Reckless Scooters

Mercury1

http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/this-urban-jungle/boy-injured-by-another-child-on-scooter-but-father-denies-everything-and-refuses

Boy injured by another child on scooter -- but father denies everything and refuses to compensate

Posted on 18 January 2015 | 351 views | 1 comments

Stomper Trempest was furious when his son was injured by another on a scooter yesterday (Jan 17) -- only to have the other child's father deny everything.

He recounted:

"My son was knocked down by another child speeding on a three-wheeled scooter along the park connector at Telok Kurau.

"My son sustained head injuries.

"I caught up with the father to get his name and contact number.

"I also informed the father that I will be in contact with him after bringing my son for a medical examination.

"After the medical examination I called the father on his mobile phone and was shocked that the father denied the incident and refuses to compensate the medical bills incurred.

"The father also told me that he is not at fault and he knows the law. He then hung up on me after telling me that he will not to talk to me and would talk to the police or lawyer instead.

"I immediately sought advice at Bedok South NPC and was advised to proceed to the Magistrate Court as the incident is considered a Civil case.

"It may be an accident but it is cost I incurred due to the father's negligence and he had not brought up his child to observe own safety and that of others.

"In this case I believe that a father is accountable for his child's actions if the child is not of legal age.

"I wonder how will the Court rule in this case. What legal precedence is available?"

Is there recourse on such an incident? I doubt so.

My friend had an Indian expat spilled hot boiling kopi on his son at MacD as the bugger was clumsy. The kid had a few ops for skin graft etc. LLST.

http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/this-urban-jungle/boy-injured-by-another-child-on-scooter-but-father-denies-everything-and-refuses

Boy injured by another child on scooter -- but father denies everything and refuses to compensate

Stomper Trempest was furious when his son was injured by another on a scooter yesterday (Jan 17) -- only to have the other child's father deny everything.

He recounted:

"My son was knocked down by another child speeding on a three-wheeled scooter along the park connector at Telok Kurau.

"I also informed the father that I will be in contact with him after bringing my son for a medical examination.

"After the medical examination I called the father on his mobile phone and was shocked that the father denied the incident and refuses to compensate the medical bills incurred.

"The father also told me that he is not at fault and he knows the law. He then hung up on me after telling me that he will not to talk to me and would talk to the police or lawyer instead.

"I immediately sought advice at Bedok South NPC and was advised to proceed to the Magistrate Court as the incident is considered a Civil case.

"It may be an accident but it is cost I incurred due to the father's negligence and he had not brought up his child to observe own safety and that of others.

"In this case I believe that a father is accountable for his child's actions if the child is not of legal age.

"I wonder how will the Court rule in this case. What legal precedence is available?"

Not sure if this can be considered a motorcyclist since it's an electric bicycle.

Happened on 24 Oct 2014. He was traveling very fast on a pedestrian pavement. Knocked onto my car at high speed. Damage is $800+ and he is adamant on not compensating me? Lan lan....

Wah... this type really an idiot - ride like that.....can faint already.

The lady very nice - pick up his things for him while he argue with you

He recounted:

It was at the park connector?

How do we know it was the scooter rider fault?

How do we know that the "victim" didn't wander in front of the scooter?

No way to know right?

this sort of situation - very very hard to sort out.

Eighttales, on 15 Nov 2014 - 9:40 PM, said:snapback.png

If i am TS, I will seek strong recommendation from TP how to avoid this incident. In addition, instead of charging TS, why are TP not doing their job in road enforcement?

this case,, tp is correct..

the taxi driver must be dreaming...

he have full view of the road condition infront, he see someone jaywalking,, he did not slow down nor show consideration for the lady.

if dun share video with tp, situation might be better.

having the right of way does not mean u can bang onto things purposely ....

This one totally blame pedestrian - I see almost no way that taxi uncle could avoid her - she even jumped over the divider!!

