PSLE Results coming out soon!

Sazali

"better" schools handle tons of appeal cases every year

no basis needed

mid tier students appeal to top tier schools and if successful will leave behind empty slot to fill

so top tier schools fulfil their quota and then everything cascades downwards

Sorry to "harp" on the same point

My question is basically two fold - 

1. How do spaces appear in top tier schools?  

2. Why aren't any such spaces filled by the MOE allocating the "next person on the list" instead of the school deciding which appeal is successful? 

And the related question is more of an individual school policy question - why the fark do schools entertain appeals based on nothing more than "I missed out"?  Like in court - you must have some basis for appeal beyond not liking the decision right? 

some student appeal out, some leave the country, some decided not to accept the DSA choice. Hence vacancy open.

Appeal base on the closest to the cut off point and those who opt the school as first choice but didn't get it in the posting.

So then MOE should be handling the appeal right?  Not the school?  

Lets say cut off is 250 

I get 249 and don't appeal 

You get 248 and do appeal

Who gets the spot? 

Shouldn't MOE be calling me and offering the spot - or does it go to you because you appealed? 

Lets say cut off is 250 

Who gets the spot? 

Shouldn't MOE be calling me and offering the spot - or does it go to you because you appealed? 

i believe is the school who handle the appeal.

as i have edited my previous post, only for those who bother to appeal. In your example, the 248 will get but they won't inform the 249.

Sorry just to clarify a little - 

If there are "open spots" this should mean that the cut off point is set too high right?  So if schools cannot admit students below the (original) cut-off point, these spots remain empty?  

Sorry to "harp" on the same point

My question is basically two fold - 

1. How do spaces appear in top tier schools?  

2. Why aren't any such spaces filled by the MOE allocating the "next person on the list" instead of the school deciding which appeal is successful? 

And the related question is more of an individual school policy question - why the fark do schools entertain appeals based on nothing more than "I missed out"?  Like in court - you must have some basis for appeal beyond not liking the decision right? 

Lets say cut off is 250 

Who gets the spot? 

Not 100% of the vacancy are for PSLE students. The elite school do have spare for other programmes like the SPERS-SEC. I guess the school has the discretion to use the slot from other programmes for the appeal..

Sorry just to clarify a little - 

If there are "open spots" this should mean that the cut off point is set too high right?  So if schools cannot admit students below the (original) cut-off point, these spots remain empty?  

why ask so much on the technicalities?

just know that if your kid cannot get into laffles girls, you can appeal if you want without any basis

if school willing to consider, school will interview your kid and/or maybe go through some kind of entrance test etc

then school will finalize the list....everything up to school after moe posting result is out

why ask so much on the technicalities?

just know that if your kid cannot get into laffles girls, you can appeal if you want without any basis

if school willing to consider, school will interview your kid and/or maybe go through some kind of entrance test etc

then school will finalize the list....everything up to school after moe posting result is out

[scholar]  [thumbsup]

My kid likely to attend Burnside Highschool - different admission criteria, so it doesn't affect me. 

Asking question cause I don't understand the new ruling - even for SPERS thingy the schools don't "reserve" places, it is still allocated by MOE. 

Letting the school allocate spaces based on appeals sounds a little open to abuse to me, so the new rule makes sense in that regard. 

On the other hand - I am curious about what happens to "unutilised" spaces - by definition, if there is a space avaialable, for whatever reason, if the school cannot admit a student that is below the cutoff - that space will go empty.  UNLESS the MOE has some sort of appeals process where they can allocate students? 

Anyway, it seems to be a good thing to cut out appeals here and there 

[scholar]  [thumbsup]

My kid likely to attend Burnside Highschool - different admission criteria, so it doesn't affect me. 

Asking question cause I don't understand the new ruling - even for SPERS thingy the schools don't "reserve" places, it is still allocated by MOE. 

Letting the school allocate spaces based on appeals sounds a little open to abuse to me, so the new rule makes sense in that regard. 

On the other hand - I am curious about what happens to "unutilised" spaces - by definition, if there is a space avaialable, for whatever reason, if the school cannot admit a student that is below the cutoff - that space will go empty.  UNLESS the MOE has some sort of appeals process where they can allocate students? 

Anyway, it seems to be a good thing to cut out appeals here and there 

The independent schools for example, administrative service school (Raffles), businessman school (ACSI) can set the level of admissions they want.  So say MOE. 

http://www.moe.gov.sg/education/secondary/files/secondary-school-education-booklet.pdf

My daughter is going to temasek seocondary school next year, anyone else in this forum?

She wanted to go Anglican but didn't managed to get in... Was thinking of appealing.... But we went to the registration last week and she decided to accept her fate.....

every school is a good school, maybe, but what matter most during their teenage years are her peers.....

1st day of school I also take leave......going to secretly follow my gal.

Si beh kiasu hor.....lollllll.

Just wana make sure she knows exactly how to take transport home from Anderson. Hehehe.

post-21949-0-48130500-1451872956_thumb.jpg

Just wana make sure she knows exactly how to take transport home from Anderson. Hehehe.

you really a 24 siao father   [thumbsup]

[laugh]  [laugh]

Sarpork! [thumbsup]

Oi don't take picture when singing the national anthem. [laugh]

Today got penty students late.

U see the right most side of the peekture, those are students that came in after 7.25am.

Student card kena confisated.....-_-.

you really a 24 siao father [thumbsup]

[laugh][laugh]

There is live band playing the national anthem and school song......with a student as conductor.

Its a serious matter lor.

But im outside the school gate....so can take video. Haha

Sarpork! [thumbsup]

Oi don't take picture when singing the national anthem. [laugh]

How to secretly follow?

And aiya. Sec 1 already..... no need la.

play hide and seek lor   [laugh]  [laugh]

If it is within walking distance then might be possible. 

But if she has to take public transport then not so easy already (MRT might be okay but how to hide on a bus?!)

My girl starting sec 1 today... Just "dump" her at the school and told her to call me if there is anything that needs my attention this morning.

So far, no call. By now should be off school already. So, I guess everything is alright for her

My girl starting sec 1 today... Just "dump" her at the school and told her to call me if there is anything that needs my attention this morning.

So far, no call. By now should be off school already. So, I guess everything is alright for her

sec 1 is old enough to be independent, if they have a few friends going to the same school, they will feel like home liao  [laugh]