2016 May, 1st COE Bidding Exercise

yo2020

I think it is worth mentioning that 2017 DTL3 will be completed. This runs through thousands of HDB households like Tampines, Bedok, Kaki Bukit, Macpherson etc. Those who are cash strapped will not get a car.

You sound a lot like a car sales man.

actually I kind of agree with his view to some extent. Know of a few couples who got a car right after they got their BTOs a couple of years after graduation. If this is the new trend, then demand will stay. 

Edited by bronzy

obviously COE is going up again...i think all guessing are not working...I mean with the COE going down due to more supplies. Actually there are just too much demands!!

Edited by Jq1988

so how's the mood now boys n girls? :D

btw guys, u all need to realised that the UBER thingy, they wont be bidding like 300 one shot. they will bid bits n pieces as and when their stock arrives in our shores... cannot be full 300 all come in at once lol

I think they will only secure theirs when COE is low. 

No more mood. keke. 

In 2007 and 2008, we had the financial meltdown. So cars were also cheap because of the huge uncertainty and not just because of increased Coe supply (did govt deliberately had increased supply to promote consumption and protect economy ? ) .

A double bonus for car buyers then but situation is not the same 10 year hence in 2017 / 8

ok lah, The future is not so bleak. in 2014, 96000 jobs added; 2015, plunge to 700 jobs. How high can COE go?   

MOM say He is alarmist leh.... :-)

5th Gear

look like some panic buying also ...?

New comer will see current price very cheap just compare a year ago ... Car rate never increase and population keep inceasing and also people getting richer compare to 10 years ago .

Don't panic. We are just in the beginning of the abundance of COE. Looking at the age distribution, there will be around 100,000 of cars waiting to be scrapped for the next 3 years. The worst period is not over because there are still 100,000 buyers fighting for 80,000 expired COE. Once this critical period is over, we will see supply = demand. This should happen by the end of this year. All in the sideline will jump in.

The best year to buy is 2018/2019 because we will see 60,000 buyers (cars expiring in 2019) with 93,000 available COE released in 2018. Huat ah!

I used to think so too. Until uber and grab came to the party uninvited

5th Gear

Hey, just got a SMS, Borneo drop price leh ......Wish 108K. Wonder still got that E-scooter freebie.

Drop across the board ?

Non or gtd ?

Edited by Char

Hey, just got a SMS, Borneo drop price leh ......Wish 108K. Wonder still got that E-scooter freebie.

cheaper than altis? what's altis' pice at car expo?

The part about demand reduced, I'm not so sure about that.

As many have mentioned before, as much as there are many de-registrations, they will be a corresponding demand by those who de-registered to buy a new car (assuming they can afford downpayment). PIs are not bidding the real amount of COEs for the orders they have on hand, hence the number of bids during each COE bidding exercise does not reflect the true demand at that point in time. Based on the number of bids against the quota each month, there has consistently been much higher demand the actual supply.

As much as the Government is trying to promote having a car-lite society, and improving infrastructure and building more train lines, encouraging Uber and Grab to provide a taxi-alternative, at the end of the day, nothing  beats having your own transport at your convenience (and we're not even talking about the perceived prestige/ social status of having your own car). This convenience is intangible and invaluable, which explains why so many people still yearn to be car owners. This is likely why demand for cars will never be lower than the supply.

Bro, PI can only bid for the number of order they have on hand cause we are talking about cat A here.... they cant bid the COE and put it as Mr A, or Mr B or Mr C... what you are referring to are more applicable to Open Cat....

• Praise 12

Lol you'll always think I se, u think se so free meh, come here talk about coe going up? Can gain how many sales from here? And if I'm working for Toyota, will he buys a Toyota? If yes will he buy from me out of so many SE.

Who's Carstar? Is he a SE? I don't know. However, I share his realistic view on COE. Many many years back, my COE was $30+K, very high then, but only to scrap my ride 3 years later when COE dropped to $10+K. These are history of cheap COE that unlikely to happen again. One simple reason like property, govt would not let its prices crashed unless .... Anyone think he can do better than govt.

Many ppl have been waiting for lower COE since last year and now almost half of 2016. Bought 9 yrs rides, wait and wait, then ??? When cat B fell to $38K, how many were lucky or there to get it? Many now blame Uber and car expo. Uber is real and will continue. Which time which country no car expo. From the recent trend, $40K - $50K seems like the range for the coming years. Hope there will be $30+K in between. $10K, $20K, hai ya, those looking forward to it also know themselves this is not realistic in the coming years.

Don't wait too long or years to enjoy new ride. Lao (老old) already. Good Luck!

Why nobody mention the car owner which pass away one ?

Meaning waited for many years .... then bring money to ...

actually I kind of agree with his view to some extent. Know of a few couples who got a car right after they got their BTOs a couple of years after graduation. If this is the new trend, then demand will stay. 

Last time when I took out $150K loan when just married, my heart was uneasy. Now, the standard loan is half a million!  

Edited by kmttan