Jellandross Supersonic August 19, 2014 Share August 19, 2014 (edited) Source: http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/this-urban-jungle/woman-reserves-lot-for-her-family-at-bedok-north-carpark-by-simply-standing-there cool siol.. where did the makcik bought her colour-shifting clothes ah? Edited August 19, 2014 by Jellandross ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nzy Twincharged August 19, 2014 Share August 19, 2014 Interesting. I can't see anything directly wrong with this. One might look at which queue has people carrying the least things before joining, and that's a legitimate objection - but that also means that people should object to the very common scenario of someone queuing first, then someone else (husband or wife) joining them after doing a bit more shopping and adding to the original load. It's also equally 'misleading' to the people queueing behind. I see a TON of local-looking and -sounding people doing exactly this. So, on balance, I'd say that lady's method is is a clever gaming of the system - in fact, I might have done it myself in the past when I was in a hurry. You just can't predict which line will move faster from a single glance. If you're not solo, why not use that to your advantage? Of course, all these issues would be solved if supermarkets get their act together and just have a common queue which feeds all the cashier stations. A dedicated cashier station and queue for the quick-moving "single basket only" purchases. Cold Storage used to manage the "single basket" queue very well before, but their standards have fallen. Now they only do it during certain times, and there are times when the lines are full yet the quick queue counter is not manned. And even when it's manned, they've taken to staffing it with the most blur, slowest girl. BTW, what's the protocol for when there's already a long queue at an outlet (supermarket or petrol station) and another cashier starts service? Split the queue into two or don't split? In the 'split queue' case, it seems the fairest solution is for the front half of the waiting queue (i.e. everyone behind the one already getting served) to move over immediately to the new position, leaving the back half in the original queue. However, the most equitable solution overall seems to be for the single queue to remain in place but people distribute themselves according to whichever counter frees up first, much like the system at the POSB bank. Yet, I often see the *most* unfair and non-equitable scenarios taking place, like the last guy in the line chionging to the head of the other line and leaving before everyone else who's been waiting 15 minutes longer than him. TL;DR: I hate society, it's not logical enough. I also do that when at the supermarket. My wife will take one queue, my son one queue and my mum will take the 4th queue. See who reaches the counter first. My son treats it as a game. lol. He always rushes for the one that will "win". cool siol.. where did the makcik bought her colour-shifting clothes ah? I think second pic is the driver. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ender Hypersonic August 19, 2014 Share August 19, 2014 Use this to reserve a lot, confirm no one wants your lot, 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hybridcar 3rd Gear August 19, 2014 Share August 19, 2014 (edited) actually why can't just one person sit at the table while the rest go and buy food?? by waiting for a while more will die of hunger?? That is what I do always.. 1 person wait the rest go and buy food first.. I ever seen people left the wallet on the table at Seah Imm food court to 'chope'... Xiao!!! But this makcik chope carpark.. think still ok lar... cannot be the makcik stand there the whole day under the hot sun right?... If i have to time play with them i will stop my car in front of the lot... they reserve with person i reserve it with my car... see who got more patience... Actually.. might as well like one brother here say just park the vacant lot chope by makcik lor... Edited August 19, 2014 by Hybridcar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fitvip Supersonic August 19, 2014 Share August 19, 2014 you think go food court chop table I say not OK leh! sound like you are in the hawker centre or food court. Don't let this new practice prevail! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
oleandero 5th Gear August 19, 2014 Share August 19, 2014 Use this to reserve a lot, confirm no one wants your lot, u must make sure the car has IU inside wor.. if not cannot enter carpark gantry!! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
