2015 Forester 2.0

subarudreamer

On the point of sharing, just wanna share on my recent mods that really improved the way the FXT drives. Here goes:

- Installed a GoFastBits (GFB) full recirculation valve T9107 to replace the stock plastic valve.

- Installed an aftermarket full aluminium charge pipe to replace the stock plastic charge pipe that was much narrower and restricts airflow into intercooler.

- Replaced all the hose clamps from turbo inlet piping, to intercooler, to throttle body, with much better quality Norma/Breeze/Orbit clamps.

End result was WOW! The boost now comes fast and furious and holds boost until you let go of throttle. Highly recommended to do all 3 at one go and see what your FXT can really do.

Damage: the GFB valve was installed for $280 and the charge pipe can get for $580 (Perrin USA) or $480 (Simota taiwan), choice is yours :)

Some readings and references:

https://www.facebook.com/TSGMotorworks/photos/basw.Abpp76swMrCP6EwJoHU2iT-AqVTSYVRy9lr8HYfafGXKamMjYihHzBgXgGK8innaa6JFpbycPmkav_9p1Y_R9ho4u42Yf4ER_5MpQUsJbvNaWcxKEsddad7BHzdiLOngWT15LXajN3oDOBfMcSgiV5S_.1708829029196844/1708829029196844/?type=1&opaqueCursor=AbroXGlSDI1At5doVFEJycMKUvgnE0kKGMfS7nOExuPo2nGgRy0LzCm_82zPHm7q0-55JKbmhzt16BcGqZHzR7dV4-PjNc9nXte6s9is0CMhBnRjjKtugSeMwuI5EmOTDX_aCGu4MynNix1R_Vp3WrvcnXTDKnAvjVXI7hN59UZr6gL2XXZvchKaCXEqF2482A_b1bZVf2bQvUxGzSECIrPM6JleSiOl_iy1KTLCpGPNAfI_yk1guimslGBvL2cF_zoMYdyeESpucpYfo0p3aDoprEjHDNTqcpgmtYX9D0PYKcdXgReTOuLOVKy-hnoTGHLGS71Us9M97pTekqNlKjtz7jsjzyIsNn4MpvECY91FqeL5SIqA14um1PCZqfwKfSKVnjmo5mTsFBzeOwsorm5TRS5RKUa_DwXY5CiY_vqHWEIH_InQ21IiFMbLLmrl7-1pAwFE9lxteDTnJ_HGLtGy9jhI0raXp0NqaO25Fsqb8diddswEEA4wA6dRjt1Uf8rJz3Ceo7CvE7ROfS06yzRhjK0wWYOmsDmofiAdgwZUf5TLUDEzdVYys8DnbRmCKGONxsw68tLnMsK2hmQV1HJ0Xk5W64onyPoogg8hD6ZzbfFdQz3IhT-QuEcot-MEDbuAOo_CCkUbfTKxEHGdoDRY0k3KW4moBmLWBDQERk_QFa4DWAkOF8dlIGp3QUqAWdwNJX9G5-8hPTwaUi4sBmw2yeBP2NYfRjHhulJ-o4ZjIg&theater

Hi Orixy,

Cool info.

Guess new clamps is for reliability against stock ones that that I understand from some owners had leaks especially when works were done.

On the charge pipes which should be for intake, I believe improvement is not contributed as much as by the GFB ?  Reason being GFB in essence manipulates boost operational and it is not usual that boost is the major impact on engine response while intake without output ??

Most importantly, what are the concerns and limitations, if any, for ithem not to be included in stock forester fxt (does not apply for fna since boost/turbo related) ??

Thanks in advance.

Cheers,

Richard

Hi Orixy,

Cool info.

Guess new clamps is for reliability against stock ones that that I understand from some owners had leaks especially when works were done.

On the charge pipes which should be for intake, I believe improvement is not contributed as much as by the GFB ?  Reason being GFB in essence manipulates boost operational and it is not usual that boost is the major impact on engine response while intake without output ??

Most importantly, what are the concerns and limitations, if any, for ithem not to be included in stock forester fxt (does not apply for fna since boost/turbo related) ??

Thanks in advance.

Cheers,

Richard

If you get a chance to take out and inspect the Tridon clamps, you'll shake head...

I had done both the GFB and charge pipe together so I wouldn't know which had the bigger contribution to the engine/turbo response. Nonetheless, both had complemented each other really well! :)

If you get a chance to take out and inspect the Tridon clamps, you'll shake head...

I had done both the GFB and charge pipe together so I wouldn't know which had the bigger contribution to the engine/turbo response. Nonetheless, both had complemented each other really well! :)

Hi Orixy,

Thanks !!

Will be looking at change at BKS when doing the AOS and pink springs.

BTW, any concern and limits on the GFB and charge piple ... believe none on charge pipe except that some brands were found to be damaged after installation and vibration due to tight spaces but had not heard any concern/limits on the GFB.

Thanks again and cheers,

Richard

Hi Orixy,

Thanks !!

BTW, any concern and limits on the GFB and charge piple ... believe none on charge pipe except that some brands were found to be damaged after installation and vibration due to tight spaces but had not heard any concern/limits on the GFB.

Thanks again and cheers,

Richard

The fitment of the Perrin charge pipe can be described as tight cos it may touch the radiator fan. But better workmanship will easily resolve this.

what is FNA & FXT current and after 1st-july VES surcharge,

only know FXT is $20k now

Edited by MQX87511

The fitment of the Perrin charge pipe can be described as tight cos it may touch the radiator fan. But better workmanship will easily resolve this.

Hi Orixy,

Thanks ! Decided not to install my mishimoto one and sold it off few mths back .. not venturing into performance bits until really bored ... yet .. but good to know !

Cheers.

Richard

Edited by richard_crl032

Hi Scooby,

Well said and cannot praise you until shared them with others.

Fortunately, I am also quite well versed in googling for info, having engrg career and educated formally in Sciences as well as also quite thick skinned to ask for advice and even call for help from bros to try out their mods as much as possible e.g. suspension (many), alternator booster fuse (Chucky), autolock module (Yellowbie) etc. before taking the plunge.

Nevertheless, all these are still subjective to one's past experience and expectation with resulting different opinions which is fine and dainty ... but yes, there are admittedly wants that I follow NIKE especially when no bros had tried e.g. aircon mod, wrx stil seats etc. On the other hand, there are also such wants like COX dampers from Yamaha that are >>sgd1.5 that I doubt on significance and did not take the plunge ... yet.

Let's see any forester bro game for this COX dampers used in some models of stock lexus:

http://syms.jp/product/cox%E3%80%80body%E3%80%80damper%E3%80%80setting%E3%80%80by%E3%80%80syms%E3%80%80for-sj-forester/

Alternator booster fuse here:

https://www.hkbelect.com/product/154-mk3-mini-blade-75a-electronic-fuse-version-2015/

Cheers,

Richard

Hi Titanic,

Just to add ... if there is only 1 thing you wish to do, I would recommend to just do the sti pink spring especially for the FNA already without the subframe as this had the most impact as mentioned.

Cheers,

Richard

Thanks Richard. My intention also will go direct to STI spring instead of sub frame. Haha... but not in hurry, slowly try one by one.... my wallet not so thick oso... LOL...

always call Ah Keong beforehand to check before going down, unless emergency, don't forget his is one of the most popular pro Subaru workshop in Singapore.

It was during the free servicing at MI.

Then one day i found myself running errands near Lesun so i bought from them, saved some money and got it installed at ah keong's place

Edited by Zpliu

Hi Orixy,

Thanks !!

Thanks again and cheers,

Richard

+1 on the hose clamps.

But I’m not sure whether BKS carries the aftermarket ones which you may have to buy them yourself. So check with them beforehand

Same here, i went for my 1k servicing at Leng Kee, left my car there at 9am and collected at 5pm plus. Morning told them what i wanna to change and add-on then go back office n wait for their call in the evening for collection.

But the diff is I had very bad experienced with them, they have not done QC of my car, gave me trouble and force go back the next day cos of the small issue due to "alarm hang" caused all the electrical stuff not working properly [thumbsdown] ..... phui! [furious] 

I am planning after the free 10k service with them then go outside workshop.... still looking for comfortable workshop.... :a-SOS:

I am happy that this thread is still going strong with invaluable inputs from all selfless Bros. 

Titaniclexus, you are not the only one who got a lousy treatment at the Leng Kee branch. I posted my experience many moons ago but don't mind sharing again. It was about a year back when I sent my fna for the 1k servicing. When I told them about the infamous creaking sound  at the rear, they told me it was normal...yah right, normal my a**. If I recall correctly, I reached 8.30 and waited until 9.45...I didn't get me beloved ride until 5.45pm. So I asked the guy (Chia) sarcastically: What you all do to my car? Change the engine to STI? His nonchalant reply was: at least you got your car back. What could I do??? Felt like slapping the man-whore but didn't want to stain/hurt my delicate palm on his greasy face. 

Left with no alternative, LLST drove off lor. btw, the service receipt stated: engine oil change.

1 month quickly passed and I kept feeling that somehow the fna rev just didn't sound right. This is especially evident when I did my daily climb via the bartley flyover. I know something's wrong cos I was fortunate to have an elder brother whose quite a subaru fan. He bought n sold quite a few including legacy GT, fna before settling on fxt for the family car. So every chance I get, I will test drive his ride. IMHO, the best is still legacy GT.

Moving on, I brought my fna to my trusty mechanic who drove it and commented it felt sluggish which was uncommon for a new ride. Perhaps mine was a fna hence the sluggish pickup but he opined otherwise. so I told him to change the EO but he advised against it owing  to warranty issues. In a way, I was caught between a rock and a hard case...damn if I do, dam if I don't. The moment the drain plug was removed, the oil that flowed out was THICK & BLACK. I managed to collect some sample and even took a vid of the oil flowing out. My mech was however prudent & diplomatic in his assessment: "Although I cannot confirm if the EO was changed during servicing, there is however NO WAY fresh EO can become so thick & black within 1 month of driving". Then my mech asked: Eh, why didn't you check the dipstick after collecting your car??? I was dumbstruck, what can I say??? Cos I trusted the brand name as well as those monkeys whom I thought had integrity in the discharge of their duties. 

So complain or no complain? At that point in time, new car owners were bound (more like SCREWED) by the absurd terms of warranty until Competition Commission of Singapore stepped in December 2017. (https://www.cccs.gov.sg/media-and-publications/media-releases/major-car-dealers-amend-warranty-terms)  

Concede to EO change and risk 5-year warranty being voided? In any instance, I went to TPY for the 10k servicing which was better. I related the story to them but guess they couldn't comment much...

One thing's for sure, I will NEVER go near that branch ever.   

+1 on the hose clamps.

But Iâm not sure whether BKS carries the aftermarket ones which you may have to buy them yourself. So check with them beforehand

Hi James,

Noted and tks !

Will call to ask but if not, think some bro shared before the no. of pcs and sized and will google but if you have the info to share here .. it will great.

Nevertheless think it is precautionary and not an absolute must to change unless tinking with mods, right ?

Tks again and cheers.

Richard

PS: https://www.fastwrx.com/products/cut-proof-hose-clamp-set-2015-wrx-2014-forester-xt

post-149594-0-28714400-1527218288_thumb.png

Edited by richard_crl032

Hi James,

Noted and tks !

Will call to ask but if not, think some bro shared before the no. of pcs and sized and will google but if you have the info to share here .. it will great.

Nevertheless think it is precautionary and not an absolute must to change unless tinking with mods, right ?

Tks again and cheers.

Richard

PS: https://www.fastwrx.com/products/cut-proof-hose-clamp-set-2015-wrx-2014-forester-xt

http://www.subaruforester.org/vbulletin/f207/danoz-fix-fa20dit-turbo-clamps-318129/

The sizes are in the Forester forum thread as above. I bought mine from eBay.

On a separate topic, the Forester lower control arm bushings also seems to be prone to wear and tear. I’ve heard some local owners replacing the bushings which crack at 60-70,000km mileage. It’s also an issue in the US and reported in the Forester forum

http://www.subaruforester.org/vbulletin/f207/danoz-fix-fa20dit-turbo-clamps-318129/

The sizes are in the Forester forum thread as above. I bought mine from eBay.

On a separate topic, the Forester lower control arm bushings also seems to be prone to wear and tear. I’ve heard some local owners replacing the bushings which crack at 60-70,000km mileage. It’s also an issue in the US and reported in the Forester forum

Hey James,

Thanks !!!

Found this but shipping not cheap and dun like worst case shipping time of 1 month:

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Breeze-Liner-Clamps-for-Subaru-WRX-15-9420-9444H-9448H-FORESTER-DANOZ-INTAKE/253607096751?ssPageName=STRK%3AMEBIDX%3AIT&_trksid=p2055119.m1438.l2650#shpCntId

Still trying locally but only household version of Breeze found from horme ... damn cheap but NOT going to get these:

https://www.horme.com.sg/product.aspx?id=2333

Cheers,

Richard

I am happy that this thread is still going strong with invaluable inputs from all selfless Bros. 

Titaniclexus, you are not the only one who got a lousy treatment at the Leng Kee branch. I posted my experience many moons ago but don't mind sharing again. It was about a year back when I sent my fna for the 1k servicing. When I told them about the infamous creaking sound  at the rear, they told me it was normal...yah right, normal my a**. If I recall correctly, I reached 8.30 and waited until 9.45...I didn't get me beloved ride until 5.45pm. So I asked the guy (Chia) sarcastically: What you all do to my car? Change the engine to STI? His nonchalant reply was: at least you got your car back. What could I do??? Felt like slapping the man-whore but didn't want to stain/hurt my delicate palm on his greasy face. 

Left with no alternative, LLST drove off lor. btw, the service receipt stated: engine oil change.

1 month quickly passed and I kept feeling that somehow the fna rev just didn't sound right. This is especially evident when I did my daily climb via the bartley flyover. I know something's wrong cos I was fortunate to have an elder brother whose quite a subaru fan. He bought n sold quite a few including legacy GT, fna before settling on fxt for the family car. So every chance I get, I will test drive his ride. IMHO, the best is still legacy GT.

Moving on, I brought my fna to my trusty mechanic who drove it and commented it felt sluggish which was uncommon for a new ride. Perhaps mine was a fna hence the sluggish pickup but he opined otherwise. so I told him to change the EO but he advised against it owing  to warranty issues. In a way, I was caught between a rock and a hard case...damn if I do, dam if I don't. The moment the drain plug was removed, the oil that flowed out was THICK & BLACK. I managed to collect some sample and even took a vid of the oil flowing out. My mech was however prudent & diplomatic in his assessment: "Although I cannot confirm if the EO was changed during servicing, there is however NO WAY fresh EO can become so thick & black within 1 month of driving". Then my mech asked: Eh, why didn't you check the dipstick after collecting your car??? I was dumbstruck, what can I say??? Cos I trusted the brand name as well as those monkeys whom I thought had integrity in the discharge of their duties. 

So complain or no complain? At that point in time, new car owners were bound (more like SCREWED) by the absurd terms of warranty until Competition Commission of Singapore stepped in December 2017. (https://www.cccs.gov.sg/media-and-publications/media-releases/major-car-dealers-amend-warranty-terms)  

Concede to EO change and risk 5-year warranty being voided? In any instance, I went to TPY for the 10k servicing which was better. I related the story to them but guess they couldn't comment much...

One thing's for sure, I will NEVER go near that branch ever.   

Hi Feudal,

Sorry to hear of your bad experience at LengKee ... never been there and so far only to tpy branch.

Hope your creaking sound at the rear of your fna  already solved since not shared on latest and frankly had not hear the same rear creaking sound for fxt bros.

Not sure who your trusted mechanic is but where got void warranty if change eo outside one ??  No way MI can even why brand eo changed and there should be absolutely no concern leh.

Also not sure how black and thick your mentioned surprised finding when drained by your mechanic but if 1k service and 2 months later unless I read wrongly, it should be at most 3k km travelled and even if MI lengkee din change as they had advised, 3k km or even 5k km for even presumably mineral eo from Fuji Industries Japan factory will not have unacceptable black and thick eo unless kopi black is poured into the mix ???

Strange case and cannot understand ....

Cheers,

Richard

Guys, for quality hose clamps, can go to Hup Tech at Jln Berseh:

http://www.hupteck.com/content1_06.htm

They don't carry Breeze Liner clamps too, so i got a close equivalent Orbit 316 stainless steel clamps. They are also without those gears that will destroy the rubber by cutting into them as you tighten. See below:

http://orbit-hoseclips.com/?product=obbsw4-obbsw5