Bto vs private condo

Teatreeoil

New rule?

As long as you meet the min occupation period, can keep HDB when upgrading to pte.

Many of my collicks do that; die die keep HDB as "insurance" purpose. Just rent out HDB to get passive income.

One of them got a rude shock in his life when he saw his pte property tax. [laugh] KNN, live in big pte house, still need to see MP to appeal. [laugh]

If you have loads of $$$ to burn, pte can lah. If tan jiak kia, very tough...

dont know lei........maybe its my own thinking and the ruling about pr having another property overseas has confused me!

HDB = Subsidized Housing / Utilities ( Water / Gas / Electricity / etc ... )

Condo = Eat Yourself ( 吃自己 ) / Good Luck ( 你自己保重 )

It is your entitlement as a Singaporean to own a HDB ...

Some people want to buy HDB also not eligible ...

Dunch understand ts. Means you want to give up your bto before its finish building and go buy a condo instead? Can qualify for bto just take la. many buy condo is because cannot qualify lo.

You are right ... many wants to buy but cannot qualify for BTO. HDB is a privilege for Singaporean .... as a Singaporean why waste the opportunity.

My regret is that I never buys a HDB when I am allowed to without the many conditions now.

If someone can tell you when is going to happen in the future ... he/she is going to be a bloody rich.

Dunch understand ts. Means you want to give up your bto before its finish building and go buy a condo instead? Can qualify for bto just take la. many buy condo is because cannot qualify lo.

Bto may be too small for us when we expand the family next time. Now it is ok cos it is just the two of us plus a baby.

You are right ... many wants to buy but cannot qualify for BTO. HDB is a privilege for Singaporean .... as a Singaporean why waste the opportunity.

My regret is that I never buys a HDB when I am allowed to without the many conditions now.

If someone can tell you when is going to happen in the future ... he/she is going to be a bloody rich.

With the absd, we find it difficult to upgrade next time with the Hdb flat in hand. Plus the cpf min sum worse still. Cash must be very solid. Now if it is a first property purchase cash outlay for condo seems more manageable. Plus next time no need sell Hdb and rent to wait for the condo to complete.

Well said Fatt ge!!

I also feel that as Singaporean we should go for our entitlement of a subsidised HDB flat at least for a first house. Private can come later as it will always be there and if you time it right, you can have your cake and eat it!!

This advice especially true for those younger couples buying their first house with limited savings/CPF. Don't burden yourself too much as children may come along soon and also the wedding banquet already set you back abit, Good Luck to all!!

Edited by Spring

i thought 3 room bto has an income cap?

how come a supposedly "low income" couple who qualify for 3 room hdb can afford a private condo?

tio toto, ASK or got some loophole to close?

[confused]

For mature estate the max income is 10k for 3 room

How much is your BTO and how old is you?

400k. 38

most Chinese folks would not want to consider that project. I think that's the problem.

Prob is 99yr leasehold + 2k psf when launched and so many many many many many many units in one devt.

I also went to see showflat last time, 600sq ft 1.2million. Walked away with tail between my legs. bo lui ah.....

For mature estate the max income is 10k for 3 room

400k. 38

3 room flat 400k? Since you are looking at condo also, cannot be too bad financially mah, what makes you think you cannot pay off your hdbee in full and get another 80% loan next time for condom?

Edited by Mockngbrd

Understand u talking about foreigners?

Can always buy resale Hdb ma

got official approval can.

Dunno what reasons they gave? Wonder how garang these people are if no official approval. Most rent out their HDB and shift to eat wind house for enjoyment.

But, no official approval to let whole flat also can do some "magic", but don't get caught. [sly]

by right cannot.

if own 2 property i.e HDB and condo.

have to die die stay in the HDB and rent out condo.

cannot stay condo and rent out hdb.

Edited by Kangadrool

Understand u talking about foreigners?

Can always buy resale Hdb ma

Not Foreigners ... Singaporeans ...

Those of us Chinese like to call " Eat Not Full ... Starve also Cannot Die ... " Category ...

Edited by Chowyunfatt

not really true... interlace is selling cheaper now then first launch.. its all about demand.. years back. .not enuff housing. ..buyer buys and could get instant good rental yield.. thus , completed project better price than new launch..

In the coming yr, shld be the other way round.. until chg in policy... wait a while before jumping in... :) there shld still be 5-10% drop if the current trend continues..:)

got a firend stay interlace

very nice

the facility really big until [dizzy][shocked]

I nvr aspire to live in condo unless i can afford to own condo.

I have been living in my HDB for the past 10 yrs & i have NO outstanding mortgage now. DEBT FREE!! Nothing beats that.

Quality of life is dependant on individual.

• Praise 10

BTO to private condo is a massive jump . The price difference is about 3 times ; a similiar sized BTO costing 400k will cost you 1.2m for private condo.

If you can afford 1.2m private condo , how can you qualify for BTO ( based on income ceiling ) in the first place ? Conversely , if your income is indeed low enough to qualify for BTO , you should not be stretching ourself to buy private condo , unless you have external help eg PF ( Parents Foundation ) .

Another point to consider is the missing out on all the grants . Or the so called having a bite of the cherry by PAP . Buying BTO , resale first timer , EC , all qualify you to some sort of grants, As for private condo , zero.

Do consider an EC if indeed you want condo living . The price is about 20% off a similiar 99 yr leasehold condo in same vicinity, plus you get some grants to offset your downpayment . The market is awashed with ECs now though , the selling price will not rise by much but then again dont expect much price appreciation as well.

If price appreciation is your sole criteria , then I would pick BTO .

Maybe special case... enbloc? Does income ceiling apply for enbloc case? Don't think so.

BTO to private condo is a massive jump . The price difference is about 3 times ; a similiar sized BTO costing 400k will cost you 1.2m for private condo.

If you can afford 1.2m private condo , how can you qualify for BTO ( based on income ceiling ) in the first place ? Conversely , if your income is indeed low enough to qualify for BTO , you should not be stretching ourself to buy private condo , unless you have external help eg PF ( Parents Foundation ) .

Another point to consider is the missing out on all the grants . Or the so called having a bite of the cherry by PAP . Buying BTO , resale first timer , EC , all qualify you to some sort of grants, As for private condo , zero.

Do consider an EC if indeed you want condo living . The price is about 20% off a similiar 99 yr leasehold condo in same vicinity, plus you get some grants to offset your downpayment . The market is awashed with ECs now though , the selling price will not rise by much but then again dont expect much price appreciation as well.

If price appreciation is your sole criteria , then I would pick BTO .

TS no simple [sly]

scrooge-skiing-460x250.jpg

i thought 3 room bto has an income cap?

how come a supposedly "low income" couple who qualify for 3 room hdb can afford a private condo?

tio toto, ASK or got some loophole to close?

[confused]

Based on single income lor.....

Either hubby or wife is out of job for several months. Or maybe doing full time MBA or PHD.

Maybe special case... enbloc? Does income ceiling apply for enbloc case? Don't think so.

Enbloc will be classified under SERS programme and not BTO if I remember correctly .