Neost 6th Gear January 17, 2017 Share January 17, 2017 Actually now ITE standard also quite good. If do well in ITE can go into Poly then followed by university. Just that the path is longer. My friend's hb was from ITE aerospace engineering last time. He graduated and worked his way up to aerospace engineer now, earning alot of $. I think along the way, he did some courses to upgrade himself. If he is a Licenced Aircraft Engineer (LAE), then easily 5-figure a month. And you don't need a degree to be an LAE. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dleodleo Twincharged January 17, 2017 Share January 17, 2017 (edited) If he is a Licenced Aircraft Engineer (LAE), then easily 5-figure a month. And you don't need a degree to be an LAE. Ya, he's doing quite well and is with Silkair now hehehe. at least got someone understand the terms. [:p] Edited January 17, 2017 by Dleodleo Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic January 17, 2017 Share January 17, 2017 I think we are in the same era. Yes, our time was VI and STI. My time was VITB. And there is direct entry from Pri8 to VITB. Totally skip secondary school. My nanny's daughter was one of them on this route. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic January 17, 2017 Share January 17, 2017 My time was VITB. And there is direct entry from Pri8 to VITB. Totally skip secondary school. My nanny's daughter was one of them on this route. Pri 8 was like a very short period only right? I think my time also got Pri 8 but not very clear abt it, some of my mates retake PSLE I think. Mayb some went to sec sch? I remember I had some classmates 2 yrs older than us in sec sch, but most didnt do well also. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic January 17, 2017 Share January 17, 2017 Ya, he's doing quite well and is with Silkair now [:p] found another of the same frequency one. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic January 17, 2017 Share January 17, 2017 Pri 8 was like a very short period only right? I think my time also got Pri 8 but not very clear abt it, some of my mates retake PSLE I think. Mayb some went to sec sch? I remember I had some classmates 2 yrs older than us in sec sch, but most didnt do well also. I dont know leh. I graduate in 1988 from PSLE. That time still got Pri8. Later on they scrapped it and pushed everyone to secondary school as Normal(Technical). No more direct from Primary school to VITB, bypassing secondary school. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic January 17, 2017 Share January 17, 2017 I dont know leh. I graduate in 1988 from PSLE. That time still got Pri8. Later on they scrapped it and pushed everyone to secondary school as Normal(Technical). No more direct from Primary school to VITB, bypassing secondary school. so that explains why those I mentioned all from normal steam. But I did PSLE earlier than you leh, and I have a very blur image of this P8 thingy. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic January 17, 2017 Share January 17, 2017 so that explains why those I mentioned all from normal steam. But I did PSLE earlier than you leh, and I have a very blur image of this P8 thingy. Ro,our times do have this P8, much more practical than theory. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic January 17, 2017 Share January 17, 2017 Ro,our times do have this P8, much more practical than theory. From what I recall, those Pri8 students study the same stuff as Pri6 students. No extra subjects. Its their last chance at PSLE. If fail, direct to VITB. If they pass, can go on to secondary school, depends on their score, either express or normal stream. My nanny's daughter was two years older than me. Initially, I was her junior in the same school. Then she kept repeating, Pri7 - Pri8, until we were taking PSLE together. After that we went our separated ways. She went on to VITB and I went on to secondary school. So this Pri8 thing was pretty vivid in my mind. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dleodleo Twincharged January 18, 2017 Share January 18, 2017 (edited) My time was VITB. And there is direct entry from Pri8 to VITB. Totally skip secondary school. My nanny's daughter was one of them on this route. I think my time also have if I am not wrong. I remember that's VITB and also many of my classmates in secondary 1 were either one or 2 years older than me which I believe that they were repeated students in primary school. Primary 8 is it monolingul or something like that? I remember I heard "monolingul" or something like that in Primary school but I am not sure what is that. I only know that if you don't do well or from D class you will end up in monolingul. Edited January 18, 2017 by Dleodleo 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic January 18, 2017 Share January 18, 2017 I think my time also have if I am not wrong. I remember that's VITB and also many of my classmates