Christan Turbocharged January 30, 2017 Author Share January 30, 2017 Those renovation plastic cover is quite cheap about $1.50 per sheet which I think you need at lease 10 sheet to cover most area. Also get those big clean wrap type that mover use for wraping furniture, wrap around all the furniture and electrical items, yes you won't be watching tv for that 10 days. Use the plastic sheet to seal up most of the area, leave an access path for the worker to walk in and out but cover with cardboard or vinyl sheet. Thanks Jman888. I intend to get those plastic sheet from paint shops. Will shift items to 1 side of home for coverage rather than use one plastic sheet for each item ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged January 30, 2017 Share January 30, 2017 Ysc3 If you opt out of the toilet upgrading, they still need to carry out a water test to verify your toilet is not leaking. However, the waste pipe in your kitchen and drainage pipe in your toilet still need to be replaced if they are the old cast iron type, so there will still be hacking and demolition works. Usually within a year of voting for hip they will start the works unless less than 75% of the vote is gotten for it to proceed. i opted out of the toilets upgrading coz just reno ... so they came to do water test ... came in the morning and then flooded my toilets and then came back after 4 hours to check... i guess downstairs no problem so i am not required to do my toilets. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Christan Turbocharged January 30, 2017 Author Share January 30, 2017 First 3 days will be very dusty as they will hack away the toilet tiles. During the 10 days they will set up a temporary toilet in your kitchen for your use. You must have at least a family member around when they start work in your house and make sure all valuables are kept under lock. If your house waste pipe is hidden in your kitchen cabinet, they will take down your renovation fixture but they won't put it back for you. You need to put it back by yourself.My piping changed to pvc by previous owner & covered by cabinet. Will inform contractor not to change if not have to redo cabinet. Prefer no temporary toilet in home due to smell & hygiene. My mum will move to my brother's flat nearby. Will probably be present on 1 & 10 days of renovation, mum will be around to monitor the work 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
youpapalite 3rd Gear January 30, 2017 Share January 30, 2017 As above, anyone gone through this upgrading? What are things to take note of, especially for toilet/bathroom upgrading? It's gonna be messy so need to cover the furniture, cabinet with plastic sheet they say. Where can I get the plastic sheet & the cost? Or other method for coverage? And any protection for the flooring? Workers will be going in/out of the house so was thinking of laying canvas or cardboard. Will also take this chance to redo bathroom fixtures & water heater which is already >10 yrs. Can the contractor assist? Maybe pay a token fee? Seems must tahan for 10 days before work finished. No matter how you cover, it will only minimise the dust. Can put wet towel underneath the door for your other rooms. Personally i laid cardboard all over the floor where the workers will walk. They will install for you a portable toilet in your kitchen or you can opt out of it and proceed underneath your block (public toilet). Yes can redo bathroom fixtures and water heater. Took 2 weeks for mine. + a couple more days for some problems faced (Drain choke, door cannot lock, basin choke etc etc) Hard to sleep at night if you're sensitive to dust. Good luck 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Christan Turbocharged January 30, 2017 Author Share January 30, 2017 No matter how you cover, it will only minimise the dust. Can put wet towel underneath the door for your other rooms. Personally i laid cardboard all over the floor where the workers will walk. They will install for you a portable toilet in your kitchen or you can opt out of it and proceed underneath your block (public toilet). Yes can redo bathroom fixtures and water heater. Took 2 weeks for mine. + a couple more days for some problems faced (Drain choke, door cannot lock, basin choke etc etc) Hard to sleep at night if you're sensitive to dust. Good luck Thanks youpapalite for the advice. Have started to collect some carboard from supermarket which dispose them outside. This is mass renovation so I don't expect much for the workmanship but things like tiles laid evenly, toilet door close properly is a must 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
youpapalite 3rd Gear January 30, 2017 Share January 30, 2017 Thanks youpapalite for the advice. Have started to collect some carboard from supermarket which dispose them outside. This is mass renovation so I don't expect much for the workmanship but things like tiles laid evenly, toilet door close properly is a must Better double check and triple check every thing while they are still within your area. Or else very hard to get hold of them to rectify the faults for you. Can purchase toilet lights, mirrors etc etc get them install for you. Tile wise, for my toilet some areas not even. But doesn't really bother me as i cannot imagine going through the hacking etc again. haha. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator January 30, 2017 Share January 30, 2017 i would advice to ask the other family members to stay at friends or relatives place for that 10 days, leave one person who stay around in the house to watch the worker. if ppssible, move all furniture into one or two room then seal it up. minimize the area and stuff that you need to clean up after the project. also opt out the toilet inside your house, just use the temporary toilet at void deck. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
