Recommendation for Spectacles

Atrecord

Anyone know where to get service for frameless spectacle temples change at a fee? 

Lazada sells complete set with demo "lenses" under 15 dollah...

Wife broke hers at that part of the temple...present lenses costs over 200 dollah...too costly not to keep them with cheap replacement part...😅

Screenshot_20231110_234125_edit_144684926261775.jpg

As usual, MCFers are very technical. Didn't know this thread exist. Just got my progressive done yesterday. Waiting for collection. And didn't know progressive could be so expensive.

Settled for a mid range Zeiss. The top end (widest angle) is a whopping $1.4k just the freaking lens. Hoya top line is also around $1.4k. Optician said Zeiss is slightly wider. 

Looks like really need to take care of the spec since it is so ex compared to non progressive. 

Some really light and comfortable frames are also super ex. Like $700 onwards. The amount of material use is probably less than 100g!

On 11/11/2023 at 8:02 AM, Gizmore said:

As usual, MCFers are very technical. Didn't know this thread exist. Just got my progressive done yesterday. Waiting for collection. And didn't know progressive could be so expensive.

Settled for a mid range Zeiss. The top end (widest angle) is a whopping $1.4k just the freaking lens. Hoya top line is also around $1.4k. Optician said Zeiss is slightly wider. 

Looks like really need to take care of the spec since it is so ex compared to non progressive. 

Some really light and comfortable frames are also super ex. Like $700 onwards. The amount of material use is probably less than 100g!

Those brands are well known...just make sure can see the very subtle logo on the lens for authencity...wife's glasses one side could see one side could not...asked to change...then came back one side no multi coat...asked to change again...they unhappy becos lose money...😁

On 11/11/2023 at 8:38 AM, Beregond said:

I heard my friends talking about anti blue Ray lens.

Any 1 using? Is it really good?

Using it, Can't tell the difference visually when wearing it. 

Is it good for your eyes... I presume it isn't bad.

I think UV protection is probably more important 🤔... cataracts lah.

Edited by Playtime

I use the 700 range... ok lah daily. Burr everyone is different. 

Thing is,  when working on computer or reading,  I no need to wear. I can see at that distance.

It's driving or daily activity that I wear... like looking at my car dashboard,  things on supermarket shelves. 

But highly advisable to keep a pair of cheap non progressives as stand by... in case accident or lost.

Edited by Playtime

I am also waiting for my new spec. ZEISS lens with UV + 1.74 high index = $700.

I was told that my spec was overpowered 7 mths ago. I didn’t ask by how much. That was tested during my regular eye check.

On 11/11/2023 at 9:31 AM, inlinesix said:

I am also waiting for my new spec. ZEISS lens with UV + 1.74 high index = $700.

I was told that my spec was overpowered 7 mths ago. I didn’t ask by how much. That was tested during my regular eye check.

That's reasonable price if it's local...i tink someone posted recently he got a pair of progressive from taobao for under 300...but well, lens brand makes all the difference...

On 11/11/2023 at 8:38 AM, Beregond said:

I heard my friends talking about anti blue Ray lens.

Any 1 using? Is it really good?

Probably not much evidence for its use.

Don't need for most people. But if u are in front of a lcd screen for whole workday then some people get it. 

On 11/11/2023 at 9:41 AM, mersaylee said:

That's reasonable price if it's local...i tink someone posted recently he got a pair of progressive from taobao for under 300...but well, lens brand makes all the difference...

Go JB? 

My kid is wearing progressives cos of atropine drops. 260+ dollars I guess cos kid. So far lens quality OK 1+ Year on. 

Most dangerous hood spectacle shop. 

On 11/11/2023 at 11:15 AM, Beregond said:

I thought I spend 300-400 on a spec . Heart pain liao. 

Until I read this thread.  😂😂😂😂

What type and brand of lens? 

On 11/11/2023 at 1:03 PM, mersaylee said:

What type and brand of lens? 

Guess or what brand. Forgot.

Titanium flame. Plastic lens dun know with super thin, or hard grade. Something like that. 

I alway make titanium flame. Won't go out of shape easily.

On 11/11/2023 at 1:13 PM, Beregond said:

Guess or what brand. Forgot.

Titanium flame. Plastic lens dun know with super thin, or hard grade. Something like that. 

I alway make titanium flame. Won't go out of shape easily.

I've used titanium frames since I started work. Never regret. Don't look fashionable but very light on the face which I find is important. 

On 11/11/2023 at 1:14 PM, Lala81 said:

I've used titanium frames since I started work. Never regret. Don't look fashionable but very light on the face which I find is important. 

Thanks. 

Ya for those that wear 👓 every day. U will know every time we take off and wear  with right hand or left hand.

If your flame is not good enough.  After like only 1 year. The flame become uneven if u put on a flat surface.

With titanium flame , I can wear like 3 year, the balance barly go out.

Last time I use glass lens. But very heavy. Now switch to plastic lens. Need to be super careful. Never use my clothing to clean.

I forever carry a proper lens cleaning cloth in my pocket.

On 11/11/2023 at 1:21 PM, Beregond said:

Ya for those that wear 👓 every day. U will know every time we take off and wear  with right hand or left hand.

If your flame is not good enough.  After like only 1 year. The flame become uneven if u put on a flat surface.

With titanium flame , I can wear like 3 year, the balance barly go out.

Last time I use glass lens. But very heavy. Now switch to plastic lens. Need to be super careful. Never use my clothing to clean.

I forever carry a proper lens cleaning cloth in my pocket.

Yeah cos I wear a surgical mask at work for long periods.

The ear loop bands over the day will press your spectacle temples inwards. At the end of the day, the skin over there feels uncomfortable. 

And this is despite me using a silicone mask extender at the back of my head. 

My current one is 5 years old. The older pair is around 18 years lol. Just change lenses along the way. 

MIJ titanium.