was my biggest mistake too. lol Hahaha my record holder. CHINA ESSENCE CSH 3000 1.170 SGD Last done 0.0020 Worth $6.00 Percentage loss -99.829 Edited July 8, 2015 by Lala81 ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...