Should men be the sole $$ contributor despite both working?

Icebrush79

no 2 families will plan the same..............and no 2 couples will behave the same............there will never be a text book answer............there is nothing call "fair" in a marriage and managing a family.............only who is willing to do more...........and who is willing to give without asking for returns.............a calculator is only use to calculate sums of bills...........LOVE..............be it for the other half or for the whole family needs no calculator.............. [grouphug]

Wah Tianmo, steady lah....

you do realize 1.5 carat prestigious brand may be cheaper than 1carat tiffany hor? 

juz saying!!! [:p]

i prefer to buy watches...  less dep in value in the long run..  [laugh]

Haha... of course I know what Tiffanys cost. 
A diamond ring is the least financial savvy purchase. 

I used to date a glass blower who tells me she doesn't want a diamond ring, diamonds are just good to cut glass - but of course a wanderer like her gives a diff set of problems 
and we parted. 

wah bro .. next time we meet up, drinks on me man. sounds like heart pain ah ...

lucky my wife friends is those homely type, not the chiongster types. plus i stop drinking, never party, so she also never see the need to go any club. 

if meet friends, is take turns. sometimes with my buddies, and sometimes i meet her friends (then all the husband all sit one corner v sian, while the ladies gossip .. haha)

My wife has another close fren who is very fat and likes buffet a lot lot lot. I also hate her. Always asking my wife accompany her go for buffet. My wife still ask me recommend a guy for her fat fren. I tell my wife, ask her go look at the mirror.

Another fren got four kids!!! All with different guys!!! [shocked]

All her frens very weird one.

For real. I am the living example. As my fren told me, all my wife need to do is live and breath only.

All bills, home, car, furniture, appliances, etc.... I pay. Recently she wana buy steamer, say wana cook for me and use our joint account to pay for it. [:|] Only I am contributing to the joint account lor. She raiding my reserve. [:(]

She say her money is to maintain herself. Got hair lah, make-up lah, dresses lah, shoes lah, facial lah, etc.... to pay. And she still owe CC almost $10k. Expect me to clear for her. [shakehead] I said no, I have no debts, only car loan. Always going for buffet with her frens, eat until so fat. Then wana join gym to slim down. Now gym also close down. Want me sponser her go another gym, I told her no money. [furious]

Wana have kids but she say dont want. I want, I have to pay everything for the kid even for IVF and all the food + stuff. I heard liao sian. Went thru 3 times IVF, all I paid partial from only my medisave. She say use only my medisave cos its I want the kid, not her. She dont want kids. Lucky all 3 IVF unsuccessful.

I think she is a parasite to suck me dry dry. [smallcry]

Sorry bro but now I know why your FIL so saying u

Spin off from the earlier thread which was locked...

Just wondering how you blokes out there perceive or define how a man's financial responsibilities are - in a marriage? 
There's no right or wrong, I guess largely, it also depends on a person's upbringing and family environment.

I strongly believe that husband and wife should both contribute financially. Doesn't matter who contributes more, mostly the man, but its the core principle that a marriage is shared responsibilities and hence, in a world where women are increasingly independent and demands equality, I reckon this is fair practice.

Marriage is a partnership, and with dual contribution, the potential to achieve greater things grows 2 fold. 
Of course, I know of many women who disagrees...  

So just wanna hear your views.

I guess that's why it's often advised to marry within one's own "station" and matching education level. Then it is likely that the value system between husband and wife will be the same, thus reducing chances of mismatched expectations.

For my wifey and me, both of us have the same professional type of job and qualifications, and in fact, salary is almost matching. She gets paid slightly less but has a higher level in org chart, and is in charge of more people at her job, compared to me - don't ask why [laugh] So definitely I cannot relegate her to being a minor "contributor".

On the home front, therefore, both of us are equal contributors. I cede control of all bank accounts to her (horrors to some, I know) but in return she deals with the admin work of ensuring bills are paid in a timely manner, insurance premiums, etc. Admin work related to kids' schooling all dealt by her also. In return, I actually foot most of the housework and house maintenance jobs. Kids come to me for freshly laundered and ironed uniforms when they need. Or anything that needs fixing. Or washing up.

