Stopping at Yellow Box

Revole

Sorry.. suck thumb or take the train :D

I am glad I did not choose to move to Punggol.

Bloody hell, every morning and evening, the exits leaving and entrances entering TPE will be jam packed.

Another alternative, leave home early to avoid the peak of peak hour :D

Thanks bro for your comments. Yes I’ve been sucking thumb to the recent years.

When I shifted to Punggol, it was not like this. It was only recent years that the problem came up. Like the others mentioned and post, partly also due to planners and design is not future proof and did not cater in time. Unless problem existed way before I shift in, it is unfair to say that we choose to move to Punggol and have to bear with the problem.

Cheers.

They are not kayu but more like selfish la. If you are selfish, you would not care about others de.

Totally agreed.

Can’t praise you bro as I had not praised 10 others yet. :)

Bro, do you live or visit Punggol or Sengkang?

There are only 2 entry/exits to Punggol and Sengkang town and all drivers are using them. Since the recent years with so many BTOs came up, more and more cars and both exits are jam packed every morning be it which one you use. There are no other roads to get out of Punggol Town.

There is however one big round behind Punggol town that leads to Yishun through Yishun damn. That is also jam packed and it does not make sense to go to CTE, if one decides not to use the TP/SLE/CTE link.

Cheers.

Heng ah. I don't stay there.

How about the slip road to TPE at Punggol East flyover? The slip road that only allows passenger cars and motorbikes? That one also jam?

Actually write to LTA got use meh?

Yellow Box offence is a traffic offence governed by TP.

Write in to TP, see if they will station one TP to be there in the morning randomly to catch those who no do respect yellow box.

Best if the problem is severe enough, and your area high SES enough for them to extend this to your area:

https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/traffic-police-trial-new-camera-detect-illegal-u-turn-yellow-box-10221260

st_20180511_rspolice11_3976312.jpg

Heng ah. I don't stay there.

How about the slip road to TPE at Punggol East flyover? The slip road that only allows passenger cars and motorbikes? That one also jam?

That leads to KPE. Although you can exit into Lor Harlus, turn back and join into TPE, it doesn’t make sense to do it. And yes, before you reach Tebing lane, already jam there.

Also, although can work around to avoid peak hours, there are always other reasons like sending kids to school and fixed work timing.

Cheers.

Thanks bro for your comments. Yes I’ve been sucking thumb to the recent years.

When I shifted to Punggol, it was not like this. It was only recent years that the problem came up. Like the others mentioned and post, partly also due to planners and design is not future proof and did not cater in time. Unless problem existed way before I shift in, it is unfair to say that we choose to move to Punggol and have to bear with the problem.

Cheers.

Totally agreed.

Can’t praise you bro as I had not praised 10 others yet. :)

I believe many problems here with no solution, end-user would have to bear with the problem. Maybe LTA would tell you either you endure, leave your house early to avoid the jam or move house lo. LTA would not solve the problem de. Lol.

Those who are not staying in SK PG won't understand the daily grief getting in and out of the estates. SK is only marginally better than PG because there's a shorter route yo KPE but the jam leading to the tunnel just as bad despite the ERP gantry there.

I don't think the third link from lorong harus going to help much once the International School in PG goes fully operational.

Got caught in a jam once outside Punggol Plaza at 8ish in the morning for half an hour. The queue at the junction leading to the newly opened KPE connection was extremely bad as there's no yellow box so it's free for all...

A colleague has to send the kids to school and leave the estate before 6.30 in order to avoid the jam.

MP...? It's a GRC with a Mayor...yet... I'm not sure URA, SLA, LTA, HDB ever sit down together with the Mayor to discuss with resolute to resolve the traffic issues. Carlite policy comes to mind...

Deploying TP won't help as it'd be like the Cat and Mouse game outside Rosyth primary....see TP/LTA officer everyone guai guai...see no cat, anything goes...

Sorry.. suck thumb or take the train :D

I am glad I did not choose to move to Punggol.

Bloody hell, every morning and evening, the exits leaving and entrances entering TPE will be jam packed.

Another alternative, leave home early to avoid the peak of peak hour :D

Ya like someone mentioned before, can always take the next train if too full.

So those in punggol, slowly wait for the next lights......

I believe many problems here with no solution, end-user would have to bear with the problem. Maybe LTA would tell you either you endure, leave your house early to avoid the jam or move house lo. LTA would not solve the problem de. Lol.

LTA always bo salah one! Another deep rooted culture there.

Those who are not staying in SK PG won't understand the daily grief getting in and out of the estates. SK is only marginally better than PG because there's a shorter route yo KPE but the jam leading to the tunnel just as bad despite the ERP gantry there.

I don't think the third link from lorong harus going to help much once the International School in PG goes fully operational.

