2014 Corolla Altis - Technical, Features & Use

Kklee

Hav gone for 1st service 1000km. The service ctr staff told me I am the 1st customer who say can only clock 9.1km/litre on average. I show them the proof. They said not much can be done even aft 1st service.

That means I super-lucky lah..

I wil go toyota HQ bang table.

when i live at AMK and work at AMK many years back, i could get 8.9km/l on vios.who would believe vios give 9km/l?...... then i moved to yishun and work at AMK.. Fc improved, smelly smelly can get 12+km/l .... before you bang table, check your right foot, check your type of driving route and pattern... if no highway, short distant route mostly (just like my parents, just drive from home to market only and mostly 5-8km per trip route) and heavy right foot... 9.1km/l is very good liao... [laugh]

This morning went for servicing, feedback on squeaking coming from the engine bay when D or R is engaged. They suspect it's from the gearbox. Looks like a rare case to them. Once they submit the report to their technical team, most likely they will change a new gearbox for me. Sian 1/2 :wacko: .. car less than a month and need to go for major operation liao.

Though kinda sian with the outcome, overall at the service centre, I feel BM customer service is quite Professional and good.

Edited by Junye11

This morning went for servicing, feedback on squeaking coming from the engine bay when D or R is engaged. They suspect it's from the gearbox. Looks like a rare case to them. Once they submit the report to their technical team, most likely they will change a new gearbox for me. Sian 1/2 :wacko: .. car less than a month and need to go for major operation liao.

Though kinda sian with the outcome, overall at the service centre, I feel BM customer service is quite Professional and good.

..... maybe should consider changing the GB syn oli with mineral grade.... [laugh]

joke aside, i've never heard of GB failure from toyota at early stage... not this new... dont tell me this new cvt GB is not robust enough... i do have confident Toyota will never use this GB if they have not done double, triple test to ensure it's 99.999% reliable before using it on a b&b car like altis... maybe another item created that squeaking sound...

..... maybe should consider changing the GB syn oli with mineral grade.... [laugh]

joke aside, i've never heard of GB failure from toyota at early stage... not this new... dont tell me this new cvt GB is not robust enough... i do have confident Toyota will never use this GB if they have not done double, triple test to ensure it's 99.999% reliable before using it on a b&b car like altis... maybe another item created that squeaking sound...

They assure me that the car is driveable. The sound is very noticeable when R is engaged, it sound like those old car belting squeaking sound. In D mode can be heard but the sound is quite faint (in the car cabin with window and door closed you will not notice it). What I was told this is the first time they are seeing such problem. They did change the ATF for me but the sound still persist. At the moment, driving the car is still good and smooth, just that the sound is rather worrying for me since the car still so new.

Perhaps it is your driving route and method ?

I can drive for you and see if will show something different.

I bang table that 9km/l is not acceptable.

finally they reset & re-calibrate all four fuel injectors thro my car ECU, with their inhouse GTS software.

Now after 50km, average fc improved to 12.7km/l.

Delivery centre never do all their work during collectn

I bang table that 9km/l is not acceptable.

finally they reset & re-calibrate all four fuel injectors thro my car ECU, with their inhouse GTS software.

Now after 50km, average fc improved to 12.7km/l.

Delivery centre never do all their work during collectn

Good work. Next time can enlist you help to bang table. [smash]

Collected my car yesterday and found there is a paintwork defect in the boot panel . Do not know how to describe the defect here. Some sort of wrinkle lines or uneven paintwork. Might cause by the white protective plastic sheet application before shipping. Rush to ship out and insufficient drying time of the paint.

Log the issue and they will look at it during the 1st servicing. Must complaint until they resolve it for me. Sian already.

Better check your paintwork if you collected or going to collect your car. Log the issue if defect found.

Edited by Ghostrider8

Most proably they will repray for you. But factory paint is always better

Collected my car yesterday and found there is a paintwork defect in the boot panel . Do not know how to describe the defect here. Some sort of wrinkle lines or uneven paintwork. Might cause by the white protective plastic sheet application before shipping. Rush to ship out and insufficient drying time of the paint.

Log the issue and they will look at it during the 1st servicing. Must complaint until they resolve it for me. Sian already.

Better check your paintwork if you collected or going to collect your car. Log the issue if defect found.

Inside the boot or exterior panel?

Orange peel ?

f3c75058-d7fc-4140-ada8-2ecd6bab668e_zps

Looks like orange peel and and scratches. Is it on the boot's top panel, left side ?

I take it as orange peel is unavoidable. Mine also has it.

Foremost, detailing require skills.

I could send back to BM but have no experience on their skill.

There is a risk that it can be come worse.

Detailing can correct defect. It can also "cover up" defect. One can only see the "cover up" after washing.

I send mine (with orange peel) for Opti-Coat. At least I know the clear coat is intact.

Maybe wait 3 or 5 years then send for defect correction and Opti-Guard.

Looks like orange peel and and scratches. Is it on the boot's top panel, left side ?

I take it as orange peel is unavoidable. Mine also has it.

Foremost, detailing require skills.

I could send back to BM but have no experience on their skill.

There is a risk that it can be come worse.

Detailing can correct defect. It can also "cover up" defect. One can only see the "cover up" after washing.

I send mine (with orange peel) for Opti-Coat. At least I know the clear coat is intact.

Maybe wait 3 or 5 years then send for defect correction and Opti-Guard.

On the top right side of the boot. According to the detailer, not orange peel or scratches. Not keen for a respray if offer by BM. Prefer original factory paintwork.

Apply coat over it and leave it.

Edited by Ghostrider8

when i live at AMK and work at AMK many years back, i could get 8.9km/l on vios.who would believe vios give 9km/l?...... then i moved to yishun and work at AMK.. Fc improved, smelly smelly can get 12+km/l .... before you bang table, check your right foot, check your type of driving route and pattern... if no highway, short distant route mostly (just like my parents, just drive from home to market only and mostly 5-8km per trip route) and heavy right foot... 9.1km/l is very good liao... [laugh]

second this - my 2l ride when having city drive only returned miserable 7.5-8km/l; >70% highway at least some >10km, improved to 8+ to 10km/l.

have been pretty constant since first gotten the ride few yrs back despite its comin to 8yo

Any brothers here who drove the classic variant encounter any distortion on the HU when listen to radio channels when driving in HDB MSCP.

Yes, my classic the sound effect real bad for certain channel like fm88.3 at MSCP.

Even normal open air sound effect no good, just average.

Did not highlight during 1k service cos hav many more prob to settle like air-con smell, steering wheel loose, side mirror mis-allignment, etc...

Next 5k service then try to settle the radio distortion.

So many prob that I bang table during 1k service.

Yes, my classic the sound effect real bad for certain channel like fm88.3 at MSCP.

Even normal open air sound effect no good, just average.

Did not highlight during 1k service cos hav many more prob to settle like air-con smell, steering wheel loose, side mirror mis-allignment, etc...

Next 5k service then try to settle the radio distortion.

So many prob that I bang table during 1k service.

I thought toyota should be okay. How come so many problems.

I wish to install a car camera. Do i need to install at BM service center? Wont void warranty if i install outside right?

Can intro me a good shop to buy and install?

Looking for blackvue.

Many thanks.

installed iroad v7 myself, direct wire to fuse to keep it running thru nite.

if set 12.3V will only last half a day. set it to 12.0 probably can last a nite or two.

installation took about half hr for front and back. cost 330. read somewhere v9 is out in korea.

not sure if will void warranty.

Edited by HdBanger