Crazy_turtle 1st Gear December 16, 2014 Share December 16, 2014 I agree with 2 legs up. Ban dealers from bidding COE. But you know that will never happen. PAP gov may lose $ in this COE golden goose ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angcheek Hypersonic December 16, 2014 Share December 16, 2014 Even if you block dealer from bidding coe , how it stop them from selling or scamming ? 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meanmachine Supercharged December 16, 2014 Share December 16, 2014 with that much of money under the pillow, sure can sleep well. U mean inside prison Otel? Sure got hearty b/f and gang bang from fellow prisoners. LOl 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
kenacheated Neutral Newbie December 16, 2014 Share December 16, 2014 Hi, One of my family member is a victim of this scam. I understand that there's a whatsapp group being setup amongst the victims. I will really appreciate if anyone with info on this whatsapp group could pm the details. thanks thanks 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic December 16, 2014 Share December 16, 2014 I agree with 2 legs up. Ban dealers from bidding COE. But you know that will never happen. PAP gov may lose $ in this COE golden goose When ppl say that means they are fxxked. To the Chinese it means "bye bye". 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic December 16, 2014 Share December 16, 2014 I wonder why would people want to do such a thing (makan money and then run road). Bascially you have become a fugitive for life and need to live your remaining life in fear. I rem there was this ex-employee of Cortina watch who run off with 8million worth of watches to Thailand. In the end, he turns himself in because he cannot take the life as a fugitive on the run anymore eventually. I thought he gave himself up because he couldn't find a buyer for the watches? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged December 16, 2014 Share December 16, 2014 I thought he gave himself up because he couldn't find a buyer for the watches? Its because the thai secret society also hunting for him as they know he is desperate for help. That is why when he surrender, he went to the embassy first instead of the thai police station as thai police also cannot be trusted. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Meanmachine Supercharged December 16, 2014 Share December 16, 2014 Can one imagine tis- Buying new car need conveyancing lawyer . . . Huat to the lawyer, buy used car, need conveyancing and CPIB opicer to run thru document, waste tax-payer money. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Divers 2nd Gear December 16, 2014 Share December 16, 2014 A few bad eggs make the whole industry look rotten. Same like Sim lim square incident. PI will surely hate Volks Auto. Customers who deposited $ will even hate Volks more. Waiting game is like dying game. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vega Turbocharged December 16, 2014 Share December 16, 2014 I think the Chinese paper wrote this PI run away with about $2M. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic December 16, 2014 Share December 16, 2014 (edited) run road strategy 101 ... 1st - money ... $2M - checked 2nd - destination ... ? 3rd - what's next ... ? how to lay low and yet can live normally and not hiding at back alley fear like shit ... did he got the skill of Bourne Identity? lol .... I think the Chinese paper wrote this PI run away with about $2M. Edited December 16, 2014 by Wt_know Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sabian Turbocharged December 16, 2014 Share December 16, 2014 I'm for banning dealers from COE bidding as well. As I've said before, their interest is completely opposite from that of the consumer, dealers just want to sell as many cars as they can. Why do they care what the price is so long they can find people to sign up? Consumers cannot drive the market, because they do not have any room to negotiate (in most cases). Dealers have built in buffer for their profit margins into the packaged price. One hint is their COE rebate levels. I was shocked when I saw BM's COE rebate level last weekend. They are like 10k lower than most others. Yet their selling price is not correspondingly lower. I'm like, WTH.... Govt until now still don't want to ban dealers from bidding leh. So how? Don't vote for them at elections until they do the right thing? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Damienic 5th Gear December 16, 2014 Share December 16, 2014 I thought he gave himself up because he couldn't find a buyer for the watches? He managed to get about 1mil plus worth of watches sold. According to reports, a friend manage to persuade him to give himself up. He was tired of being on the run and also wanted to see his daughter whom he knew he would never see again if he continues to be a fugitive. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged December 16, 2014 Share December 16, 2014 I wonder why would people want to do such a thing (makan money and then run road). Bascially you have become a fugitive for life and need to live your remaining life in fear. I rem there was this ex-employee of Cortina watch who run off with 8million worth of watches to Thailand. In the end, he turns himself in because he cannot take the life as a fugitive on the run anymore eventually. Cortina case very different....he cant offload the watches. And prices are being pressed at the lowest price for stolen goods. This Volks case involved hard cash which can amount easily minimum S$1.3m. Based on the report from the victims and the cash deposited. In the F&B industry, I knew of a few big restaurants using scapegoat to registered their business. If business fail, the landlord can only chase after these scapegoat for the overdue rental. And the actual boss just transfer the staff to other outlets. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tigershark1976 Turbocharged December 16, 2014 Share December 16, 2014 this kind of things very difficult to siam, not to mention PI, even big AD, or even a listed company could close down just like that. what is there to surprise? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Angcheek Hypersonic December 16, 2014 Share December 16, 2014 this kind of things very difficult to siam, not to mention PI, even big AD, or even a listed company could close down just like that. what is there to surprise? Intentional or unintentional is the key factor 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Whatupz 1st Gear December 17, 2014 Share December 17, 2014 Looks like ASIAONE got more news. http://transport.asiaone.com/news/general/story/angry-car-buyers-gather-dealership 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic December 17, 2014 Share December 17, 2014 It's on stomp too- http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/singaporeseen/this-urban-jungle/angry-buyers-gather-at-car-dealership-after-owner-goes-mia-without-delivering-cars ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...