TangoCharlie Supersonic November 8, 2024 Share November 8, 2024 On 11/8/2024 at 9:35 AM, Lala81 said: Going osaka, kyoto for 8 days or so. My glasses lenses need to change liao. coating is worn off. Checking owndays prices, seems like JP owndays is cheaper by SG even without any special promo or what. I got a pair from ownsday rinku outlet in Osaka for about $50. They deliver to my hotel for free too as my lens too high powered. Need about 5 days. 3 days if collect at outlet. Normal lens can be had in 2 hours. Provided you like the discounted frames there. ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic November 8, 2024 Share November 8, 2024 How all these multicoated or add on blue screen (AR) coating are done at the shop and able to be collected like an hour later? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic November 8, 2024 Share November 8, 2024 On 11/8/2024 at 1:09 PM, TangoCharlie said: I got a pair from ownsday rinku outlet in Osaka for about $50. They deliver to my hotel for free too as my lens too high powered. Need about 5 days. 3 days if collect at outlet. Normal lens can be had in 2 hours. Provided you like the discounted frames there. Yeah i read your comment back then. But I'm probably not going Rinku. Maybe last day. Also probably not changing to progressives yet. There's owndays, Jin etc in Namba anyway. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic November 8, 2024 Share November 8, 2024 On 11/8/2024 at 1:39 PM, mersaylee said: How all these multicoated or add on blue screen (AR) coating are done at the shop and able to be collected like an hour later? ha no idea. The coat is probably pre-applied. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic November 8, 2024 Share November 8, 2024 On 11/8/2024 at 1:46 PM, Lala81 said: ha no idea. The coat is probably pre-applied. I suspect that too...the coating oredi done inside the lens...but that means the shop must have a large stock of various variants...including progressive, transitional...just need to cut to shape gor the frame and to the required eye power Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic November 8, 2024 Share November 8, 2024 (edited) On 11/8/2024 at 1:53 PM, mersaylee said: I suspect that too...the coating oredi done inside the lens...but that means the shop must have a large stock of various variants...including progressive, transitional...just need to cut to shape gor the frame and to the required eye power It's very useful for tourists. But locals don't usually need to rush to get the lenses bah. Edited November 8, 2024 by Lala81 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TangoCharlie Supersonic November 8, 2024 Share November 8, 2024 (edited) On 11/8/2024 at 1:45 PM, Lala81 said: Yeah i read your comment back then. But I'm probably not going Rinku. Maybe last day. Also probably not changing to progressives yet. There's owndays, Jin etc in Namba anyway. There are but the prices did not excite me enough to pull the trigger. Lol. Btw, since you going Kyoto, must try the Kyoto duck. It's so unjapanese but so memorable. Can't tell if it's smoked or sous vide. Let me know if you eating there. Edited November 8, 2024 by TangoCharlie 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic November 8, 2024 Share November 8, 2024 On 11/8/2024 at 2:00 PM, TangoCharlie said: There are but the prices did not excite me enough to pull the trigger. Lol. It still seems to be 20-30% cheaper than SG owndays based on a quick comparison of the Essentials model, so good enough for me. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic November 8, 2024 Share November 8, 2024 On 11/8/2024 at 2:00 PM, TangoCharlie said: There are but the prices did not excite me enough to pull the trigger. Lol. Btw, since you going Kyoto, must try the Kyoto duck. It's so unjapanese but so memorable. Can't tell if it's smoked or sous vide. Let me know if you eating there. I am going back to Osaka soon. This one? https://maps.app.goo.gl/V5D7Uv1XCpc6NWKM9?g_st=com.google.maps.preview.copy 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic November 8, 2024 Share November 8, 2024 On 11/8/2024 at 2:02 PM, Lala81 said: It still seems to be 20-30% cheaper than SG owndays based on a quick comparison of the Essentials model, so good enough for me. Please share if you can get good Hoya higher range lens there at cheaper price. A recommendation will be appreciated. Prefer to use my own frame, which may not work for shops like owndays, which only uses their own lens and frame. Me think. