Najib Announce VEP for Spore cars!

Ticklish8

VEP officially starts on 1 Oct 2016, as related to me by M'sia customs.

Now they are doing a trial run. every car has to tap their Touch n Go Card on the reader at the clearing passport counter, then the gantry will open, but there is no deduction from the card.

Someone "Dislike" my above post and sent me a message that I spread untrue rumours.

I am sharing based on what I experienced and what the customs officer told me.

What benefits do I get by "spreading untrue rumours"?

Edited by Vinceng

as usual, their contractor huat ah...dunno how much they have paid for the system?

haven start the new system already started to upgrade it liao... no wonder there was a notice recently that say they are refitting the readers for JB CIQ. 

I post the report hah since people lazy to click the link....

1) VEP postpone again. (Don't asked me until when.....)

2) VEP hasn't started. For those who frequent JB like me.... Yes u need to tap twice... Once for T n G and the other for the RC so that the gantry open. Sometimes u just need to tap once, sometimes twice.... U know Msia lah... Semua Boleh...

SEGAMAT: The Bangunan Sultan Iskandar Customs, Immigration Quarantine (CIQ) Complex infrastructure at the Causeway has forced the Vehicle Entry Permit (VEP) implementation to be further pushed back due to technical issues.

Johor Public Works, Rural and Regional Development executive committee chairman Datuk Hasni Mohammad said the system that was agreed upon earlier, had to be upgraded to accommodate the CIQ for the convenience of the users.

This was due to the CIQ infrastructure, which made it difficult for the system to be put in place there, he added.

He said the CIQ could not accommodate the existing system, which had already been put in place at Kompleks Sultan Abu Bakar near the Second Link in Tanjung Kupang, Gelang Patah.

“Although the system at Kompleks Sultan Abu Bakar is ready, we cannot have one entry point that charges (the VEP) and the other not charging.

“We want everything to be ready and start together,” he said.

He was asked to comment on the VEP after attending a ground-breaking ceremony for a RM4mil project to upgrade the Felda Kemelah intersection here on Sunday.

He added that all efforts and focus are being given to the CIQ now to hasten the process and ensure that the upgraded system fits the infrastructure.

The VEP, which was activated on June 1, has been running on a trial period that was supposed to end on July 15.

Hasni said the charge had been decided at RM20 for each foreign-registered vehicle that enters Malaysia through Johor, all year long regardless of public holidays or weekends.

This was unlike Singapore’s VEP, which gives foreign vehicles exemption from 5pm to 2am on weekdays, weekends as well as the island republic’s public holidays.

He added that Transport Minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai, who visited Johor late last month, said to give the ministry another two more months to do the necessary upgrade and synchronise the systems before implementation.

Hasni also said that some 230,000 owners of Singapore vehicles have registered for the system to date.

Someone "Dislike" my above post and sent me a message that I spread untrue rumours.

I am sharing based on what I experienced and what the customs officer told me.

What benefits do I get by "spreading untrue rumours"?

Why you ask a low level personnel that kind of information?  They will not know.

Why bother to ask?  If it starts, it starts.  The more you ask, the more it will happen.

Tiam tiam

Anyone who ask when VEP will start will get

5 D I S L I K E

from me

• Dislike 1

Agreed guys. No need to ask. Everyday got ppl travel to JB. So if it happens, it happens and all will know. If not, don't ask, go thru the custom as usual. The less ppl ask, the longer they delay. Best is forgotten. If keep asking, then they will keep the pressure to make it happen asap.

Went to msia in the morning, from sg to msia no jam, but from msia to sg the jam starts from msia after you chop passport(headache about 1.5hrs jam)

Anyways vep still not up yet, paid normal toll

Why you ask a low level personnel that kind of information? They will not know.

Why bother to ask? If it starts, it starts. The more you ask, the more it will happen.

Tiam tiam

5 D I S L I K E

from me

I did not ask the customs officer about VEP. The barrier was still down afTer I was handed back my stamped passport. He then asked me to scan my Touch n Go card, afterwhich the barrier opened

Why you ask a low level personnel that kind of information?  They will not know.

Why bother to ask?  If it starts, it starts.  The more you ask, the more it will happen.

Tiam tiam

5 D I S L I K E

from me

Hmmm, so when will VEP start huh? 

[grin]

• Dislike 3

Currently still just tap one time on the touch-and-go reader ONCE to pay the toll for the gantry to open. 

There is no instruction to tap any other readers or tap twice.

I just returned from JB recently. 

Hmmm, so when will VEP start huh? 

[grin]

By right, it started last week

When in today to watch movie and shopping with wife.

When processing our papers, the officer at the same time push me a piece of A5 size paper saying RC Field Trial instruction ba.

Thought it finally started, BUT when we asked, she said FIELD TRIAL.

When asked, need to pay ??  Officer said don't know.

Need to TAP RC T&G THEN PLUS TOLL.

But we tap PLUS TOLL, left RM22.50 and the gate will NOT opened.

We tap RC and the gate THEN open which display RM22.50.

When in today to watch movie and shopping with wife.

When processing our papers, the officer at the same time push me a piece of A5 size paper saying RC Field Trial instruction ba.

Thought it finally started, BUT when we asked, she said FIELD TRIAL.

When asked, need to pay ??  Officer said don't know.

Need to TAP RC T&G THEN PLUS TOLL.

But we tap PLUS TOLL, left RM22.50 and the gate will NOT opened.

We tap RC and the gate THEN open which display RM22.50.

@Davidtch,

Looks like @Apple-Tree had the same experience as me, on this VEP trial   [;)]

Not going to start anytime soon if based on the Malaysia report. I think they have postponed it multiple times since last year.

Edited by Dafansu

Did you receive a piece of paper showing the instructions ??

In my car, will try to post here.

Never read it properly lor ...

@Davidtch,

Looks like @Apple-Tree had the same experience as me, on this VEP trial   [;)]

Did you receive a piece of paper showing the instructions ??

In my car, will try to post here.

Never read it properly lor ...

No. I was just asked to tap my Touch n Go card.

Looks lIke there is no proper SOP.

Here goes ...

RARE 2016 RC Instruction Quick Reference in MINT CONDITION. Only 1 copy is KNOWN to EXIST in Singapore. In ENGLISH.

Reserve Price : S$56500.00

No. I was just asked to tap my Touch n Go card.

Looks lIke there is no proper SOP.

post-170907-0-57824800-1471444213_thumb.jpg

Edited by Apple-Tree

not a single word about vep

simi vep?

RC rm20 is what ahjib kor wants ... since the beginning ... hehe

no need to register la ...

yalor ... why cannot differentiate RC and VEP

RC = TnG card reader to deduct RM20 ... as simple as toll charge (this one LTA sure match [sly])

VEP = RFID tag for foreign car registration and deter simi car cloning wor ... LMAO

RC or VEP test?

Two diff things hor