2015 Dec, 2nd COE Bidding Exercise

yo2020

the fact is, go n google and look for the average Singaporean increament from 2006 to 2015 announced by Gov... dont be so lazy please.... and I can tell u its between 3%~5%. not the so call 9.6% u claimed...

I say this one more time;

The average increment for all Singaporeans is not the average increment for Singaporeans earning 2k.

Lets say I have 100 numbers with an average of 50. Can I pick 25 numbers from this group and say for sure that the average of those 25 numbers its 50?

So,which new car you buying?

The average increment for all Singaporeans is not the average increment for Singaporeans earning 2k.

Lets say I have 100 numbers with an average of 50. Can I pick 25 numbers from this group and say for sure that the average of those 25 numbers its 50?

[shakehead] [shakehead] [shakehead]

I think you are simply saying there are liars, worse liars and statisticians

People can get statistics to say whatever they want. Higher income earners like bosses may be getting. 10% increment while low income earners about 2% and average to 3-4%

Or reverse is true. Low income earners get increment of 10% while high income earners about 2% but for low income earners, 10% is 200 dollars while 2% for high income earners can be 20000 dollars.

Nursing is different. Increment is about 3-5% but we are constantly upgrading so with more certificates comes more allowances. It also helps that the govt is starting to give more money to nurses so sometimes absolute annual increment might not tell the whole story. Cos we get retention bonuses, certificate allowances and so on. Of course with great money come greater workload.

OK I deviate. Back to topic.

Anyway I hope coe will plummet. Last time people say the 50 dollars coe was a one off, never to happen.It did. So who knows? I Remembered praying let coe drop to 2 dollars, I get my car And it can rise to 100k for all I care. It did happen and I got my car.

Hehe

Edited by Philipkee

[shakehead] [shakehead] [shakehead]

Fine. I see that I cannot convince you of the simple mathematical fact on averages so I give up.

However, I sincerely hope for your sake that you are just being difficult in this forum and that the above does not stem from a real lack of understanding of basic maths.

Yep. Seems like you still a long way to go....

This is so vague. Don't understand what you mean.

Seems like one of those noises people make to sound like they know something. 

This is so vague. Don't understand what you mean.

Seems like one of those noises people make to sound like they know something.

Everything to you is vague, so clear still cant understand.

You are one of those on school holidays eh?

haha... i dont gamble de.. strike toto only 1 person strike out of so many people buy.. wait for coe drop is different thing from striking toto.. there are people i know of, eventho can afford a car now, but are not willing to fork out 50k for coe paper... very expensive if say 50k..lol.. they are willing to wait for coe droo further before entering the market... just like me, would rather wait it out.. haha..

basically, everyone pays for the coe at the price they are okay/comfortable with. for me comfortable level is max 20k for coe paper..lol..since dont have, then keep money inside bank first while waiting for it drop to the level i am comfortable with lor... no drop = no buy lor...

i knew a few of my friends are buying car with their minimum income. Some even need to work part time taxi driver to pay the loan. I think not eveyone who buy cars now are truely well to do. Best for the government to keep the current loan scheme.

Everything to you is vague, so clear still cant understand.

You are one of those on school holidays eh?

Hey Bro,

I remember you. You are the one that post the "wisdom" about "Paper gain must monetize else its as good as nothing"

Sounded to me like another one of those noises that people make to look like they know something.

You and that forte character seem to have a preference for such noises. You guys not form the same school by any chance?

I already mentioned that I'm a slow learner. Since everything so clear to you, care to elaborate more on these on liners.

But if you ask me, save the effort bro and stop making noises here. You add more value taking pictures of your rolexes and posting them in the watches thread. At least this way, we get to see nice watches.

:XD:  :XD:  :XD:  :XD:

He's baiting you with 'cannot afford say cannot afford'.

If this is the case, he don't need to bait me liao.

I already admit that I cannot afford to buy car but I can afford to buy keyboard and computer to type here.

Maybe my bank account don't have as many digits as him but I think my keyboard can produce more words. :-)

@edwin15, if you buy a stock at $1. It is now trading at $5. If you don't sell it. That paper gain really is nothing.

