Exercising and losing weight

ODC

Hi guys. New to this thread. Fulfilled my new year resolution of regular exercise. Does regular running of 7km at least 4 times per week and some free weights in the gym thrice weekly too. Been quite disciplined largely due to fact I have more time now after losing my job in October last year. Honestly though my weight is still the same after 8 weeks of training, I really feel stronger,more alert and healthy. I am touching 50 soon.

That's great to hear except the job loss part.

Welcome here. I'm not as disciplined as you  [laugh]

9 for 2.4 is really the “tekong “ - Respect jway jway.

Mine is the opposite, NS time always almost fail type. Reservist time always silver type cos money made the legs go round (faster).

post-59158-0-46474500-1551688841.jpg

That's great to hear except the job loss part.

Welcome here. I'm not as disciplined as you [laugh]

During the LNY weeks I was very disciplined - ba lu wu jiak, bo zao bo chiong suah.

During the LNY weeks I was very disciplined - ba lu wu jiak, bo zao bo chiong suah.ð Thatâs the very reason everything backed to square one (round actually).

Welcome to this fraternity.

Iâm sure you also find going up the stairs at the mrt station a breeze while the peak hour commuters waiting to get on the escalator.

To be very honest I am a foodie. I have attempted to be careful in diet but occasionally I fall short and gave in to temptation like chwee Kueh, carrot cake and roti Prata. I dun think I can give up totally.

You guys are really good runners. I've hit 10 for 2.4 once in my lifetime when I was 19 years old. Never even once come close to it after that.

So sad, I’ve never come close to 10...even silver were because I aged and time added by the kind mindef...

Edited by mersaylee

So sad, I’ve never come close to 10...even silver were because I aged and time added by the kind mindef...

11:30 is my best ever.

Ok lah. Just live with whatever you are given and come close to 80% of that previous speed.

And save your knees for the same number of yearsð

I've been running since 14 till NS. Stopped for a decade maybe? Only ran for ICT IPPT.

Heng my knees still ok

11:30 is my best ever.

Ok lah. Just live with whatever you are given and come close to 80% of that previous speed.

I think my best was around that too (11:37 iirc) when the passing time was like 12:20. I achieved that on my rod ippt.

Funny part was I asked a platoon mate who would sure pass the run easily to pace me from start but at half way point he said he had to run away liao if not he’d fail. Then near the last quarter mark I saw him bending down and was vomiting profusely into the lokang. He tried to resume to run but only to vomit again after a few steps. I thought got chance to catch up with him then I should be able to pass the test. Suddenly, he sprinted away like an antelope and l lost sight of him. I was like what the...!? Vomited until liddat still can chiong!?

Was going to just give it up then came one guy sprinting from behind using me as target marker. I used him back instead as push factor and used the front runners as pull factor to catch up one by one to achieve my PB

I think my best was around that too (11:37 iirc) when the passing time was like 12:20. I achieved that on my rod ippt.

Funny part was I asked a platoon mate who would sure pass the run easily to pace me from start but at half way point he said he had to run away liao if not he’d fail. Then near the last quarter mark I saw him bending down and was vomiting profusely into the lokang. He tried to resume to run but only to vomit again after a few steps. I thought got chance to catch up with him then I should be able to pass the test. Suddenly, he sprinted away like an antelope and l lost sight of him. I was like what the...!? Vomited until liddat still can chiong!?

Was going to just give it up then came one guy sprinting from behind using me as target marker. I used him back instead as push factor and used the front runners as pull factor to catch up one by one to achieve my PB

You go commando one .. diff ..  :a-fun:

There's a couple of commando over at the SOF turned Monk thread. 

I attempt 2.4km every week at around 10m45s, follow by 12 chin ups and 50 push ups (no timing). Got slim eventually.

I've been running since 14 till NS. Stopped for a decade maybe? Only ran for ICT IPPT.

Heng my knees still ok ð

It maybe reporting bias from the papers. But those ultra or marathoners in their 60s or 70s featured usually said they started running much later in their life. Edited by TangoCharlie

my PB for 2.4 was when i was in sec sch.. 8:45 officially. NS time also around the same, all under 9.

this is my PB since i ROD. only April last year while taking part in the MCF 10x10 challenge

post-1798-0-87237400-1551759926_thumb.jpg

since then, i've never been able to go under 10 again. 

haven't run 2.4km so far this year, but my best timing was 11:23 in Feb for 2.5km.

Even if i reduce 23s for 100m to 2.4km, it's only 11 mins. far from my best.

i really wonder how i managed to run that kind of pace last time  :XD: