Kusje Supersonic July 25, 2017 Share July 25, 2017 In times of war, will non-SAFRA members be activated ? Sorry, can't help it. [laugh] Safra members will be activated and serve for 1 month (time taken to receive the voucher). Non-safra members to serve for 6 months. ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic July 25, 2017 Share July 25, 2017 (edited) Don't remind me of recall manning hor... those saf clerks (hope none of them are here) really CMI. I remember when i was mob manning area/detachment I/C or 2 or 3 I/C, that time i was staying in serangoon, with postal code starting with '55', then they gave me a list of people in my detachment for one manning period. As you know, those days no handphone, so when activated, supposed to call the home phone of the people. If first time no answer, call again after a while. If still no answer, then must go to the house and paste stickers on the door, to show got inform them... That time either studying or just started working, didn't have car. So the area/detachment listing is supposed to consist of only people near/around the same few blocks, so can easily walk there to paste sticker while on the way to reporting. And I remember my list got 2 pax the address postal code started with '53'... bloody clerks siao ones. Think 55 and 53 just next door. One is serangoon and the other is hougang, if walk there will need 1 hr! Called up chief clerk to complain, and she got a NS clerk to answer and said oh, didn't realise that... said will adjust it next time blah blah, and that hope no need to go knock door/paste sticker if they are contactable via phone, etc etc. then the next manning period, it was still the same thing. I fed up called up wanna scream, then was told the previous clerk ROD'ed already... so the new one took over did not know... TMD. i was also an area ic. I think my time recall manning was at it's infancy...back in 86. If not wrong we were the 1st guinea pigs for the exercise. Knn.....an auntie slammed the door on me sia after telling me her grandson was not in. I still remembered the ns man...my platoon 1 mate. Had to paste the sticker on the gate to prove I was there. The recall manning 2ic had disappeared and i had to pickup his slack.....nb!Wah.....July 16 2017 was exactly 30 since yrs i ROD. Edited July 25, 2017 by Eviilusion Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Adrianli Hypersonic July 25, 2017 Share July 25, 2017 Lucky, during my time, already got pager. And I had to activate everyone on my list when Silkair went down. That was the first time I had to do activation. There were two more subsequent activation. That time mine was Standby Force 2(SBF), within 4hrs must report back. SBF1 was within 2hrs must report back. The first vessel sailed within 2hrs of activation when Silkair went down. A few guys didnt make it to the first vessel and came to ours. We are the second vessel to sail. Really ka lang ka bo then. It was my first real time activation. Got to activate the guys, call their pager and wait for their return call and then I had to prepare the engines and ship for sailing. Top up freshwater and fuel. Got to pull huge hoses, operate valves and monitor tank levels. All one man show, cos I was the only one on duty. Lucky, some other vessels' duty personnel help me take over the "wait for their return call part". Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Cook123 Supercharged July 25, 2017 Share July 25, 2017 Hmm How come I din get mine yet I MRed last year Maybe they missed me Haha Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic July 25, 2017 Share July 25, 2017 Next time call back and say you hurt your leg. Can't walk anymore. Demand they send safety rover as you were on official duty. If i knew how to keng at that time, i prob won't end up having that type of shitty NS and reservist life leh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic July 25, 2017 Share July 25, 2017 i was also an area ic. I think my time recall manning was at it's infancy...back in 86. If not wrong we were the 1st guinea pigs for the exercise. Knn.....an auntie slammed the door on me sia after telling me her grandson was not in. I still remembered the ns man...my platoon 1 mate. Had to paste the sticker on the gate to prove I was there. The recall manning 2ic had disappeared and i had to pickup his slack.....nb! Wah.....July 16 2017 was exactly 30 since yrs i ROD. ok u more lao jiao. 30 yr ago next mar, i just enlisting... talk about kanna activation, from silent mob to later open mob, all the mob here mob there. I wonder now if mob and just nice got MRT breakdown, can use that as excuse don't go back or not I even kanna one time after we disrupted for univ., my unit CO Fri late afternoon tell whole unit early book out. Then at 6.30 pm turnout, technical recall, all to go back camp. Our unit mono intake one, but the 7 of us pai-miah NCOs were one year older got through many courses before joining the men. So we disrupted to go univ already, but the unit still called us to go back. Lucky I called up S3 and he confirmed cock'ed up, didn't need call us... one of my friends apparently sotong and actually went back Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic July 25, 2017 Share July 25, 2017 ok u more lao jiao. 30 yr ago next mar, i just enlisting... talk about kanna activation, from silent mob to later open mob, all the mob here mob there. I wonder now if mob and just nice got MRT breakdown, can use that as excuse don't go back or not I even kanna one time after we disrupted for univ., my unit CO Fri late afternoon tell whole unit early book out. Then at 6.30 pm turnout, technical recall, all to go back camp. Our unit mono intake one, but the 7 of us pai-miah NCOs were one year older got through many courses before joining the men. So we disrupted to go univ already, but the unit still called us to go back. Lucky I called up S3 and he confirmed cock'ed up, didn't need call us... one of my friends apparently sotong and actually went back worst standby i had was durng reservist.......A coy was duty company and whole unit was given pagers. A coy spent 2 days of CNY in Tanjung Gul and B coy took over after that. Saturday night the day we booked out the pagers went beep beep at 2am. Made a call to unit and they said no activation....nb. Some of the guys went back expecting an activation. Nearly all the men were given pagers with weak batteries which gave out the beep beep sound when battery were dying.....kns. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic July 25, 2017 Share July 25, 2017 If i knew how to keng at that time, i prob won't end up having that type of shitty NS and reservist life leh... You served 2.5 years of NS without learning how to geng? I almost never geng during NS but I've learned so much about it that I love teaching others how to geng. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic July 25, 2017 Share July 25, 2017 worst standby i had was durng reservist.......A coy was duty company and whole unit was given pagers. A coy spent 2 days of CNY in Tanjung Gul and B coy took over after that. Saturday night the day we booked out the pagers went beep beep at 2am. Made a call to unit and they said no activation....nb. Some of the guys went back expecting an activation. Nearly all the men were given pagers with weak batteries which gave out the beep beep sound when battery were dying.....kns. wah si bey suay then... for nothing went back camp at 2 am during CNY period for false alarm... Can charge the CQ for providing weak batts or not? Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Evillusion Supersonic July 25, 2017 Share July 25, 2017 wah si bey suay then... for nothing went back camp at 2 am during CNY period for false alarm... Can charge the CQ for providing weak batts or not? i went back on Sunday night as there was training the nx day......whole camp was buzzing and alive...hahaha! Some told me they came back in the morning after the pager alarm.......but cos was blur and said no activation. As the camp was at Tanjung Gul they just decided to spend the sunday in-camp......they got no transport and taking the bus was like..... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Enye Hypersonic July 25, 2017 Share July 25, 2017 If i knew how to keng at that time, i prob won't end up having that type of shitty NS and reservist life leh... bo keng buay chut peng lao jiao taught me one Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic July 25, 2017 Share July 25, 2017 You served 2.5 years of NS without learning how to geng? I almost never geng during NS but I've learned so much about it that I love teaching others how to geng. yah lah, stupid cos school never taught leh. we geng'ed within the army, like the various exercises how to geng don't do so much, but didn't learn how to siam wholesale leh... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic July 25, 2017 Share July 25, 2017 yah lah, stupid cos school never taught leh. we geng'ed within the army, like the various exercises how to geng don't do so much, but didn't learn how to siam wholesale leh... Siam wholesale? You mean don't serve NS? I also dunno. If you know of any guru, let me know as I also want to learn. Actually, I do know one chap called Patrick who didn't really serve NS but I doubt his excuse can be used by the rest of us. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic July 25, 2017 Share July 25, 2017 bo keng buay chut peng lao jiao taught me one Don't lie. Tiagong you are the one who came up with that saying. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic July 25, 2017 Share July 25, 2017 i went back on Sunday night as there was training the nx day......whole camp was buzzing and alive...hahaha! Some told me they came back in the morning after the pager alarm.......but cos was blur and said no activation. As the camp was at Tanjung Gul they just decided to spend the sunday in-camp......they got no transport and taking the bus was like..... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic July 25, 2017 Share July 25, 2017 those people just too much... Re my earlier case of turnout, what happened (the full story) was this: i enlisted in mar 88, posted to unit operational in 1st ABG (armoured battle group) in Jul 89 - as NCO! Whole unit mono intake was enlisted in dec 88, one year younger than us. 7 of us NCOs were due to disrupt in Jun 90 to go univ, then on the day we were disrupting to go cmpb to change pink IC, guards stopped us and directed us to unit board room. S1 and S3 apologised to us, saying there's a problem, cos unit forgot to indent our replacement. So the first and only operational ABG at that time, our platoon will have no NCOs!!! They had activated replacement, but training takes 3 mth, and they could only get 4 max. So they explained that the unit (even said country) needed our help and understanding for the next 3 mth, in that should the button be pressed for real emergency, will still need us to go back, even though we would be civilian in univ.... WTF!!! what can we say, right? so LL lor... but S3 promised us that if so suay need to touch us, then it should mean really going to war type... and then within a month, on a Fri evening the CO wanted to test the readiness and response of the unit, tried the technical recall. And those idiots included us in the list!!! I remembered i just reached home after a long day of lectures, si bey shacked, then tio the call... Lucky i called back asked S3 - to which he said no need go back... Else it's likely min 1.5 hr to travel to sungei gedong... btw, we heard our men said during that 3 mth got no NCOs, three of the men kanna arrowed to be acting section commanders, went to attend OC ops orders... you can imagine what type of disasters can happen You could have just said no. They can explain all they want, just tell them that no one is indispensable right? You remind me of this chap I had in my S3 dept. He was a distruptee who came back to serve his remaining 6 months. The S3 also requested him (using the same manipulative tactics used on you) to extend his ORD by a few weeks so he could go on an overseas exercise... Moron accepted lol. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic July 25, 2017 Share July 25, 2017 yah, later i also know. that type excuse how to everyone can use? we no such privilege lah... This one need to blame your lau peh. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Nolicense Turbocharged July 25, 2017 Share July 25, 2017 7 of us NCOs were due to disrupt in Jun 90 to go univ, then on the day we were disrupting to go cmpb to change pink IC, guards stopped us and directed us to unit board room. S1 and S3 apologised to us, saying there's a problem, cos unit forgot to indent our replacement. So the first and only operational ABG at that time, our platoon will have no NCOs!!! They had activated replacement, but training takes 3 mth, and they could only get 4 max. That's not unexpected. some places get no replacements, some places got surplus.. and they don't know why. the yearly cycle of changing commanders is too disruptive and messy. and there is no redundancy, even if they say 2IC can take over. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...