Likewise for house. The house you stay in, is hardly an asset. Only the second house you own that is producing cash flow or giving you the option to profit from its sale is a true asset.

Hey Bro,

I remember you. You are the one that post the "wisdom" about "Paper gain must monetize else its as good as nothing"

Sounded to me like another one of those noises that people make to look like they know something.

You and that forte character seem to have a preference for such noises. You guys not form the same school by any chance?

I already mentioned that I'm a slow learner. Since everything so clear to you, care to elaborate more on these on liners.

But if you ask me, save the effort bro and stop making noises here. You add more value taking pictures of your rolexes and posting them in the watches thread. At least this way, we get to see nice watches.

:XD::XD::XD::XD:

-)

People type one two lines, you type whole paragraphs.

Yet you say people make noise?

Now i am making noise

Loud laughing noise

Muayhahahahahahahahaha

@edwin15, if you buy a stock at $1. It is now trading at $5. If you don't sell it. That paper gain really is nothing.

Likewise for house. The house you stay in, is hardly an asset. Only the second house you own that is producing cash flow or giving you the option to profit from its sale is a true asset.

I agree that the statement is true. But it is like saying that to make money you need to buy low sell high. Stating the obvious and useless.

However my point is that with a $5 paper gain, I always have the option of cashing it in. so it is a real gain.

As for house, If you are aggressive enough, you can sell, rent and wait for prices to drop before buying back.

My point is that a statement that says you need to realise gain to get a gain is really a useless statement.

People type one two lines, you type whole paragraphs.

Yet you say people make noise?

Now i am making noise

Loud laughing noise

Muayhahahahahahahahaha

Not only now bro. You started years ago and never stopped.

And Its not my fault that you do not know how to type in paragraphs.

I'm very certain I did not have anything to do with your education for you to turn out this way.

I agree that the statement is true. But it is like saying that to make money you need to buy low sell high. Stating the obvious and useless.

However my point is that with a $5 paper gain, I always have the option of cashing it in. so it is a real gain.

As for house, If you are aggressive enough, you can sell, rent and wait for prices to drop before buying back.

My point is that a statement that says you need to realise gain to get a gain is really a useless statement.

Not only now bro. You started years ago and never stopped.

You say You have the Option of cashing it in. But unless you choose to cash in, it is not realized and that gain is meaningless.

Having the option and not acting on it is as good as not having it.

Sorry.. Your logic of :My point is that a statement that says you need to realise gain to get a gain is really a useless statement

So u can don't realize something to gain something? Tell me where and how that works?

OK here are my two cents.

Paper gains feel better than paper losses whether any transactions take place.

That's true for stocks, property, cars, watches, whatever.

I am holding a paper loss for a stock till its value became 1/10000 (agar agar only) of its original price bought. I took it as totally lost - even the transaction to sell it costs more than the current price the market is willing to pay.

For cars, people who bought in the last two years probably can't sell without huge losses, but still they would feel better if the COE goes to 90K than if it goes to 30K. 

Other assets are also the same.

But whether one can make use of the paper gain, that is a separate matter. I also know someone who really sold his only family car (bought in 2008) and spends 4 hours travelling everyday waiting for COE to drop to re-enter. For him, the "gain" is real. But whether COE will shock or shiok him later is something that is to be seen. I also want to see how patient he can be.

You say You have the Option of cashing it in. But unless you choose to cash in, it is not realized and that gain is meaningless.

Having the option and not acting on it is as good as not having it.

Sorry.. Your logic of :My point is that a statement that says you need to realise gain to get a gain is really a useless statement

So u can don't realize something to gain something? Tell me where and how that works?

Let me give you an example where an option is worth real money.

DBS bank shares now trade around 16.60 to 16.70. If you go to a bank and tell them you want to buy an option to buy DBS shares at 17, the bank will charge you for it. Vice versa, you can sell that option to the bank and get money.

So similarly, if I buy a share at $1 and that share price goes to $5. I have the option to sell the share at $5 to cash in now or wait for a higher price. This option to sell the share at $5 is worth real money and can be sold for a real gain.