Dfx16 6th Gear January 15, 2015 Share January 15, 2015 I had walked around for more then 15 yrs without IC, use only passport and drive license From ROM, purchase HDB, collect baby birth certificate and whatever u can think of which need IC Until I hit the wall when trying to get my son in a pr. skool within 1km I got a police statement to proof my address but the skool insisted only IC LL suck thumb and go for replacement ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged January 15, 2015 Share January 15, 2015 You don't feel wary from lack of sleep correcting English so late at night? for your bad england, I will also reject your use of passport. applauded = showed approval should be appalled = reacted in dsimay P.S....its a dumb idea to give passport or IC to anyone else outside of fambly Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged January 15, 2015 Share January 15, 2015 (edited) You don't feel wary from lack of sleep correcting English so late at night? P.S....its a dumb idea to give passport or IC to anyone else outside of fambly just couldn't resist can you? lol good thing I looked it up. Edited January 15, 2015 by Nolicense Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged January 15, 2015 Share January 15, 2015 just couldn't resist can you? lol good thing I looked it up. it's a tuff job, but someone's gotta do it. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Watwheels Supersonic January 15, 2015 Share January 15, 2015 Argh... LTA does not accept my passport for the purpose to authorised someone to scrap the car. ?!?! I didnt want to pass my IC because i am always weary that the some one may be careless with it and it may be misused.So i passed the person my Passport instead. But i was applauded that my passport is not good enough to id me ?!? Applauded by who? Kim Jong Un? When you were born the hospital issued your parents your passport or birthcert, ah? The gahment might as well just issue passport right at the start, right or not? Haha.... Why bother with birthcert and IC, so tedious? You can't insert the passport into your wallet ah. You carry that little red book like some 1960s Chinese revolution communist dude carry the little red book around. Ppl might mistake you for ah tiong. LoL... If you lost your IC just go make a replacement and stop whining about why you can't use your passport lah. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged January 15, 2015 Share January 15, 2015 (edited) it's a tuff job, but someone's gotta do it. AM ju si AM. sibei full of double entendre. Orientals however are inscrutable.. just like @Joseph22..where is he now a days? Edited January 15, 2015 by Nolicense Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lightbringer 6th Gear January 15, 2015 Share January 15, 2015 A passport is a travel document, usually issued by the government of a nation, that certifies the identity and nationality of its holder for the purpose of international travel. An identity document is any document which may be used to verify aspects of a person's personal identity. So pray tell, what's the difference between certifying and verifying a personal identity? So if Immigration have no need to "verify aspects of a person's personal identity",how do they certify any identity at all? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kangadrool Supersonic January 16, 2015 Share January 16, 2015 IC is mandatory/compulsory identity issued to all Singaporeans. Passport is optional. Therefore, LTA specified requirement for IC as document of proof is tio one! I suppork LTA's rule on this. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic January 16, 2015 Share January 16, 2015 One more big problem is the Driving Licence..... There is a photo, name, i/c number and issued by Police which is part of MHA. That also got problem to identify oneself .... NRIC & Passport issue by ICA and also part of MHA. So 'left' hand don't reconise 'right' hand and they are afterall from the same 'body'.... Why can't the issue one identification card to cover all aspect. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic January 16, 2015 Share January 16, 2015 At times, stopped by TP or police road blocks and they asked for both NRIC and Licence .... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic January 16, 2015 Share January 16, 2015 At times, stopped by TP or police road blocks and they asked for both NRIC and Licence .... usually give licence enough liao......even if police do a spot check no need give ic......as long as u remember your ic number enough oredy. Tried it many times while i was younger (of course there wasnt any crime committed). But of course to prevent any hassle or any displeasure to both party it is much easier to produce the ic. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic January 16, 2015 Share January 16, 2015 (edited) A passport is not fungible with an NRIC for most serious governmental needs. I recently lent my NRIC to a dealer to permit him to transfer my old car to his name. But when I called up DBS to inquire about getting a cashier's order for my new car, I was informed that I absolutely had to bring my NRIC down. Neither passport nor driving licence would be accepted as a proxy, despite both of them having my photo ID. Don't ask me for the exact reason. I guess each of these documents lacks a crucial piece of info that the NRIC has - the passport lacks the NRIC number, and the licence doesn't give my address. Edited January 16, 2015 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
1fast1 Supersonic January 16, 2015 Share January 16, 2015 (edited) usually give licence enough liao......even if police do a spot check no need give ic......as long as u remember your ic number enough oredy. Tried it many times while i was younger (of course there wasnt any crime committed). But of course to prevent any hassle or any displeasure to both party it is much easier to produce the ic. The new-format driving licence already has the NRIC number on it if you're a Singaporean. Edited January 16, 2015 by Turboflat4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic January 16, 2015 Share January 16, 2015 The new-format driving licence already has the NRIC on it if you're a Singaporean.yes....true. Thats why there isnt a need to show the ic when spot checked by tp or lta. As long as there isnt any offence or crime a licence is enough. Back in the days of the green licence i always try not to give my ic to the police officers that were doing spot checks.....always say its at home or something....then they will ask me for the numbers and my home adrress. There was once an officer pissed me off that i totally refused to cooperate that he had to call his Seargeant....he even threatened to bring us back to the station. I just buat bodoh until his female seargeant arrived and everything settled and the seargeant told him off for disturbing our group. Actually i was giving the fella a hard time because my then gf (now is wife) complained about him.......hahaha! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Vid Hypersonic January 16, 2015 Share January 16, 2015 yes....true. Thats why there isnt a need to show the ic when spot checked by tp or lta. As long as there isnt any offence or crime a licence is enough. Back in the days of the green licence i always try not to give my ic to the police officers that were doing spot checks.....always say its at home or something....then they will ask me for the numbers and my home adrress. There was once an officer pissed me off that i totally refused to cooperate that he had to call his Seargeant....he even threatened to bring us back to the station. I just buat bodoh until his female seargeant arrived and everything settled and the seargeant told him off for disturbing our group. Actually i was giving the fella a hard time because my then gf (now is wife) complained about him.......hahaha! [laugh] Kwai lan... I like Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged January 16, 2015 Share January 16, 2015 usually give licence enough liao......even if police do a spot check no need give ic......as long as u remember your ic number enough oredy. Tried it many times while i was younger (of course there wasnt any crime committed). But of course to prevent any hassle or any displeasure to both party it is much easier to produce the ic. IC Number same as DL number right? At least for mine... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic January 16, 2015 Share January 16, 2015 [laugh] Kwai lan... I like hahaha.....my friends also said the same! Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Darryn Turbocharged January 16, 2015 Share January 16, 2015 A passport is not fungible with an NRIC for most serious governmental needs. I recently lent my NRIC to a dealer to permit him to transfer my old car to his name. But when I called up DBS to inquire about getting a cashier's order for my new car, I was informed that I absolutely had to bring my NRIC down. Neither passport nor driving licence would be accepted as a proxy, despite both of them having my photo ID. Don't ask me for the exact reason. I guess each of these documents lacks a crucial piece of info that the NRIC has - the passport lacks the NRIC number, and the licence doesn't give my address. Besides which, banks tend to be rather lacking in imagination when it comes to such matters - and their "low level" staff can be even worse, mostly through lack of knowledge of what can be done and why if it is really required. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...