2015 Dec, 2nd COE Bidding Exercise

yo2020

Let me give you an example where an option is worth real money.

DBS bank shares now trade around 16.60 to 16.70. If you go to a bank and tell them you want to buy an option to buy DBS shares at 17, the bank will charge you for it. Vice versa, you can sell that option to the bank and get money.

So similarly, if I buy a share at $1 and that share price goes to $5. I have the option to sell the share at $5 to cash in now or wait for a higher price. This option to sell the share at $5 is worth real money and can be sold for a real gain.

Muayhahahahahahahahahahahahaha

You missed the point again and then suddenly you want to give us a lesson in options trading.

You think you sell option is get free money ah?

If kena exercise, still have to give up something leh.

Muayhahahahahahahahahaah

That is monetising the value lor.......

Muayhahahahahahahaha

Wah lan, plse dont make me laugh my dinner out.

Want to teach us, derivatives trading somemore....

Muayhahahahahaha

Edited by Throttle2

But showing that there is value in an option is not the point I want to make.

The point I want to make is that such a statement;

"Gains must be monetized else its as good as nothing" is a true but useless statement.

Its is similar to statements like:

"To get rich, you need to buy low sell high."

"100 mio in the bank is as good as nothing if you do not spend it." 

What I object to is people stating the obvious as if it was some gem of wisdom.

You too ally missed the point again and then suddenly you want to give us a lesson in options trading.

Muayhahahahahahahahahaah

Muayhahahahahahahaha

Muayhahahahahaha

exactly!

seriously, someone just doesn't get it...

and worse, he shoots himself in his own foot. 

Edited by Chrispie

You too ally missed the point again and then suddenly you want to give us a lesson in options trading.

Muayhahahahahahahahahaah

Muayhahahahahahahaha

Muayhahahahahaha

Cannot lah you. I don't think I can teach you anything. Too noisy.

And even if I wanted, I do not know how to trade derivatives.

For you, only one advice. Buy low sell high.

I agree that the statement is true. But it is like saying that to make money you need to buy low sell high. Stating the obvious and useless.

Not only now bro. You started years ago and never stopped.

And Its not my fault that you do not know how to type in paragraphs.

I'm very certain I did not have anything to do with your education for you to turn out this way.

Pwui lah.

To make money have to buy low sell high? Wake up kid. I never ever said that.

Thank goodness you had nothing to do with my education.

Muayhahahahahahaha

Ok ok, enough trolling liao.

Over and out, "bro"...

Muayhahahahaha

Ps. Buy high also can make money. The key is to sell higher, champion..... Muayhahahah

Edited by Throttle2

Pwui lah.

To make money have to buy low sell high? Wake up kid.

Thank goodness you had nothing to do with my education.

Muayhahahahahahaha

Ok ok, enough trolling liao.

Over and out, "bro"...

Muayhahahahaha

You mean if I buy low sell high, I cannot make money? Explain lei. This I want to hear.

Or are you making more noise again?

exactly!

seriously, someone just doesn't get it...

and worse, he shoots himself in his own foot.

Ultimate troll lor.

doesnt understand concepts, words and then goes round and round trying to prove others wrong.

And like you say, continues to repeatedly shoot himself in the foot, wHahahaha.

Still school hols now so gotta accept it.

Heeeee heeee.

Edited by Throttle2

Perhaps it's time to start a thread for first bidding of 2017 and put this childish bickering to bed for the year? 

Anyway - I hope that the COE continues to trend down - I am actively shopping for a used car now, but the prices are atrocious.  Almost everything is more than 10k annual depreciation

And on a related note - 

What is the strongest argument you can produce for why it is good to keep a low km, well maintained car rather than to buy a new one. 

Many people say with high COE it's not "worth it" - which is not an argument I buy into - but would like a sound financial analysis for dummies to prove the point

Perhaps it's time to start a thread for first bidding of 2017 and put this childish bickering to bed for the year?

Anyway - I hope that the COE continues to trend down - I am actively shopping for a used car now, but the prices are atrocious. Almost everything is more than 10k annual depreciation

And on a related note -

What is the strongest argument you can produce for why it is good to keep a low km, well maintained car rather than to buy a new one.

Many people say with high COE it's not "worth it" - which is not an argument I buy into - but would like a sound financial analysis for dummies to prove the point

Agreed.

Its the same two things that makes the difference when considering "value"

Own use or resale.

Sometimes "sound" financial analysis is just that.

As humans, we often make more than (or much less than) a sound financial decision

Well maintained low mileage car which you know inside out and does its job well, holds some sentimental value, it makes every sense to renew coe and drive another ten years (why not, i did).

But if you are afraid that, it may break down, road tax higher, it looks outdated, you may get bored, difficult to sell, cannot hold value, people may see you down etc etc etc, then the whole basis of consideration changes.

As with high COE,......

For every second you own and drive the same exact car, why would you want to have more money tied up in the form of a higher COE as opposed to a much lower one?

Ultimate troll lor.

doesnt understand concepts, words and then goes round and round trying to prove others wrong.

And like you say, continues to repeatedly shoot himself in the foot, wHahahaha.

Still school hols now so gotta accept it.

Heeeee heeee.

Can you tell me what I'm trying to prove you wrong? I already said that you statements true just that they are useless and just a bunch of noise.

"Wrong" and "Useless" are 2 distinct words or did you never learn them.

Fine. I see that I cannot convince you of the simple mathematical fact on averages so I give up.

However, I sincerely hope for your sake that you are just being difficult in this forum and that the above does not stem from a real lack of understanding of basic maths.

[hur] [hur] [hur]

@edwin15, if you buy a stock at $1. It is now trading at $5. If you don't sell it. That paper gain really is nothing.

Likewise for house. The house you stay in, is hardly an asset. Only the second house you own that is producing cash flow or giving you the option to profit from its sale is a true asset.

Bro... No point explaining so much... school holiday is going to be over soon... no point arguing with kids...

Edited by Tigershark1976

I am a member since Oct 2003 and I only posted 64 times (including this).

Edwin is a member since Aug 2015 and he has posted more than me.

I feel so ashamed of myself.

I am a member since Oct 2003 and I only posted 64 times (including this).

Edwin is a member since Aug 2015 and he has posted more than me.

I feel so ashamed of myself.

some ppl jz love to talk (post), while some r good listeners (readers)... nothing wrong. [;)]

Who needs COE, when all you need is $1K to get your personal set of wheels to 'drive" on the road for a lifetime with no COE expiry date. No worries about sky rocketing petrol prices and petrol excise duties too. [thumbsup]

http://www.straitstimes.com/singapore/transport/man-seen-riding-4-wheel-electric-scooter-on-busy-jalan-bukit-merah

No thanks man. I value my life.