Toddler suffers severe peanut allergy reaction on Singapore Airlines flight

Kb27

get a private jet then.

Entitled mentality and I agree that the father should know better, being a doctor

Ya. Entitled mentality for those who against stop serving nuts in cabin.

[smash]

What if the particular route budget do not fly.. If need to take budget means change many flights. How?

It's a difficult things to solve actually.. But on thing for sure.. Flying in the air, anything happened, it is confined to enclosed space in the plane. Whereas, if anything happened outside of flying, one can choose to avoid the area or someone could actually drag the person out to a place where he/she could breathe in fresh air.. Outside flying, call ambulance, within minutes ambulance come, in the air, even if emergency landing also need at least 10 to 15minutes to land.

So the difference is big and there are just a lot of consideration.

Plus, if the person is died from nut allergies on board the plane, the family may sue the airlines, so how to solve this difficult thing?

A simple question to the airlines will do. "Do you serve nuts ?? " Still got many other airlines to take lah .... 

i'm pretty sure airasia don't serve nuts. I think jetstar/scoot does.

If the child has a known peanut allergy, then the father should already have an epi-pen ready when traveling.

My daughter has an egg allergy. KKH refused to give me an epi-pen claiming it isn't necessary.

Not sure if I should bang table or not.

exactly the point here I feel.  

Like for me, bearing my condition, I need to wear a mask so that i do not contract any flu/cold etc easily.  I dun expect ppl to wear masks right to suit me....

Consideration of ownself lor

My daughter has an egg allergy. KKH refused to give me an epi-pen claiming it isn't necessary.

dun eat egg lor....

Hmm, the only ones i know with epi-pen are nut allergy sufferers. It's less common in our local context anyway.

Caucasians are worse sufferers.

many kids allergy to egg at young age but will slowly overcome when they grow up.

if the family of the affected and the affected do not take steps to ownself protect ownself, but yet demand that the rest of the world give way, then how long can the affected survive in this world?

it's been shown that early introduction of allergens (egg whites and nuts) before the supposed 1-2 year mark reduces allergies.

well i empathise with the parents, it's freaking scary seeing your kid breathless and face all swollen up, but the rational approach is not to cocoon your child.

might as well ban someone from eating peanuts in a lift or bus or MRT train (oh yeah this one really is banned lol) then.

is she allergic to a type of protein within the egg?

i draw that conclusion because there are people who are allergic to cats and dogs. the long held view is that they are allergic to the fur. in reality, they are more likely allergic to the protein in the saliva of the cats/dogs. Esp for cats which groom their fur using their fur, their saliva is transferred to your hand when you pet them.

"There are seven known cat allergens.  They are shed in saliva, skin secretions, and, to some extent, in urine.  The major cat allergen is a protein called “Fel d 1” that is secreted primarily in the cat’s saliva and skin, and transmitted throughout the coat during grooming.  Dried skin particles (commonly referred to as dander) may contain the offending protein, although it is important to remember that the allergen is not an integral part of dander or the coat itself." http://jacksongalaxy.com/blog/2014/08/28/allergic-to-cats

"Dogs produce multiple allergens, or proteins that can cause allergy. These allergens are found in dog hair, dander, saliva and urine. All dogs produce allergens; studies have not shown that dogs can be hypoallergenic (not cause allergy). Dog allergen levels increase if the dog lives indoors and are higher in the rooms where a dog is allowed." http://acaai.org/allergies/types/pet-allergy

if the family of the affected and the affected do not take steps to ownself protect ownself, but yet demand that the rest of the world give way, then how long can the affected survive in this world?

I agree.

I have not heard of this condition until it came out in yesterday's papers.

Just thinking out loud, could this situation have been avoided if the parents had used some child-friendly mask ?

I like all nuts and by that I really mean all nuts   :D ...... :wub:   

I just want to  only  :a-ban:  COE ......... die die govt no 1 to listen to me; I cannot live up to my name  [bigcry]

Nuts - people got allergy - fly Budget Airline lah

Prawns - people got no allergy?? - then Vegetarian how??? 

Ok lah then give Pop Corn How??? ...... eeee sticky hand marks (sweet type ) all over then diabetics take offence; want salted type..........

it just does not end

Cashew nuts...... cost issue surely 

Banana Chips or Carrot Chips can ... :wut:

post-21853-0-24103300-1500602552.jpg

post-21853-0-55214200-1500602563.jpg

post-21853-0-63795800-1500602572.jpg

Banana Chips or Carrot Chips can ... :wut:

Costing and also handling more difficult as this type of chips are more fragile (easy to break and will powder easily) Peanuts are strong and less powder  forming  

yup. it's been shown children have less allergic conditions when they grow up with a pet.

Someone who grew up on a animal farm, is less likely to have any allergic condition (asthma, eczema, allergic rhinitis) than an urban dwelling child by a factor of 3.

is she allergic to a type of protein within the egg?

i draw that conclusion because there are people who are allergic to cats and dogs. the long held view is that they are allergic to the fur. in reality, they are more likely allergic to the protein in the saliva of the cats/dogs. Esp for cats which groom their fur using their fur, their saliva is transferred to your hand when you pet them.

"There are seven known cat allergens.  They are shed in saliva, skin secretions, and, to some extent, in urine.  The major cat allergen is a protein called “Fel d 1” that is secreted primarily in the cat’s saliva and skin, and transmitted throughout the coat during grooming.  Dried skin particles (commonly referred to as dander) may contain the offending protein, although it is important to remember that the allergen is not an integral part of dander or the coat itself." http://jacksongalaxy.com/blog/2014/08/28/allergic-to-cats

"Dogs produce multiple allergens, or proteins that can cause allergy. These allergens are found in dog hair, dander, saliva and urine. All dogs produce allergens; studies have not shown that dogs can be hypoallergenic (not cause allergy). Dog allergen levels increase if the dog lives indoors and are higher in the rooms where a dog is allowed." http://acaai.org/allergies/types/pet-allergy

exactly the point here I feel.  

Like for me, bearing my condition, I need to wear a mask so that i do not contract any flu/cold etc easily.  I dun expect ppl to wear masks right to suit me....

Consideration of ownself lor

dun eat egg lor....

OK, your next oversea trip, I lend mine to you. Can choose either one ... :we-all-gonna-die:

post-21853-0-74567600-1500603541.jpg

post-21853-0-38449100-1500603555.jpg

post-21853-0-54254900-1500603568.jpg