Woman suffers cracked facial bone and torn ligament after motorised bicycle slams into her at Paya Lebar Way-

http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/this-urban-jungle/elderly-woman-suffers-cracked-facial-bone-and-torn-ligament-after-motorised

Mdm Heng is not so heng afterall......sorry can't help it 😕. I say hang that motor scooterist 😐

i freakin hate these electric motorcyclist.

More and more of these road hazards everywhere. They do not have proper road safety knowledge and nowadays i noticed they have leveled up their hazardous nature by wearing huge-ass headphones (probably blasting some music) while on the road, oblivious the the surrounding.

They seebeh in their own "zone". Absolutely worst than women drivers!

Edited by Ahseng

Think need to educate them on the traffic rules, many don't realize the dangers on the roads especially those who ride at a high speed. If drivers are not alert enough, can get into accident easily

Edited by Pinobii

Which 1 is more hazardous,

Reckless ebike/escooters

or

Reckless bicycle?

Both same ley, just that one has the power to go higher speeds.

Its like asking which one taste worse?

normal Sh!t or Lao Sai?

:D:D

As long as reckless, it's bad

Recently seems like there's to be an increase in foreign cyclists on the roads and maybe they do not know the traffic rules, they ride and cut from lane 3 to 2 to 1 which is very dangerous

Hope some form of traffic rules guide can be made available for them to study before going onto the roads

Edited by Pinobii

As long as reckless, it's bad

Recently seems like there's to be an increase in foreign cyclists on the roads and maybe they do not know the traffic rules, they ride and cut from lane 3 to 2 to 1 which is very dangerous

Hope some form of traffic rules guide can be made available for them to study before going onto the roads

Are you sure they are interested to know our traffic rules?

It is Ah Kong's fault for not having sufficient TP on the road.

I am scare of the cyclists more than the riders, usually the riders got some skills, as long as we drive straight and no sudden changing of lanes, it's ok.

The cyclists sometimes go left and ride, maybe tire already, no energy to ride straight

Safer for them to cycle on pavements

Edited by Pinobii

imho,....just ban all these electric scooters or whatever names they may use,.......there problems solved.

heard from my Dutch principal that they have banned these road and path nuisance in The Netherlands. True or note,...not me say one

I'm all for such ban unless LTA starts to regulate such motorised vehicles via licensing and ensuring enough basic insurance to cover 3rd party damage / injuries.

imho,....just ban all these electric scooters or whatever names they may use,.......there problems solved.

heard from my Dutch principal that they have banned these road and path nuisance in The Netherlands. True or note,...not me say one

I think it is high time someone starts a petition or whoever is able to send a short email/feedback to LTA to consider regulating these motorised vehicles more seriously via licensing and ensuring proper basic insurance coverage for 3rd party damage/ injuries since more and more such motorised owners are becoming callous and reckless while more often than not getting away with such 'murderous' behaviours.

Rest assured, I will via their feedback website .

Woman suffers cracked facial bone and torn ligament after motorised bicycle slams into her at Paya Lebar Way-
http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/this-urban-jungle/elderly-woman-suffers-cracked-facial-bone-and-torn-ligament-after-motorised

Edited by Neutralsg

nowadays when I leave my house I have to drive out of a t-junction. Other than looking right for oncoming vehicles, I have to also look left for cyclists riding against the flow of traffic. Everyday I see various cyclists doing that. Damn sian,

I think it is high time someone starts a petition or whoever is able to send a short email/feedback to LTA to consider regulating these motorised vehicles more seriously via licensing and ensuring proper basic insurance coverage for 3rd party damage/ injuries since more and more such motorised owners are becoming callous and reckless while more often than not getting away with such 'murderous' behaviours.

Rest assured, I will via their feedback website .

Having these regulations will be useless if there is no enforcement. These scooters are illegal to use on the pavement or roads but then there are still so many of them in use everywhere and LTA is doing nothing. For motorised bicycles, most of them I see are the illegal ones. The legal ones can't go that fast, they only go up to the speed of a normal cyclist only and they are also illegal on the pavements.