KilluaX 1st Gear August 19, 2014 Share August 19, 2014 different case, private house usually public dun go there to park, and you feel guilty if you illegal park. I saw many shops also do the same thing. The parking lot in front of the shop is a URA lot for public. Still the shop owner chop the lot with rubbish bin or cone. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Carnoob Supercharged August 19, 2014 Share August 19, 2014 What do you think with this picture? If the contributor had waited 15 minutes then he is still waiting at the wrong place. Anyway to me, it looks like the driver is already letting someone alight first, and makcik is just standing there for the driver to reverse back (if it is the same car). They may be letting someone frail to alight and if they parked there, it would be easier for them as well when they are ready to leave. So why are we so... Aren't we looking at things from our perspective? Spare a thought for others, not just for ourselves... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic August 19, 2014 Share August 19, 2014 IMG-20140817-WA0012_1.jpg What do you think with this picture? If the contributor had waited 15 minutes then he is still waiting at the wrong place. Anyway to me, it looks like the driver is already letting someone alight first, and makcik is just standing there for the driver to reverse back (if it is the same car). They may be letting someone frail to alight and if they parked there, it would be easier for them as well when they are ready to leave. So why are we so... Aren't we looking at things from our perspective? Spare a thought for others, not just for ourselves... from the pic it seems there are a few empty lots (might be wrong though). Lets hope the stomper is not being a nitty-pricky! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xers007 Supercharged August 19, 2014 Share August 19, 2014 Actually.. might as well like one brother here say just park the vacant lot chope by makcik lor... If she did not stand in front or in the lot, i will just park in it of course... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hybridcar 3rd Gear August 19, 2014 Share August 19, 2014 If she did not stand in front or in the lot, i will just park in it of course... yeah.. sorry bro... you are right... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Xers007 Supercharged August 19, 2014 Share August 19, 2014 (edited) yeah.. sorry bro... you are right... thats what happened to me before at IMM... saw empty lot and a lady standing nearby.. i am half way reverse in and this young lady tap on my window... she told me she is reserving the lot for a car... i ask her where is the car, she cannot answer me and was like looking around... i ignored her and reverse to park... then i saw a car drive by from a corner of the carpark and the driver gesture to her to forget it... u must make sure the car has IU inside wor.. if not cannot enter carpark gantry!! drive this car and no gantry, wall or whatsoever can stop it loh... just drive through only... Edited August 19, 2014 by Xers007 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hybridcar 3rd Gear August 19, 2014 Share August 19, 2014 (edited) thats what happened to me before at IMM... saw empty lot and a lady standing nearby.. i am half way reverse in and this young lady tap on my window... she told me she is reserving the lot for a car... i ask her where is the car, she cannot answer me and was like looking around... i ignored her and reverse to park... then i saw a car drive by from a corner of the carpark and the driver gesture to her to forget it... drive this car and no gantry, wall or whatsoever can stop it loh... just drive through only... Bro.. I like what you said to her... hehe... But luckily she not purposely fall down and tell you your car bump into her and fall down with injury... Edited August 19, 2014 by Hybridcar Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Johnnylim 5th Gear August 19, 2014 Share August 19, 2014 cool siol.. where did the makcik bought her colour-shifting clothes ah? Geylang Serai Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic August 19, 2014 Share August 19, 2014 I think its wrong but if MIL is in the car then I think its ok. If anyone blows black smoke at her or still backs into the lot then she will bite them with her false teeth. Sometimes bite so hard false teeth stuck on person's arm. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Johnnylim 5th Gear August 19, 2014 Share August 19, 2014 My office in Shenton way. I dun give a shit to all those who put tissue. I just sit n ask the cleaner to clear the table. most of the time when the tissue owner back.LLST. Dun even dare to talk to me. Maybe I got the thirty-five look. They know dun mess when me when im eating. Skali one day u meet someone fiercer than u one how arh? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic August 19, 2014 Share August 19, 2014 I think its wrong but if MIL is in the car then I think its ok. If anyone blows black smoke at her or still backs into the lot then she will bite them with her false teeth. Sometimes bite so hard false teeth stuck on person's arm. knn. suarez wear tudong ah? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic August 19, 2014 Share August 19, 2014 knn. suarez wear tudong ah? I would be very happy if Suarez was my MIL. I would worship her as a god like Robbie Fowler and motivate her to score every week and then always praise her. ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...