Count-Bracula Twincharged June 23, 2015 Share June 23, 2015 If it was me, I will request a seat in the cockpit. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic June 23, 2015 Share June 23, 2015 You mean it is not SIA's fault but the customer's fault for being last to check in? As I had explained. Lets take it at another angle. A wedding dinner. Invited 100 friends over for a dinner and have to take into consideration of 10% will not be able to turn up. But on the day of the dinner, all turns up and some brought partners which they decided last minutes to bring them along and one have no choice but to open up reserve tables. In Buisness Class, there are only about 15 ~ 30 seats (depending on plane size) and so it happen that all turns up, some will be offered a connecting flight or take a downgraded seat (with refund) if timing is a main concern. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic June 23, 2015 Share June 23, 2015 can someone explain how can an airline oversell its seats? If it can happen to a biz class seat, am i right to say it also can happen to economy seat? Then what will happen to the economy passenger? Sit in the cargo hold or wait for next flight? something not wrong leh..... Nowadays, airlines want you to commit by chosing a seat number when doing an internet booking. With the seat number confirmed, it will be yours when you do the check-in cos you booked it through internet. (thats why internet booking, one can see the whole row of seats available for your pick.. if it is taken, it will be indicated 'taken') Its only those who book the flight but not seat number need to worries when doing the check-in. So this peoples will have to be at the airport 2 hrs early. I always make my booking with confirm seat number whenever I go oversea. Save me the trouble of been allocated a seat away from each other (family travel). If alone travelling, no such hussle. Only wish is allocated a seat beside a beautiful . 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Celicar Turbocharged June 23, 2015 Share June 23, 2015 According to a report in New Indian Express, the businessman, Mr GVK Reddy, had flown on flight SQ528 from Singapore to Chennai on Apr 19, 2011. However, he was told at the check-in counter that his business-class seat had been downgraded to economy class. As compensation, the airline gave him a S$600 voucher – the difference in the classes’ ticket price. Mr. GReddy must live up to his name. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mkl22 Supersonic June 23, 2015 Share June 23, 2015 I once kena overbooked flight from San Fran back to SG (via HK) in economy ... so at the airport they offered me a "package" to delay my flight 1 day ... "package" includes upgrade to bz class (from SF to HK), USD400 cash, free stay in crown price, dining vouchers, airport transfer ... i agreed and signed on the acceptanace papers right away Understand these airlines have a flight planner dept for all these seats arrangements ... usually it's human cock up then will have over booked flight i think ... was this on SQ? i think not. never knew them to be so generous. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Little_prince Supersonic June 23, 2015 Share June 23, 2015 as a paying customer with a confirmed ticket. why should i wait a few hours just because the airline made a mistake? and timing is critical esp for business meetings. not everyone has the luxury to reschedule a business meeting. time is money. There are a lot of connecting flights coming down from Europe by SIA and transit over there. If he can just wait for a few hours and I'm sure SIA will put him on the same business class seat on the next flight available. We did not hear the complete story of their disputes and only the court hearing from the complainant. There was possibility that he did not accept other flights schedule offer by SIA and insist on taking that flight. So SIA offer economy seat with refund. Knowing some of this 'rich' towkays alway make one cent like a bullock cart wheel and want everything going their way. There are also plenty humble 'towkays' who don't mind a minor inconvenient. Had been travelling with SIA and knowing their Business & 1st class service, they won't antagonise a Business or 1st class passengers who are travelling with them. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mcf777 Turbocharged June 23, 2015 Share June 23, 2015 Nowadays, airlines want you to commit by chosing a seat number when doing an internet booking. With the seat number confirmed, it will be yours when you do the check-in cos you booked it through internet. (thats why internet booking, one can see the whole row of seats available for your pick.. if it is taken, it will be indicated 'taken') Its only those who book the flight but not seat number need to worries when doing the check-in. So this peoples will have to be at the airport 2 hrs early. I always make my booking with confirm seat number whenever I go oversea. Save me the trouble of been allocated a seat away from each other (family travel). If alone travelling, no such hussle. Only wish is allocated a seat beside a beautiful . Bro, If you are referring to SQ flights, then i don't quite agree. Below are the several points that I had experienced. A) SQ system are "colour-minded". If you are a GOLD colour pax, you will get to see more available onboard seats compare to a non-colour pax. B) Some flights (onboard) seats are not open so early. Sometime 4-5 days before departure. C) Booking thru travel agent and booking thru SQ online system gets to see different types of onboard seats. D) The category of the Booking class (lowest vs higher category) also play a part to view the onboard seats 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic June 23, 2015 Share June 23, 2015 As I had explained. Lets take it at another angle. A wedding dinner. Invited 100 friends over for a dinner and have to take into consideration of 10% will not be able to turn up. But on the day of the dinner, all turns up and some brought partners which they decided last minutes to bring them along and one have no choice but to open up reserve tables. In Buisness Class, there are only about 15 ~ 30 seats (depending on plane size) and so it happen that all turns up, some will be offered a connecting flight or take a downgraded seat (with refund) if timing is a main concern. I haven't been to a wedding dinner where my seat was not confirmed after I RSVPed. I think most people would rather have empty seats than not enough seats. For SIA, this is purely a business decision where they decided that $$$$ is more important than customer satisfaction. Their proposed compensation of a refund of the difference is price is a slap in the face to the customer (even if their T&C allows for it). Of course, 100k compensation is also ridiculous.... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roger1223 1st Gear June 23, 2015 Share June 23, 2015 was this on SQ? i think not. never knew them to be so generous. Nope! via HK, that was on Cathay ... SQ if you are their PPS or KF elite then got chance for such lobangs ... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
oleandero 5th Gear June 23, 2015 Share June 23, 2015 mmmm.. is the whole plane full except ec? or just business class full? how come SQ didnt just upgrade him to first class? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
vquah888 1st Gear June 23, 2015 Share June 23, 2015 Wah Lau eh .... This called DBC lah .... Every airline practise this ... Like hotel room airlines have to oversell its seats ... Just that SQ used to be very careful with their First & Business seats ... Unlike their Caucasians competitors who are very garang haha ... There is a controller at airport who monitors these oversold situations ... In this case the controller guessed wrongly the passenger won't show up haha ... They should just give him a First class seat problem solved haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GongJiaoWei 3rd Gear July 16, 2015 Share July 16, 2015 Singapore Airlines gives staff S$500 SG50 bonusThe one-off payment will only be given to Singapore-based SIA employees below the rank of senior vice-president.SINGAPORE: To celebrate Singapore's Golden Jubilee year, flagship carrier Singapore Airlines on Wednesday (Jul 15) announced to its staff that it will be giving them a special one-off payment of S$500.The bonus, meant to express appreciation to staff and unions, will only be given to Singapore-based SIA employees below the rank of senior vice-president, and payment will be made in the August payroll. About 18,500 staff are eligible.Other companies that have announced SG50 bonuses include DBS Bank and transport operator SMRT. DBS is giving employees below the rank of vice-president S$1,000 while SMRT will hand out S$500 worth of shopping vouchers for all its employees. NTUC FairPrice is giving employees vouchers of up to S$200 as well.The Government has also said all civil servants will get a S$500 SG50 bonus, to mark Singapore's 50th year of independence. -------------- I hope my boss is MCF member or a silent reader at least... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic July 16, 2015 Share July 16, 2015 Singapore Airlines gives staff S$500 SG50 bonus The one-off payment will only be given to Singapore-based SIA employees below the rank of senior vice-president. SINGAPORE: To celebrate Singapore's Golden Jubilee year, flagship carrier Singapore Airlines on Wednesday (Jul 15) announced to its staff that it will be giving them a special one-off payment of S$500. The bonus, meant to express appreciation to staff and unions, will only be given to Singapore-based SIA employees below the rank of senior vice-president, and payment will be made in the August payroll. About 18,500 staff are eligible. Other companies that have announced SG50 bonuses include DBS Bank and transport operator SMRT. DBS is giving employees below the rank of vice-president S$1,000 while SMRT will hand out S$500 worth of shopping vouchers for all its employees. NTUC FairPrice is giving employees vouchers of up to S$200 as well. The Government has also said all civil servants will get a S$500 SG50 bonus, to mark Singapore's 50th year of independence. -------------- I hope my boss is MCF member or a silent reader at least... sorry couldn't help it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
GongJiaoWei 3rd Gear July 16, 2015 Share July 16, 2015 sorry couldn't help it ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...