We don't have a maid or helper. Tried, but caused more problem than help. These days, house is a bit messy, as cleaning is only done once a week by cleaning services, but we can tolerate that.

It's pretty unconventional arrangement from old folks' point of view, but luckily for my wifey and me, both of us could accept it. Imagine if one of us refuse to accept the role/contribution required.

Bro....i think its not your wife...its her friends she is hanging out with. My wife's ex-school friends wanted her to join them and teaching my wife some stuff. She told me about it and i told her to drop them and told them directly that i dont want them to be in contact with my wife.

Try to spend more time with her and make her forget her friends.....now her friends are more those family oriented girls and aunties...

post-131345-0-25196200-1480325418_thumb.jpg

i saw a rich guy, his wallet quite worn, but inside several pcs $1k notes

[sweatdrop]

I queued behind a lady whom I thought is pinoy at Orchard mrt station. To my Surprise, the left over account balance showed $720+k.

My wife has another close fren who is very fat and likes buffet a lot lot lot. I also hate her. Always asking my wife accompany her go for buffet. My wife still ask me recommend a guy for her fat fren. I tell my wife, ask her go look at the mirror.

i used to think like you... her good friends..

ugly like f**k talk like she damn pretty.. act cute all the time..  

got another one..  company bicycle

my solution? click with their husbands...  so if have to meet up ... can have people to talk to ... used to dread... now look forward to some meet-ups

i only have one of my friends wife i cannot stand.

she is also quite overweight.

when i was driving my gtr, my wife ask if can tompang her ... but she cannot fit in the back seat (not physically possible)

so my wife sat behind, while her friend sit in front (i was quite pissed off, cos she insist on the tompang)

and then in the car she proclaimed (to my wife i suppose) ... "why must sp4wn buy such a selfish car"

my wife straight away from behind rub my arm, so i didnt say a word. but i was f**king pissed off. 

my money - my choice, still tompang your fat ass, and you still got the cheek to tell me that ...

Why would the bank care? Their credit team already did the risk assessment lor.

When they see that the house is fully paid, ho seh liao.

BTW, owe 10k (assuming constant) means 2.4k interest a year leh... just the interest alone. 

Tell the bank their credit assessment team has overlooked some things, and it's to tip them off in case the bank later need to write off bad debt due to the oversight lor.

Tell them the wife has no means of clearing the debt if it continues snowballing, and it's in everybody's interests to suspend the cc temporarily, until all debts are cleared.

Yah, if private property, then jialat liao.

But if it's HDB, then bank got no way to force to sell and recover debt, i think.

Wah biang... 2.4k a year, that's more than car loan interest hor? 

you do realize 1.5 carat prestigious brand may be cheaper than 1carat tiffany hor?

juz saying!!! [:p]

i prefer to buy watches... less dep in value in the long run.. [laugh]

Please buy Rolex from me......

Eh think she is mixing with all the not so ideal type of friends, can be very bad influence

Friends can sometimes also break up a marriage

i used to think like you... her good friends..

ugly like f**k talk like she damn pretty.. act cute all the time..

got another one.. company bicycle

my solution? click with their husbands... so if have to meet up ... can have people to talk to ... used to dread... now look forward to some meet-ups

Bro....from what i read...the friend got no hubby wan!

Please buy Rolex from me......

Wah....this kind of thread u still touting....

when i was driving my gtr, my wife ask if can tompang her ... but she cannot fit in the back seat (not physically possible)

so my wife sat behind, while her friend sit in front (i was quite pissed off, cos she insist on the tompang)

and then in the car she proclaimed (to my wife i suppose) ... "why must sp4wn buy such a selfish car"

my wife straight away from behind rub my arm, so i didnt say a word. but i was f**king pissed off. 

my money - my choice, still tompang your fat ass, and you still got the cheek to tell me that ...

Selfish!

I'm not the fat guy :D

Lol

Selfish!

I'm not the fat guy :D

ya your bodyfat single digit bro. cant compare. her's is probably 3x or 4x liao ...

ya la, now no more selfish car. but next time i will tell her if i see her, "not on the way".

cant forget someone like her sia.