Reckless Scooters

Mercury1

Not sure if this can be considered a motorcyclist since it's an electric bicycle.

Happened on 24 Oct 2014. He was traveling very fast on a pedestrian pavement. Knocked onto my car at high speed. Damage is $800+ and he is adamant on not compensating me? Lan lan....

Pls lah! No point to complain in MCF. Do something about it.

Complain to TP/LTA for inadequate enforcement on the road & demand for party at fault identification. This is to facilitate claims of $800+ for damage.

Pls lah! No point to complain in MCF. Do something about it.

Complain to TP/LTA for inadequate enforcement on the road & demand for party at fault identification. This is to facilitate claims of $800+ for damage.

skally backfire, TP turn around and say driver at fault because driver supposed to be looking out then ask for licence number and "award" points.. i mean, after all, it's not the first time a driver got faulted for a pedestrian/(motor)cyclist's error

Look at the video again.

The driver had stopped his vehicle. Unfortunely, the errant e-bike rider did not stop & look out for oncoming vehicle. Shouldn't the cyclist is at fault rather than driver?

Not sure if this can be considered a motorcyclist since it's an electric bicycle.

Happened on 24 Oct 2014. He was traveling very fast on a pedestrian pavement. Knocked onto my car at high speed. Damage is $800+ and he is adamant on not compensating me? Lan lan....

Why not just report police

Fortunately, you have your video which keeps reminding us how important it is to have one installed in a vehicle. It is long overdue for LTA to have these electrically driven bicycles regulated and sufficiently covered for assurance in some way albeit without the need for COE. Perhaps we can use such video to push LTA and the relevant ministry to look into ensuring that such road users bear certain amount of responsibility towards other road users?

It has been a long time since such motorized bicycles started flooding our road, pavements, playgrounds and void decks. the stupid LTA must be waiting for some real disaster to happen before they are forced into action.

Look at the video again.

The driver had stopped his vehicle. Unfortunely, the errant e-bike rider did not stop & look out for oncoming vehicle. Shouldn't the cyclist is at fault rather than driver?

well, i do agree that the cyclist is at fault but then the law in SG is skewed against drivers mainly because drivers know highway code while pedestrians don't.

a similar accident happened a few months back - http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/eat-drink-man-woman-16/%5Bglgt%5D-woman-hurt-after-dashing-across-road-front-taxi-4715817.html

unfortunately the original STOMP article no longer exists but the TS for that thread did copy paste the excerpt.

the taxi driver did stop quickly enough when the pedestrian hopped onto his front fender (A pillar presumably blocking his view of the pedestrian) but yet he still got slapped with a reckless driving charge which i feel is unwarranted. but the law's the law.. so im just afraid Sgarkles might get slapped with a charge when the authorities see this video

Edited by Eighttales

The problem is lack of clear regulation, enforcement, and infrastructure. You got cyclist and motorist all sharing the same infrastructure, idiots and both sides and authorities waiting by the sidelines. Already we hear of decent cyclist abiding by the rules getting killed by motorist, vice versa for cyclist and pedestrians (abeit less serious injury) and nothing is done. I doubt anything would be done for some time to come.

I took screen grab of micro scooter boy, scooter boy need to load video and I'm lazy [laugh]

It has been a long time since such motorized bicycles started flooding our road, pavements, playgrounds and void decks. the stupid LTA must be waiting for some real disaster to happen before they are forced into action.

post-78681-0-15804000-1416059076_thumb.jpg

The problem is lack of clear regulation, enforcement, and infrastructure. You got cyclist and motorist all sharing the same infrastructure, idiots and both sides and authorities waiting by the sidelines. Already we hear of decent cyclist abiding by the rules getting killed by motorist, vice versa for cyclist and pedestrians (abeit less serious injury) and nothing is done. I doubt anything would be done for some time to come.

I took screen grab of micro scooter boy, scooter boy need to load video and I'm lazy [laugh]

got optical illusion sia your photo.. at first glance it looked like the taxi had those police beacons on it [laugh]

well, i do agree that the cyclist is at fault but then the law in SG is skewed against drivers mainly because drivers know highway code while pedestrians don't.

a similar accident happened a few months back - http://forums.hardwarezone.com.sg/eat-drink-man-woman-16/%5Bglgt%5D-woman-hurt-after-dashing-across-road-front-taxi-4715817.html

unfortunately the original STOMP article no longer exists but the TS for that thread did copy paste the excerpt.

the taxi driver did stop quickly enough when the pedestrian hopped onto his front fender (A pillar presumably blocking his view of the pedestrian) but yet he still got slapped with a reckless driving charge which i feel is unwarranted. but the law's the law.. so im just afraid Sgarkles might get slapped with a charge when the authorities see this video

If i am TS, I will seek strong recommendation from TP how to avoid this incident. In addition, instead of charging TS, why are TP not doing their job in road enforcement?

Wah, you really addicted to MCF, should have other better things to do in China than this right? [thumbsup]

Free, you detour to Ho Chi Minh, scooters everywhere.

No la haaha happened to be having wifi and free time

Fortunately I have a camera installed. Else car vs electric bike, ppl naturally assume car is speeding or at fault.

This happened at paya lebar near the traffic police headquarters. There is a childcare centre at the Trinity church beside condo. Hope no child gets injured before the govt starts to regulate electric bikes on footways.

There are really some stupid electric bike riders....who have no regard to traffic rule or safety.

I have experienced it 1st hand, was crossing a pedestrian crossing at a T-junction. The rider beat red light almost hit me while I was about to cross, luckily I stopped in time or else both will tumble on the road. It was a busy pedestrian crossing, luckily no else came close.

Lack of busty chick eye candy to occupy your free time hehe.

No la haaha happened to be having wifi and free time

Knn, those really can just kick them as they go post. Imagine if they hit a old or pregnant person ccb [mad]

There are really some stupid electric bike riders....who have no regard to traffic rule or safety.

I have experienced it 1st hand, was crossing a pedestrian crossing at a T-junction. The rider beat red light almost hit me while I was about to cross, luckily I stopped in time or else both will tumble on the road. It was a busy pedestrian crossing, luckily no else came close.

No la later tio STD haha

Lack of busty chick eye candy to occupy your free time hehe.

Knn, those really can just kick them as they go post. Imagine if they hit a old or pregnant person ccb [mad]

I thought of a retort but that will bring this conversation to a whole nother level [sly]

lets keep this PG [laugh]

No la later tio STD haha

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-2zAi1Y9g9w

Eighttales, on 15 Nov 2014 - 9:40 PM, said:snapback.png

a similar accident happened a few months back - http://forums.hardwa...xi-4715817.html

If i am TS, I will seek strong recommendation from TP how to avoid this incident. In addition, instead of charging TS, why are TP not doing their job in road enforcement?

this case,, tp is correct..

the taxi driver must be dreaming...

he have full view of the road condition infront, he see someone jaywalking,, he did not slow down nor show consideration for the lady.

if dun share video with tp, situation might be better.

having the right of way does not mean u can bang onto things purposely ....

He deserved to be farked!

http://youtu.be/TCp_dK8k5_A