titaniclexus 3rd Gear May 28, 2018 Share May 28, 2018 (edited) Received my cusco front strut tower bar delivered to my office address this early morning, after that go out to install at workshop during lunch again Meanwhile, also replaced my stock horn with hella snail horn together, actually i want to change the horn for quite long but lazy to drop by only for horn change.. After installed, my review on this cusco tower bar is more or less same as other bros, improved handling, steering feel more lighter, more stable for corner, so u will feel abit more confident than before .... Stiffen front chassis or not, I am not too sure cos i got the ARB installed before this, can't really feel it, but it is more obvious when you go over hump, it will less bouncy on the front now.... I feel is a good upgrade and match for rear ARB and front Strut bar. Not diff to install, but i have limited tools at home, so better let workshop to install, see the picture, so dusty engine..... lolzz Second purchased from japanparts.com, good service and fast delivery by EMS. Best thing is japanparts.com till now still not debited my credit card.... Edited May 28, 2018 by titaniclexus ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
richard_crl032 6th Gear May 28, 2018 Share May 28, 2018 Thanks Richard. Haha.... i am not in particular in ICE, got sound/voice come out can liao.... Hi Titanic, Saved and safe ! Cheers, Richard Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
richard_crl032 6th Gear May 28, 2018 Share May 28, 2018 After installed, my review on this cusco tower bar is more or less same as other bros, improved handling, steering feel more lighter, more stable for corner, so u will feel abit more confident than before .... Stiffen front chassis or not, I am not too sure cos i got the ARB installed before this, can't really feel it, but it is more obvious when you go over hump, it will less bouncy on the front now.... Hi Titanic, You find it lighter with cusco front strut installed ?? My experience is a bit different and I thought logically so that steering should be heavier now as cornering has more opposing/resisting force that prevent car to lean on one side ?? Even for straight road, steering to either side should also have the same effect and feel heavy with more resistance to turn or at least not lighter ? This also means if you wish to turn or corner, it will be less vague i.e. more accurate which is why we like to install front strut. Some typo or need to revalidate ?? Cheers, Richard Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Epsilon 2nd Gear May 28, 2018 Share May 28, 2018 Received my cusco front strut tower bar delivered to my office address this early morning, after that go out to install at workshop during lunch again Meanwhile, also replaced my stock horn with hella snail horn together, actually i want to change the horn for quite long but lazy to drop by only for horn change.. After installed, my review on this cusco tower bar is more or less same as other bros, improved handling, steering feel more lighter, more stable for corner, so u will feel abit more confident than before .... Stiffen front chassis or not, I am not too sure cos i got the ARB installed before this, can't really feel it, but it is more obvious when you go over hump, it will less bouncy on the front now.... I feel is a good upgrade and match for rear ARB and front Strut bar. Not diff to install, but i have limited tools at home, so better let workshop to install, see the picture, so dusty engine..... lolzz Second purchased from japanparts.com, good service and fast delivery by EMS. Best thing is japanparts.com till now still not debited my credit card.... Hi Titan, Which brand of ARB did you installed? Can I ask if the rear passenger still bouncy when going off hump? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
titaniclexus 3rd Gear May 28, 2018 Share May 28, 2018 (edited) Hi Titanic, You find it lighter with cusco front strut installed ?? My experience is a bit different and I thought logically so that steering should be heavier now as cornering has more opposing/resisting force that prevent car to lean on one side ?? Even for straight road, steering to either side should also have the same effect and feel heavy with more resistance to turn or at least not lighter ? This also means if you wish to turn or corner, it will be less vague i.e. more accurate which is why we like to install front strut. Some typo or need to revalidate ?? Cheers, Richard Actually i really feel slightly light than before, not sure izzit cos is FNA or FXT got this diff feel? You are right when turn or corner, it will be less vague... Funny, the edit icon not there, can't edit? hmmm.... Edited May 28, 2018 by titaniclexus Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