george78 1st Gear January 30, 2017 Share January 30, 2017 If midnight want to use toilet downstairs will be very inconvenient. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic January 30, 2017 Share January 30, 2017 2 weeks no own toilet is very suffer man :( 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator January 30, 2017 Share January 30, 2017 2 weeks no own toilet is very suffer man :(back to kampong life, last time went back to my grandmother place in malacca, the toilet cubicle was in the middle of thw chicken farm, have to go through that in order to shee shee 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged January 30, 2017 Share January 30, 2017 This is mass renovation so I don't expect much for the workmanship but things like tiles laid evenly, toilet door close properly is a must maybe you think nothing about it now ... but you must check the toilet flooring when its done ...flooring will be slightly angled toward the drainage hole so that the water will flow into it else you will have puddles in your toilet. that happened to my family long time ago when we did not check. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
george78 1st Gear January 30, 2017 Share January 30, 2017 You can specifically request for a hdb officer to come to your house to conduct a check for you after the works are done. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jman888 Moderator January 30, 2017 Share January 30, 2017 also take note that the are many different sub contractors in a hip project and many workers also like to ask you if you need extra services such as electrical and paint job. electrical if handle by a licensed guy still ok, but i heard for paint job by those workers are not legal, if the main con find out, these workers can be sacked and deported. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Christan Turbocharged January 30, 2017 Author Share January 30, 2017 maybe you think nothing about it now ... but you must check the toilet flooring when its done ...flooring will be slightly angled toward the drainage hole so that the water will flow into it else you will have puddles in your toilet. that happened to my family long time ago when we did not check. Never though of this. Even my current bathroom flooring can see some puddles of water at some sections, not flowing into drainage hole. Will check this point. Thanks for the heads-up. also take note that the are many different sub contractors in a hip project and many workers also like to ask you if you need extra services such as electrical and paint job. electrical if handle by a licensed guy still ok, but i heard for paint job by those workers are not legal, if the main con find out, these workers can be sacked and deported. Will not be doing any paint job. Probably require works for only bathroom fixtures & water heater 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tianmo Hypersonic January 30, 2017 Share January 30, 2017 do they still hack ?? i thot all using overlays now ... faster and less dirty. anyway my house renovated 5 years ago ... so will "miss" the HIP for my estate .... only opted for a new door and gate. even only these two items, wonder when will it be done .... has been half a year since we did the poll. dun have too much hopes on the tile selection ... we only had 2 choices here in tampines. Bro, where do you house your family when you renovate you place ah? Thinking of doing a total renovation for my place. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ysc3 Twincharged January 30, 2017 Share January 30, 2017 Bro, where do you house your family when you renovate you place ah? Thinking of doing a total renovation for my place. sorry can't help ... mine was resale flat ... unoccupied. however a colleague of mine stayed in a hotel apt for the 6 weeks of his reno + one week compliments of the contractor as they could not complete the reno in the contracted time. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Showster Twincharged January 31, 2017 Share January 31, 2017 Also may need to watch out for the aircon pipings and where they are working. A friend of mine had to redo some of these after they were affected. But that is a rare problem. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic January 31, 2017 Share January 31, 2017 This was what the contractor did to my fren's flat recently during the HIP. He moved to his daughter's place to stay during that period. It was during christmas. Lucky he dont celebrate christmas, if not sure.......... I tot the sealing up of the whole place was done pretty well and confine the dust to the pathway. ↡ Advertisement 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...