in secondary 1 were either one or 2 years older than me which I believe that they were repeated students in primary school. Primary 8 is it monolingul or something like that? I remember I heard "monolingul" or something like that in Primary school but I am not sure what is that. I only know that if you don't do well or from D class you will end up in monolingul. If I remember correctly, monolingual is for students who are weak in their mother tongue to have it as non-examination subject throughout their primary school after streaming in Pri3. I was one such student that nearly kena and my mother panicked. Monolingual students got zero chance to go to secondary school. They will finish Pri7 and straight to VITB. In my school, Balestier Hill West Primary School which no longer exist, I was in 1B -> 2B -> 3C -> 4D -> 5B -> 6C. A to D classes were normal classes. E classes were those monolingual classes, most students with SS background or farmer's background. Had quite a few frens then there in that class who were like that. Cos I had after school care in school, while these E classes student kena detention, stay back after school. So normally only one teacher stay back and they mix all of us so got to know them well. So you can see my result in Pri3 was jialat during streaming. Pri4 was a wake up call and chiong all the way back to B class and then drop to C class in the last year of Primary school. From what I know, there is only 4E, 5E, 6E and 7E classes only. They still take PSLE but regardless of result, straight to VITB. Pri8 is different, they still take PSLE and all studies the same. Just that they kept failing PSLE. But they got chance to go secondary school if the do well. That is what I know during my primary school days. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Dleodleo Twincharged January 19, 2017 Share January 19, 2017 If I remember correctly, monolingual is for students who are weak in their mother tongue to have it as non-examination subject throughout their primary school after streaming in Pri3. I was one such student that nearly kena and my mother panicked. Monolingual students got zero chance to go to secondary school. They will finish Pri7 and straight to VITB. In my school, Balestier Hill West Primary School which no longer exist, I was in 1B -> 2B -> 3C -> 4D -> 5B -> 6C. A to D classes were normal classes. E classes were those monolingual classes, most students with SS background or farmer's background. Had quite a few frens then there in that class who were like that. Cos I had after school care in school, while these E classes student kena detention, stay back after school. So normally only one teacher stay back and they mix all of us so got to know them well. So you can see my result in Pri3 was jialat during streaming. Pri4 was a wake up call and chiong all the way back to B class and then drop to C class in the last year of Primary school. From what I know, there is only 4E, 5E, 6E and 7E classes only. They still take PSLE but regardless of result, straight to VITB. Pri8 is different, they still take PSLE and all studies the same. Just that they kept failing PSLE. But they got chance to go secondary school if the do well. That is what I know during my primary school days. OIC. Now I have a clearer picture. My primary school had no E class wahhaahahha. only A to D. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator February 3, 2017 Share February 3, 2017 did your children get the 1st choice that they wanted? i was praying my boy dun get his first choice, unfortunately he got it Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
13177 Hypersonic February 3, 2017 Share February 3, 2017 did your children get the 1st choice that they wanted? i was praying my boy dun get his first choice, unfortunately he got it Why you hoping he dont get his first choice? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
RadX Moderator February 3, 2017 Share February 3, 2017 did your children get the 1st choice that they wanted? i was praying my boy dun get his first choice, unfortunately he got it he go whr? jc? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Loki Supersonic February 3, 2017 Share February 3, 2017 did your children get the 1st choice that they wanted? i was praying my boy dun get his first choice, unfortunately he got it Where did your kid go? Mine got her first choice, which was also not my preferred choice. But I left it to her to decide her own fate. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator February 3, 2017 Share February 3, 2017 he go whr? jc? poly but not the course that i fancy Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Hamburger Hypersonic February 3, 2017 Share February 3, 2017 TJC cut off is 9pts this year. So my boy went this morning to report. poly but not the course that i fancy Share the course maybe? Is it a niche one? ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...