titaniclexus 3rd Gear May 28, 2018 Share May 28, 2018 (edited) Hi Titan, Which brand of ARB did you installed? Can I ask if the rear passenger still bouncy when going off hump? I am using STI ARB 20mm, cheapest ARB compare to the rest of brand, MI is still selling while stock last.... haha... Rear passenger will still feel bouncy, IMHO ARB is only to reduce the impact not eliminate the impact... My wife tested over the weekend, she told me better than before on road, less bouncy, but not much diff when go over hump.... I told her if need further improvement, will need to change STI spring liao, she replied me the same "no need lah, she is fine".... LOL Edited May 28, 2018 by titaniclexus Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
titaniclexus 3rd Gear May 28, 2018 Share May 28, 2018 (edited) Hi Titanic, Make sense to me .... One thing to recommend if deciding profile 50 or 55, my next tyre will definitely be 55 to add some rubber both for more compliant ride and also looks betta with less gap in wheel arch. Cheers, Richard Checked japanparts.com, the STI rims look very nice, it is costs about S$470 for one, 4 rims will be S$1,880 plus shipping is ard S$380 = S$2,260.... good price? any local tyres shop carry this? https://www.japanparts.com/parts/detail/52721 Edited May 28, 2018 by titaniclexus Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarion 4th Gear May 28, 2018 Share May 28, 2018 Checked japanparts.com, the STI rims look very nice, it is costs about S$470 for one, 4 rims will be S$1,880 plus shipping is ard S$380 = S$2,260.... good price? any local tyres shop carry this? https://www.japanparts.com/parts/detail/52721 depends on what you want bah. that price should get you many good cast racing rims from other brands that allow you to flush the wheel to body and/or wider width if that's the look/performance you like 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarion 4th Gear May 28, 2018 Share May 28, 2018 Hi Titanic, Highly speculative but due to torque difference of fna and fxt, the dueler on the 18" of fxt MAY work on the fna ... if you can get relatively new e.g. 10 days or 2k km old fxt's rim and dueler tyre at say 300-400, it may be worthwhile. However, you will still not be able to fit bbk unless you use not prefer spacer that unduely stress you axles and have to report to ssbh, sport pads and even slotted/drilled rotors which I do not proposed since cost vs performance will be less than just 1.2k for say taiwanese rLogic big4 bbk that includes rear ssbh also. Btw, any one knows if stock calipers of fna and fxt are the same ? Both are 2 pots right ? Or as someone mentioned, the calipers of stock fxt is bigger and fits the fna but not sure what is smaller than 2 pots of fxt ?? Cheers. Richard i would think FXT calipers are bigger than FNA cos rotor size of FNA confirmed smaller. probably similar to XV/Impreza since same powerband. the FXT calipers/rotors are even bigger than my good'ol Legacy BL ones... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarion 4th Gear May 28, 2018 Share May 28, 2018 Thanks. I thought it is more worthwhile to change to 19" since stock on XT is already 18". It's rather hard to find 19" rims with pcd 5x100. 19" 5x100 got $ can settle no issue. anyway offset 35 does not necessary confirm can clear BBK. even 19" may not clear BBK. just remember like WRX STi GDB Brembo gold 4/2 pots just need 17" rims minimum by right, but if you go to Rays websites, some wheels would need 19" to clear. e.g. Gram Lights AZURE ANA, only 19" 8j can clear http://www.rayswheels.co.jp/products/wheel.php?wheel=57ANA&lang=en while another Gram Lights 57FXX can clear for 18" http://www.rayswheels.co.jp/products/wheel.php?wheel=57FXX-CJ&lang=en really depends on wheel design. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Epsilon 2nd Gear May 28, 2018 Share May 28, 2018 depends on what you want bah. that price should get you many good cast racing rims from other brands that allow you to flush the wheel to body and/or wider width if that's the look/performance you likeAny idea for Forester what offset and width to make the wheels flush to body? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
titaniclexus 3rd Gear May 28, 2018 Share May 28, 2018 (edited) depends on what you want bah. that price should get you many good cast racing rims from other brands that allow you to flush the wheel to body and/or wider width if that's the look/performance you likeThanks bro, I have very limited knowledge in rims and brand, don’t understand what offset as well? Haha... just look for nice only. Previously my ride came with the good rims by ex-owner, i was told by my brother when changing tyres... don’t even notice or aware of... lolzz Edited May 28, 2018 by titaniclexus Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
titaniclexus 3rd Gear May 28, 2018 Share May 28, 2018 Received my cusco front strut tower bar delivered to my office address this early morning, after that go out to install at workshop during lunch again Meanwhile, also replaced my stock horn with hella snail horn together, actually i want to change the horn for quite long but lazy to drop by only for horn change.. After installed, my review on this cusco tower bar is more or less same as other bros, improved handling, steering feel more lighter, more stable for corner, so u will feel abit more confident than before .... Stiffen front chassis or not, I am not too sure cos i got the ARB installed before this, can't really feel it, but it is more obvious when you go over hump, it will less bouncy on the front now.... I feel is a good upgrade and match for rear ARB and front Strut bar. Not diff to install, but i have limited tools at home, so better let workshop to install, see the picture, so dusty engine..... lolzz Second purchased from japanparts.com, good service and fast delivery by EMS. Best thing is japanparts.com till now still not debited my credit card.... On the way back home, test and feel again the steering before and after install the strut bar.... I have to revised my earlier feel/review, what I really feel neither lighter or heavier on steering than before, it is more “firm” feel and stable on steering after installed! 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sarion 4th Gear May 28, 2018 Share May 28, 2018 Any idea for Forester what offset and width to make the wheels flush to body? like i mentioned before, my Leggy used to have offset +41/42 (i think so, can't remember exact) 17" VR rim that was flushed. +38 would protrude if my memory is correct. since your SJ Forester still on offset +48 18x7, i would stay would still be around +41 to +43 for flushed look. do remember you will tend to hit carpark ramp curb more with the more protruding wheels haha... that's what happened to my poor chrome lip VRs.... became better when i went to Prodrive with larger offset. wheel shop like LeongSeng should be able to advise most correctly. no obligations to go there and ask anyway since you are potential customer... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roadie 1st Gear May 28, 2018 Share May 28, 2018 (edited) Have booked Forester NA Sports model today. Expecting delivery in August. Paid extra 3K for sports package which includes XT sports kit and suede leather seats. Audio system and rims will think of upgrade in 2 years after finishing the loan. https://ibb.co/jnZB0y Edited May 28, 2018 by Roadie 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
richard_crl032 6th Gear May 28, 2018 Share May 28, 2018 Have booked Forester NA Sports model today. Expecting delivery in August. Paid extra 3K for sports package which includes XT sports kit and suede leather seats. Audio system and rims will think of upgrade in 2 years after finishing the loan. https://ibb.co/jnZB0y Hey Roadie, Congras !! Great buy with th 3k sports package !! Cheers. Richard Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Epsilon 2nd Gear May 29, 2018 Share May 29, 2018 (edited) like i mentioned before, my Leggy used to have offset +41/42 (i think so, can't remember exact) 17" VR rim that was flushed. +38 would protrude if my memory is correct. since your SJ Forester still on offset +48 18x7, i would stay would still be around +41 to +43 for flushed look. do remember you will tend to hit carpark ramp curb more with the more protruding wheels haha... that's what happened to my poor chrome lip VRs.... became better when i went to Prodrive with larger offset. wheel shop like LeongSeng should be able to advise most correctly. no obligations to go there and ask anyway since you are potential customer... Thanks for the explanation Sarion. Will check out LeongSeng when back in singapore. Currently I got offer for Enkei GTC01 at about $600 from a legacy GT but need to replace all 4 tyres as they are 225/40/18. Edited May 29, 2018 by Epsilon 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
richard_crl032 6th Gear May 29, 2018 Share May 29, 2018 (edited) Hi All, For any bro planning to get the IAG AOS, please avoid this ebay seller .. there is another ebay seller to select. Cheers. Richard Hi bros, Finally received the IAG AOS and can looks top quality but strange that only cable ties are used with exception of coolant hoses with clamps. Will be getting bro Orix's lobang on Orbit 316 clamps to replace them and the peovided cable ties for actual installation hopefully this weekend at BKS .. still waiting for IAG to advise if coolant piping needes for hot Singapore but will either call them later this week or just install it since only logical to do so. Cheers. Richard Edited May 29, 2018 by richard_crl032 ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...