2016 / 2017 Subaru Impreza

Carbon82

Finally... I signed on the dotted line.

Hello everyone, new member here. Haha ;D

Guys, now I looking for insurance, any recommendation?

I have fews year driving exp in Msia but the car is not registered under my name. So should be 0% NCD in sg... yearly 2K~3K++ jialat... I will quite frequent drive to Msia, ntuc car insurance good or not ?

Should have stick to MI in house insurance since you frequent bolehland. as the windscreen prone to chipping.

MI's in house insurance provide one free windscreen change without affecting NCD.

For those with engine/cvt hesitation/jerking when moving off, there's actually a ECM update to version 22765AL71B.

If you are going servicing ask MI. I'm not sure if this is only for 2.0L or 1.6L or both 1.6L & 2.0L

There another ECM update for 2.0L which address a separate recall issue for engine stalling. I'm not sure if they are the same as 22765AL71B.

Cornering speed how much can Vezel and Mazda 3 do? So far I've while exiting expressway...always the car end up in my rear view mirror when both enter exit together.

I have several questions regarding this:

1. Your new Impreza is fully stock, no aftermarket stuff like new tires, rims, etc.?

2. Which version are you driving - 1.6 or 2.0?

3. Have you actually gone neck and neck with a Maz3 in a tight bend to see who comes out first? stock-to-stock comparison

1. Your new Impreza is fully stock, no aftermarket stuff like new tires, rims, etc.?

3. Have you actually gone neck and neck with a Maz3 in a tight bend to see who comes out first? stock-to-stock comparison

I guess the answer to your 3 question really comes down to whether the driver got balls or not  :D A highly spec car can be driven slow. A low spec car can be push to the limit.

Exactly! Which is why I say this...

I'm willing to put my neck out and say that a fully stock 2017 AWD Subby Impreza 2.0 and a fully stock 2017 Maz 3 2.0 with G-Vectoring control in a cornering race in either dry or wet conditions will result in Maz 3 winning in a best of five set driven by amateur drivers.

No hate. [;)]

Just an opinion based on the ability of Maz's G-Vectoring being able to oust any grippier benefits provided by the AWD Subby because it aids in less steering micro adjustments and thus cleaner lines from start to finish by an amateur driver.

This not even factoring the Subby's CVT vs the free-revving Maz 3's Skyactiv-G 2.0 engine with conventional auto transmission.

Make it more interesting...HB vs HB.  [:p]

Edited by 9xBrucie
  • Dislike 1

I'm willing to put my neck out and say that a fully stock 2017 AWD Subby Impreza 2.0 and a fully stock 2017 Maz 3 2.0 with G-Vectoring control in a cornering race in either dry or wet conditions will result in Maz 3 winning in a best of five set driven by amateur drivers.

No hate. [;)]

Just an opinion based on the ability of Maz's G-Vectoring being able to oust any grippier benefits provided by the AWD Subby because it aids in less steering micro adjustments and thus cleaner lines from start to finish by an amateur driver.

This not even factoring the Subby's CVT vs the free-revving Maz 3's Skyactiv-G 2.0 engine with conventional auto transmission.

Make it more interesting...HB vs HB.  [:p]

Well I wouldn't put my neck out until I'm rich enough to own both cars  [laugh] But I believe both are equally capable cars for an amateur driver. After all the finishing point is still the traffic lights so not much difference and there is only so much Gs one can pull with these cars.

All stock 1.6L.

Mazda 3 got G vectoring so the Impreza got nothing?

The Impreza got Vehicle Dynamic Control System, Active Torque Vectoring plus symetrical AWD. Active Torque Vectoring is basically the G Vectoring.

Been in many neck to neck with different type of car including your super Mazda 3, with me behind entering the bend last but coming out first.

You should go watch Nurburgring race where the Subaru beats even supercars in the turns only losing in the straights. All those racing technology are then used in our daily rides to improve the safety.

I'm willing to put my neck out and say that a fully stock 2017 AWD Subby Impreza 2.0 and a fully stock 2017 Maz 3 2.0 with G-Vectoring control in a cornering race in either dry or wet conditions will result in Maz 3 winning in a best of five set driven by amateur drivers.

No hate. [;)]

Make it more interesting...HB vs HB. [:p]

Grip/traction is one of the essential in cornering speed. 4 wheel drive beats 2 wheels drive hands down assuming both have the same torque.

Obviously you were not aware both car have vectoring technology with Subaru having edge here as the engine torque to actual driving wheel which is all the 4 wheels compared to only 2 front driving wheel.

Not forgetting tranverse engine mounting front wheel drive such as Mazda 3 will have torque steer issue. With symmetrical AWD, this is not so in Subaru.

Boxer engine being more flat enables the lower mounting of engine. Lower centre of gravity means a more stable platform. There'll be lesser rolling effect on the car.

List can go on & on.

All stock 1.6L.

Mazda 3 got G vectoring so the Impreza got nothing?

The Impreza got Vehicle Dynamic Control System, Active Torque Vectoring plus symetrical AWD. Active Torque Vectoring is basically the G Vectoring.

Been in many neck to neck with different type of car including your super Mazda 3, with me behind entering the bend last but coming out first.

You should go watch Nurburgring race where the Subaru beats even supercars in the turns only losing in the straights. All those racing technology are then used in our daily rides to improve the safety.

Wanna challenge? ;)

Timed separate run.

Point A, Point B.

You pick the bend.

Edited by 9xBrucie
  • Dislike 2

Wanna challenge? ;)

Timed separate run.

Point A, Point B.

You pick the bend.

No need. Only kids do these stuff. Go back to your Mazda 3 forum.

I'm willing to put my neck out and say that a fully stock 2017 AWD Subby Impreza 2.0 and a fully stock 2017 Maz 3 2.0 with G-Vectoring control in a cornering race in either dry or wet conditions will result in Maz 3 winning in a best of five set driven by amateur drivers.

No hate. [;)]

Make it more interesting...HB vs HB. [:p]

I believe the Subaru actually has active torque vectoring which they came out with way before before Mazda's G Vectoring. I get the impression that Mazda might have actually been 'inspired' by Subaru's ATV.

Oooooo. Scared?

Your replies here stating G vectoring making your car king of the road only shown how immature you are. P

This reply only serves to confirm that.

And I'll just put you in ignore list..bye..

Edited by 999

Your replies here stating G vectoring making your car king of the road only shown how immature you are.

This reply only serves to confirm that.

Mate, only you sound like a butt hurt kid here. Why couldn't you understand basic banter? Grow up. Take yourself less seriously.

Plenty of Subby drivers before you had a better sense of humour.

Edited by 9xBrucie
  • Dislike 3

Oooooo. Scared?

Childish taunting like that isn't appreciated on this forum, go to other forums if you want.  

It's one thing to argue a point , and I do agree that your views on Mazda 3 with torque vectoring control, as well as the fact that Mazdas are known for handling finesse, are valid, but, it's immature to claim it is better than others unless 

1) you've tested both back to back with professional equipment to measure timing

2) you are a professional racing driver

3) there's hard evidence to prove it

Anw, handling is subjective and both are unique in their own ways.

Coming to the impreza thread to tell ppl that mazda 3 is better is downright picking a fight, and challenging ppl to a race on PUBLIC ROADS is irresponsible and shows alot about your character

Go back to driving the PHV mazda 3 that you probably rented from LCR and quit stirring crap

If you really want a challenge, PM me, we meet at Pasir Gudang where it is safe to do a timed lap, your mazda 3 vs my FD1, else, go sleep alr, tmr got school :)

Edited by SiLangKia
  • Dislike 1

Mate, only you sound like a butt hurt kid here. Why couldn't you understand basic banter? Grow up. Take yourself less seriously.

Plenty of Subby drivers before you had a better sense of humour.

Alright already, the two of you. Cut the BS! I'll take either or the both of you on in my Kancil. And if it'll help you grow some kahunas, I'll drive in reverse!!

Childish taunting like that isn't appreciated on this forum, go to other forums if you want.

It's one thing to argue a point , and I do agree that your views on Mazda 3 with torque vectoring control, as well as the fact that Mazdas are known for handling finesse, are valid, but, it's immature to claim it is better than others unless

1) you've tested both back to back with professional equipment to measure timing

Coming to the impreza thread to tell ppl that mazda 3 is better is downright picking a fight, and challenging ppl to a race on PUBLIC ROADS is irresponsible and shows alot about your character

Go back to driving the PHV mazda 3 that you probably rented from LCR and quit stirring crap

If you really want a challenge, PM me, we meet at Pasir Gudang where it is safe to do a timed lap, your mazda 3 vs my FD1, else, go sleep alr, tmr got school :)

Another keyboard warrior. It was merely banter. You understand? Rib tickling.
  • Dislike 1

FD forum like dead leh. Icebear & gang still go Pasir Gudang?