2016 Recession Year? Gloom and doom 2017!

Scion

no.2 doesn't help if the company no $ also right.

MNC retrench you, maybe can get retrenchment benefit.

SME pay you and your cpf on time already arm chio liao. If really need to retrench, got your last month salary considered good liao [laugh]

Anyway think all the countries with tough labour laws are in Europe.

Everywhere else is weak or have militant unions like south korea. Unions aren't that strong in the USA also.

Than better remove item 1 and 2 altogether and let companies decide whether they can or are willing to pay. We can rely on the tripartite arrangement to protect workers, the executives are on their own. hahaha...

As they like to say "this ish guideline. It's a guideline, not law"  [:p]

Brexit ... mai spread fear mai spread fear ... [sweatdrop]

pound dropped yest on this news.

Maybe cheaper to go holiday!

But sian all the EU BPL players contracts dunno how liao 

guidelines are there to provide escape route ...

As they like to say "this ish guideline. It's a guideline, not law"  [:p]

pound dropped yest on this news.

what the govt did to assist the companies to tide thru the last down turn was pretty successful. so far for now, i haven't see any news

of the same scheme used for this coming (if any) bad time yet. so i think the govt is still hopeful that our econ would not be facing the stormy weather.

one of the scheme i think was helpful is sending the workers for full-time training and the govt will pay for XX% of the worker's salary

so just the workers can keep the job, continue to be paid, can support family and the company can lesser the salary payout. all parties

win. govt also wins. 

i remember the govt announced the figure they spent and number of local employees they saved for the scheme after the storm.

In the scheme of things, we aren't that attractive lah. 

That's why we keep trying to bring SEA together into hopes of being a more integrated market. So that MNCs will set up base here to do their business here. 

It helps that 

a) JKT has massive traffic jams and slow bureaucracy and flooding (we only have PONDING!)

b) BKK has political instbaility

c) KL has 1MDB  [laugh]

d) Manilla now has Duterte  [:p]

my father was hoping to get retrenched but no luck  [laugh]

KL has too many street robberies.  [:p]

Investors cry foul over builder's crowdfunding

A construction firm that claimed it was launching a crowdfunding effort has apparently not paid some of the investors the promised returns.

At least three investors have reported putting in between $50,000 and $100,000 each in the investment scheme, purportedly to help Soilwood finance projects.

Case said investment matters do not come under its purview.

Mr Seah said: "In general, investors ought to be very careful and check on the legitimacy of such investment schemes and the relevant laws involved to seek redress, rather than just focusing on the potential returns."

http://www.straitstimes.com/business/investors-cry-foul-over-builders-crowdfunding

Edited by Blueray

Okay, thanks. I thought I kept reading news government like have a lot of measures in place, like recently said employers have to show they had to exhaust all their means on every way possible before they are allowed to retrench people.

I take back my words. So weird.

You may have to realize one day that the papers here are equivalent to newsletters. There is no room for critical thinking and any opinion deemed to be against the party line will be quashed. Just like how the MODs here remove threads when they buay song  [lipsrsealed]

The last bit was just a joke  :a-fun:

Speaking as someone who works at a sme. I feel that local sme will probably not retrench unless the business is losing serious money.

Its hard to hire staff for sme. Unless the worker is so crap... It's really a super last resort for sme. Unlike mnc where headcount is just a number

recession makan has to Q for 45mins

if no recession at least must wait 2hrs?

RWS staff can look for job at DTF [thumbsup]

post-7984-0-27731400-1465623109_thumb.jpeg

I am not saying they cannot retrench, if the business fails, more people will lose their jobs but your earlier post is very pro business (I may have misunderstood you as this is a forum and it can be hard to articulate your full position). But I think there should be laws to protect workers as well.

ah heng will say ... Heng ah , i no more union head .  :D

Speaking as someone who works at a sme. I feel that local sme will probably not retrench unless the business is losing serious money.

Its hard to hire staff for sme. Unless the worker is so crap... It's really a super last resort for sme. Unlike mnc where headcount is just a number

you work for SME ? I thought U doctor ? 

Brexit ... mai spread fear mai spread fear ... [sweatdrop]

That will put euro into crisis .... UK will not be immune . The good point : maybe can get watches cheaper in euro hahhaha 

guidelines are there to provide escape route ...

Got guidelines like no guideline so that tripartite can work.

You may have to realize one day that the papers here are equivalent to newsletters. There is no room for critical thinking and any opinion deemed to be against the party line will be quashed. Just like how the MODs here remove threads when they buay song [lipsrsealed]

The last bit was just a joke :a-fun:

Lol....

Most of my office foreign employees earns in excess of $150k pa. Do not need to be advertise in job bank. So how can foreign employees be incurring lower cost?

The report should specifically state foreign labour on exit permit.

So we now can confirm most companies just want cheap workers. Not people that helps add value to the organisation.

Edited by Atonchia

in business, botomline is everything

unless you are in the C-group where your talent is upmost critical

all operation and middle management staff ... salary consideration is highest priority.

i believe in HR there is a salary chart/structure ... FT sure wins

http://africa.chinadaily.com.cn/business/2016-06/03/content_25603917.htm

"CHONGQING - US semiconductor manufacturer Globalfoundries said this week that it had entered into a chip-making partnership with the government of Chongqing in southwest China.

The joint venture will utilize systems and processes used in Globalfoundries' Singapore plant to produce 300 mm chips. Production will kick off next year"

Looks like the semiconductor industry here might be shifted to a location of lower cost very soon.

All these years, we have been training engineers for them.

Comment from anyone in this industry?

you work for SME ? I thought U doctor ? 

SME = small medical establishment.  [thumbsup]