Got caught in a jam once outside Punggol Plaza at 8ish in the morning for half an hour. The queue at the junction leading to the newly opened KPE connection was extremely bad as there's no yellow box so it's free for all...

A colleague has to send the kids to school and leave the estate before 6.30 in order to avoid the jam.

MP...? It's a GRC with a Mayor...yet... I'm not sure URA, SLA, LTA, HDB ever sit down together with the Mayor to discuss with resolute to resolve the traffic issues. Carlite policy comes to mind...

Deploying TP won't help as it'd be like the Cat and Mouse game outside Rosyth primary....see TP/LTA officer everyone guai guai...see no cat, anything goes...

Out of touch, then talk rubbish because they didn't plan for the future.

Bunch of clowns

Bro, do you live or visit Punggol or Sengkang?

There are only 2 entry/exits to Punggol and Sengkang town and all drivers are using them. Since the recent years with so many BTOs came up, more and more cars and both exits are jam packed every morning be it which one you use. There are no other roads to get out of Punggol Town.

There is however one big round behind Punggol town that leads to Yishun through Yishun damn. That is also jam packed and it does not make sense to go to CTE, if one decides not to use the TPE/SLE/CTE link.

Cheers.

punggol/ sengkang residents all so rich. drive car!

erect erp

punggol/ sengkang residents all so rich. drive car!

erect erpð¤ how?

Lan lan suck thumb lor.

Not rich. I’m just a normal guy that can afford a car to bring me to and fro work, weekends drive family out. Yes, there is always MRT and buses. Some families decided to pay a bit more in comparison with public transport to own a car. There are much much more rich people out there who own even 2 cars, bid for COEs when it was $100k, when we keep hearing complaints say no money no money.

That's what the government do mah. Just like putting ERP on CTE towards city. People who needs to go to work at morning peak hours fixed timing cannot run away. This will only move those who are on flexible working hours to siam if they don't want to pay ERP.

Like me, fix work timing at 8am. I have to leave home at that time. He want come put $10 ERP lor. I still lan lan suck thumb pay and drive.

Edited by Wormee

actually your situation is just similar to tuas west, the last exit before tuas custom.

same scenario where Malaysia heavy vehicles halt inside the yellow box. mind you the jam can take up to 40min to 1 hour to clear that junction.

so for us taking that kunction we wpuld all in sygn hone....yes..untill custom officer walk all the way to that junction. current situation improved tremendously. they deploy cisco police (bike) along the that junction during peak hour. no jam at all now.

Edited by Kopites

Lan lan suck thumb lor.

Not rich. I’m just a normal guy that can afford a car to bring me to and fro work, weekends drive family out. Yes, there is always MRT and buses. Some families decided to pay a bit more in comparison with public transport to own a car. There are much much more rich people out there who own even 2 cars, bid for COEs when it was $100k, when we keep hearing complaints say no money no money.

That's what the government do mah. Just like putting ERP on CTE towards city. People who needs to go to work at morning peak hours fixed timing cannot run away. This will only move those who are on flexible working hours to siam if they don't want to pay ERP.

Like me, fix work timing at 8am. I have to leave home at that time. He want come put $10 ERP lor. I still lan lan suck thumb pay and drive.

I dont understand why ERP on CTE so special one, starts so early at 7am? This is like indirectly forcing everyone to pay for ERP if you want to use CTE.

Because traffic there is very heavy by 7am onwards. 

It's all about money anyway. They cannot keep up with the infrastructure expansion, so people pay for their lack of foresight.  

A lot of times, it is also caused by lousy drivers.

If they have foresight, where do they get their garment revenue from? 

Money is always the solution to any of their problem. 

Too many vehicles on road... COE

Jams .... ERP

More jams ....higher ERP fees

Vehicle traffic diverted to.non ERP areas .... New ERP gantries 

Laggi more jams ... More ERP gantries 

With this kind of "money solves all' mentality .. Anyone can also be non mediocre. No need to pay multimillions. 

for the past 10-15 years the one and only “strategy” is to manage demand and supply with pricing control

the legendary quote is ... limited resources

those who need to use more ... pay more

standard service pay less ... premium service pay more

truly Singapore Inc ... huat ah

A lot of times, it is also caused by lousy drivers.

CTE is badly designed as well.

They could have segregated the traffic going to city, and those going to Ang Mo Kio and PIE with a flyover starting from Yio Chu Kang exit onwards.

That stretch is the main problem of the jams during peak hours.

Separate the traffic to city and to Ang Mo Kio with a flyover would at least smoothen the traffic rather than just widening lanes of CTE.

for the past 10-15 years the one and only âstrategyâ is to manage demand and supply with pricing control

the legendary quote is ... limited resources

those who need to use more ... pay more

standard service pay less ... premium service pay more

truly Singapore Inc ... huat ah

And increasing population with the open leg policies that makes things worse, and more expensive.