Ct3833 Supersonic November 24 Share November 24 On 11/24/2025 at 4:14 PM, Gnahp said: wife called me 10 minutes after leaving the house this morning said - something not right with the car, also got this funny shape yellow light pop up on the dash, now stopped at the road shoulder I asked if the symbol looks like an engine she said she doesn't know how an engine looks like 😑 asked he to send me a pic car is 140,000km now I have a long list in my mind from $ to $$$$$ luckily I got train her how to arrange tow truck and workshop she handled all that by herself and took a grab to office after the car being towed away Haha wah check engine light😃. But old car at times will have such problem, it is why i like to do preventive check and proactive repair , but not many mechanics are good or bother to do a thorough check. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnahp Turbocharged November 24 Share November 24 On 11/24/2025 at 8:39 PM, Ct3833 said: Haha wah check engine light😃. But old car at times will have such problem, it is why i like to do preventive check and proactive repair , but not many mechanics are good or bother to do a thorough check. anyway, workshop said it's faulty ignition coil damage is $$$, not too bad last car with M271 engine, the ignition coils lasted until last day at 280k km this car died halfway at 140k km this should give you some idea to gauge the preventive replacement mileage for ignition coils 😁 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
107fan 5th Gear November 24 Share November 24 On 11/21/2025 at 8:51 AM, inlinesix said: Renault Twingo EV made in China. It is the likes of Opel and Citroen will go 1st. I always wonder how Opel survive... Only see their Mokka very rarely on the streets. Or they make most of their money from badging sharing with Vauxhall and Holden overseas? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic November 24 Share November 24 On 11/24/2025 at 4:45 PM, Gnahp said: it is her car I say 100 times also no use let the car talks to her 😁 Your Wife's Car,but You paid for it,correct...? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnahp Turbocharged November 24 Share November 24 On 11/25/2025 at 7:05 AM, ER-3682 said: Your Wife's Car,but You paid for it,correct...? no lah it is a company car (that is what I tell my neighbours) I told my mother it is a rental 😁 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
ER-3682 Supersonic Tuesday at 01:00 AM Share Tuesday at 01:00 AM On 11/25/2025 at 7:18 AM, Gnahp said: no lah it is a company car (that is what I tell my neighbours) I told my mother it is a rental 😁 You told your Mother the correct way,ALL our Cars are Rental(From Gov't),pay for it,use 10 Years or lesser,get back a tiny Sum from Gov't(PARF),or pay another Sum of Money to use another 10 Years. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic Tuesday at 01:03 AM Share Tuesday at 01:03 AM On 11/24/2025 at 4:14 PM, Gnahp said: wife called me 10 minutes after leaving the house this morning said - something not right with the car, also got this funny shape yellow light pop up on the dash, now stopped at the road shoulder I asked if the symbol looks like an engine she said she doesn't know how an engine looks like 😑 asked he to send me a pic car is 140,000km now I have a long list in my mind from $ to $$$$$ luckily I got train her how to arrange tow truck and workshop she handled all that by herself and took a grab to office after the car being towed away It's a sign on the dashboard that says...CHANGE CAR 🤘😁 1 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic Tuesday at 01:05 AM Share Tuesday at 01:05 AM On 11/24/2025 at 4:29 PM, Volvobrick said: Sometimes I get same call/message fro Mrs. I would ask Can drive? Always "Can". I would say leave it and continue driving. It will go away. 😀 Go away as in to a scrapyard or a car dealer...?😂 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic Tuesday at 01:07 AM Share Tuesday at 01:07 AM On 11/24/2025 at 4:44 PM, Gnahp said: my wife is the type who can drive a flat tyre whole day and says - nothing wrong with the car... I asked her this morning - still can drive? she said no, you got to take her words seriously when she said no😅 Actually for women...have to take the opposite...however, don't take my words totally hor...sekali end up warded...🙏😂 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mrmilktooth Supercharged Wednesday at 09:22 AM Share Wednesday at 09:22 AM On 11/25/2025 at 9:07 AM, mersaylee said: Actually for women...have to take the opposite...however, don't take my words totally hor...sekali end up warded...🙏😂 I still remember once the wife drove the auto jap car… with the handbrake engaged all the way to work on the expressways.. then told me why is there a red exclamation pt on… 🤦♂️ still can drive to 60kmh. 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic Thursday at 04:55 AM Author Share Thursday at 04:55 AM Thanks to bro CT for his recommendation on Chip Soon. Did a service A, fixed a leaking oil sensor, changed rear shocks, discs and brakes for a lot less than C&C. Good service and fast too. I think C&C and the Autosprint would have taken a couple of days.. this was over in slightly more than half a day. Kudos to them.. Walked to Tampines Mall for a movie to wait... almost totally empty, but the new Predator Badlands is a kickass movie.. 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnahp Turbocharged Saturday at 02:35 AM Share Saturday at 02:35 AM updates car is weird after the ignition coils replacement, it feels like the throttle is "hanging" to make sure it is not in my head 1. I drove it for 3 days, over my usual routes, the braking points and throttle respond are different now, got to adapt and change if I want to drive it smooth 2. ask my wife (the numb one) - she said very good, nothing wrong I suspect the car needed a throttle reset, after the workshop cleared the error codes following ignition coils replacement did it this morning before going for breakfast viola! car is back to normal like after a flick of a switch this is the procedures some call it transmission reset, some said it is throttle reset, some workshops said it is just a urban/internet myth, won't do anything 😁 Quote Step-by-step instructions Turn the key to position 2 (ignition on, but engine off) or press the start/stop button twice without your foot on the brake. Press the accelerator pedal all the way to the floor until it clicks the kick down switch and hold it there for at least 10 seconds. While still holding the accelerator pedal down, turn the key to the "off" position (position 0). Release the accelerator pedal after waiting around 10 seconds with the pedal still depressed. Wait for at least two minutes before starting the car to allow the system to complete the reset process. 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic Saturday at 02:52 AM Share Saturday at 02:52 AM On 11/29/2025 at 10:35 AM, Gnahp said: updates car is weird after the ignition coils replacement, it feels like the throttle is "hanging" to make sure it is not in my head 1. I drove it for 3 days, over my usual routes, the braking points and throttle respond are different now, got to adapt and change if I want to drive it smooth 2. ask my wife (the numb one) - she said very good, nothing wrong I suspect the car needed a throttle reset, after the workshop cleared the error codes following ignition coils replacement did it this morning before going for breakfast viola! car is back to normal like after a flick of a switch this is the procedures some call it transmission reset, some said it is throttle reset, some workshops said it is just a urban/internet myth, won't do anything 😁 Did your numb better half comment something is not right after the reset...or still numb...? 😁 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnahp Turbocharged Saturday at 02:56 AM Share Saturday at 02:56 AM On 11/29/2025 at 10:52 AM, mersaylee said: Did your numb better half comment something is not right after the reset...or still numb...? 😁 she is driving it now, will ask her tonight she is my yardstick when she says something is not right with the car, it is confirm plus chop catastrophic 😁 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ct3833 Supersonic Saturday at 05:19 AM Share Saturday at 05:19 AM (edited) On 11/29/2025 at 10:35 AM, Gnahp said: updates car is weird after the ignition coils replacement, it feels like the throttle is "hanging" to make sure it is not in my head 1. I drove it for 3 days, over my usual routes, the braking points and throttle respond are different now, got to adapt and change if I want to drive it smooth 2. ask my wife (the numb one) - she said very good, nothing wrong I suspect the car needed a throttle reset, after the workshop cleared the error codes following ignition coils replacement did it this morning before going for breakfast viola! car is back to normal like after a flick of a switch this is the procedures some call it transmission reset, some said it is throttle reset, some workshops said it is just a urban/internet myth, won't do anything 😁 Wah you 👍. Last week one of the morning i could sense the Altis was misfiring when my daughter in law drove it off, i forgot to ask her in the evening when she was back. The following day my son told me the car was jerking, i told him likely high tension coil or spark plug, true enough, it was a coil and the spark plugs were also worn. My point is when a car is given to a lady driver, as long as it moves, i dont think they care about anything until the car fails. 🤣 Edited Saturday at 05:20 AM by Ct3833 3 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Gnahp Turbocharged Saturday at 05:35 AM Share Saturday at 05:35 AM On 11/29/2025 at 1:19 PM, Ct3833 said: Wah you 👍. Last week one of the morning i noticed the Altis was misfiring when my daughter in law drove it off, i forgot to ask her in the evening when she was back. The following day my son told me the car was jerking, i told him likely high tension coil or spark plug, true enough, it was a coil and the spark plugs were also worn. My point is when a car is given to a lady driver, as long as it moves, i dont think they care about anything until the car fails. 🤣 I feel sian actually, even though the diagnosis is spot on (I hope) car owners shouldn't need to be involved this far and deep, in order to maintain their car to run right next life I want to be the numb one driving a poorly tuned/setup car happily till the end of COE 😅 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic Saturday at 05:45 AM Share Saturday at 05:45 AM (edited) On 11/29/2025 at 1:35 PM, Gnahp said: I feel sian actually, even though the diagnosis is spot on (I hope) car owners shouldn't need to be involved this far and deep, in order to maintain their car to run right next life I want to be the numb one driving a poorly tuned/setup car happily till the end of COE 😅 Buy EV👍🏻 B M W👍🏻 Edited Saturday at 05:46 AM by inlinesix 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic Saturday at 05:46 AM Author Share Saturday at 05:46 AM The downside of a non AD workshop is you have to specify exactly each item you want Eg if I didn’t say tire rotation they won’t do it no car wash or vacuuming too but it’s a little price to pay to save $$$ ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...