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic November 8, 2024 Share November 8, 2024 On 11/8/2024 at 4:51 PM, Voodooman said: Please share if you can get good Hoya higher range lens there at cheaper price. A recommendation will be appreciated. Prefer to use my own frame, which may not work for shops like owndays, which only uses their own lens and frame. Me think. Can use own personal non owndays frame but need to sign an indemnity form... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic November 8, 2024 Share November 8, 2024 On 11/8/2024 at 4:51 PM, Voodooman said: Please share if you can get good Hoya higher range lens there at cheaper price. A recommendation will be appreciated. Prefer to use my own frame, which may not work for shops like owndays, which only uses their own lens and frame. Me think. I think if the optician has links with Hoya should be OK. I think harder to find nowadays due to the price competition in sg vs owndays and jb. They may quote you more to cover the margin loss without frame? Wah Im going for Japanese oem this time round leh. To try. Cost cutting also. I've never tried the higher range Hoya. Costs quite a lot more. My non work glasses on old frame are Asahi. So far around 3 years or so. My prescription sunglasses already 13 years. Still usable with not much scratches. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic November 8, 2024 Share November 8, 2024 (edited) Wow! You guys really can stretch the lifespan on glasses...i need to change every year...at least 2 pairs each year...wonder what kind of frame do you use for sport...jogging, cycling, hiking etc...only when i do tabata no need to wear any...other sporty activities need to wear my myopia pair...need to spot wild boar or wild dog or chiobu from far...except for the latter...i will uturn...😁 Edited November 8, 2024 by mersaylee 2 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic November 8, 2024 Share November 8, 2024 On 11/8/2024 at 8:12 PM, mersaylee said: Wow! You guys really can stretch the lifespan on glasses...i need to change every year...at least 2 pairs each year...wonder what kind of frame do you use for sport...jogging, cycling, hiking etc...only when i do tabata no need to wear any...other sporty activities need to wear my myopia pair...need to spot wild boar or wild dog or chiobu from far...except for the latter...i will uturn...😁 Your bedsports very hiong one issit... 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic November 8, 2024 Share November 8, 2024 On 11/8/2024 at 8:12 PM, mersaylee said: Wow! You guys really can stretch the lifespan on glasses...i need to change every year...at least 2 pairs each year...wonder what kind of frame do you use for sport...jogging, cycling, hiking etc...only when i do tabata no need to wear any...other sporty activities need to wear my myopia pair...need to spot wild boar or wild dog or chiobu from far...except for the latter...i will uturn...😁 I use my ole glasses for sports. It’s a bit blur as the coating peel off. Or I use sunglasses with prescription insert 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
TangoCharlie Supersonic November 8, 2024 Share November 8, 2024 On 11/8/2024 at 4:49 PM, Voodooman said: I am going back to Osaka soon. This one? https://maps.app.goo.gl/V5D7Uv1XCpc6NWKM9?g_st=com.google.maps.preview.copy https://maps.app.goo.gl/qmexeu6J6KhZ8w9YA This one bro. Next time I'll try the gion duck noodle. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged November 9, 2024 Share November 9, 2024 On 11/8/2024 at 11:15 AM, Lala81 said: yeah the atropine drops make his eyes bit similar to lao hua. but needed to stop his progression. He was 300+ almost 400 degrees at primary 1. Inherited from you? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged November 9, 2024 Share November 9, 2024 On 11/8/2024 at 8:12 PM, mersaylee said: Wow! You guys really can stretch the lifespan on glasses...i need to change every year...at least 2 pairs each year...wonder what kind of frame do you use for sport...jogging, cycling, hiking etc...only when i do tabata no need to wear any...other sporty activities need to wear my myopia pair...need to spot wild boar or wild dog or chiobu from far...except for the latter...i will uturn...😁 How the hell you treat ... or mistreat ... your glasses one 😅 Even in NS go outfield my glasses also not spoil like that. You practise boxing with glasses on ah? ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...