2016 May, 1st COE Bidding Exercise

yo2020

5th Gear

Want to own car for free ? Just go to Ubor to be thier driver and rent $70 Altis and just drive few trips just to cover rental ,fuel and commission . This is too good to be true and definitely can fulfill those to own car dream right ? This is what Ubor wants to achieve , make car least affordable and force those people to become thier driver .

Uber nvr forces ppl to become their drivers. It just provides the option for ppl to choose. If pp want something, they just need to work harder.

Yeah, know of a friend who got a Vezel from Uber. $70+/day also

Renting a car from Uber $74 a day. Plus petrol $40, insurance $15 a day, servicing and change of tyres who pay? Uber or driver? Uber is actually doing Taxi drivers a favour. More competition and taxi companies are forced to relook into their business model. For too long, cab drivers are at the mercy of cab companies. High rental, sick also must drive. In countries like Taiwan, drivers purchase their own cars and sign up with a Taxi Union or equivalent. Without the membership they cannot drive, the union or equivalent will monitor complaints etc.... its a win win for all. We should adopt such a practice.

Of course servcing and tires rental company pays.else why call it renting.

5th Gear

Maintenance from Ubor . This Ubor employ local as GM and know that local people car crazy and since thier car no big decal like taxi and those drive Ubor like drive private car status and at the same time also can earn money and also cheaper than taxi and also freedom than taxi and all new car now etc....,.

Yeah only problem with uber is that they cannot pick someone on the road or queue at taxi stand and child seat exemption does not apply to them I think. So picking up family with kids is a no no also.

That why we dont see all taxi uncle change to uber.

5th Gear

If can run like a taxi siao Liao lol .... Everyone also become Ubor driver .

Guys, stop blaming uber lah. They only represent 2%. The other 98% are you. Yes, I am blaming all of you that you are all car crazy and so rich. That's why the demand is still so high. I urge all of you to take uber, taxi and BMW until I get another car with $1 COE. Please.

• Dislike 1

5th Gear

Since it is a rental, the car belongs to the rental company. The driver will never get to own the car and it is technically never his, and subjected to the rental agreement and the situation of the rental company.

$70/day or $2800/mth or $34k/yr to not really "own" a car, is it really so worth it if you not a full-time driver as a livelihood?

Since it is a rental, the car belongs to the rental company. The driver will never get to own the car and it is technically never his, and subjected to the rental agreement and the situation of the rental company.

$70/day or $2800/mth or $34k/yr to not really "own" a car, is it really so worth it if you not a full-time driver as a livelihood?

Bro ordering the car under your name is simply a 10 year rental where u also pay every small expense like servicing costs and insurance road tax.

U get to drive the car home.  Just like any P car.

Or you save $70 EVERYDAY for 1 and a half year.  You will be able to pay 50% downpayment.

5th Gear

Bro ordering the car under your name is simply a 10 year rental where u also pay every small expense like servicing costs and insurance road tax.

Now loan is 5 years max (if you do via proper channel), so after 5 years, car is legally yours.

Legal implications are different.

Edited by Alfc

5th Gear

New car also rent from LTA for 10 years and down payment 40/50% . Many can't afford it and Ubor come to the rescue .

I'm just wondering, for those bros who bought new car on non guaranteed COE, what are the chances that after 6 bids, still unable to get COE, AD going to return the deposit and don't earn your money for the new car ? Quite unlikely right?

They lose nothing, maybe some paperwork time.. your new car being sell to the next new buyer who is willing to pay more..... There will always be taker.... Hehe

Just saw SLCXXX licence plates on the roads today

Probably ask if you wanna top up after a few failed bids. Edited by bronzy

Just saw SLCXXX licence plates on the roads today

Probably ask if you wanna top up after a few failed bids.

Having to top up is bad