Exercising and losing weight

ODC

On 5/17/2024 at 12:55 PM, TangoCharlie said:

Haha, not so hiong. Going for 50km Oxfam trailwalker in Korea. So I finish at CP5. 

Screenshot_20240517-125135.png

This type of hike, is it got bus waiting at the end point? Else how are you going back to the hotel? Walk back another 50km?

On 5/17/2024 at 12:55 PM, TangoCharlie said:

Haha, not so hiong. Going for 50km Oxfam trailwalker in Korea. So I finish at CP5. 

Screenshot_20240517-125135.png

you all very strong. I hiked maybe 450m in elevation in Grampians (from a 300+m carpark to 700+m at the peak) and already quite shack out liao.  

On 5/17/2024 at 1:59 PM, Ender said:

This type of hike, is it got bus waiting at the end point? Else how are you going back to the hotel? Walk back another 50km?

There's transport back. 

On 5/17/2024 at 2:25 PM, Lala81 said:

you all very strong. I hiked maybe 450m in elevation in Grampians (from a 300+m carpark to 700+m at the peak) and already quite shack out liao.  

Hence the training... It's my first time to cover a 50km event. 

On 5/16/2024 at 11:01 PM, Ender said:

One week (3 more weeks to go) into my Creatine loading, already can see significant improvement in my training. Most obvious is recovery.  Since last Saturday, I haven't felt much fatigue or any. Other thing is the ability of tackling my training. Threshold and interval felt easier. Can see why this is call the legal 'drug'.

Resting HR in the morning dropped from 47-50, to 40-42. from day 3 of loading til today. HRV range increase from 32-39, to 42-52. Metric in Coros apps also see the step jump, like the recovery index.

To me, Exercise volume together with creatine works.

In this video are some other benefits, but I think may not be as significant as the benefits for those who exercise.

I realise ur HRV and mine has a huge gap. is lower or higher better?

image.thumb.png.42ee7c294baaa93f8a4efad38fb95217.png

On 5/17/2024 at 6:13 PM, Theoldjaffa said:

Higher numbers are usually found more on the younger and higher athletics performer.  But I read it is also highly individualized.

On 5/17/2024 at 6:43 PM, Ender said:

Higher numbers are usually found more on the younger and higher athletics performer.  But I read it is also highly individualized.

I see, cos I see my peer who is quite fit but his HRV is in the 50s range so I wonder what HRV really means

On 5/17/2024 at 7:02 PM, Theoldjaffa said:

I see, cos I see my peer who is quite fit but his HRV is in the 50s range so I wonder what HRV really means

HRV is the gap btw each heart beat.

It is measured in milliseconds.

For pro athletes, they usually has a long gap (high HRV).

Usually, it is used to measure recovery.

You have look at your own HRV and resting HR over a period of time.

You have a really big heart. Your RHR is really low👍🏻

On 5/17/2024 at 8:14 PM, inlinesix said:

HRV is the gap btw each heart beat.

It is measured in milliseconds.

For pro athletes, they usually has a long gap (high HRV).

Usually, it is used to measure recovery.

You have look at your own HRV and resting HR over a period of time.

You have a really big heart. Your RHR is really low👍🏻

I think the Garmin watch is not that zhun cos when I go for health checks it’s usually 52-55. My next one is due in early July. See what it says 🫣

On 5/17/2024 at 8:34 PM, Theoldjaffa said:

I think the Garmin watch is not that zhun cos when I go for health checks it’s usually 52-55. My next one is due in early July. See what it says 🫣

You can download HRV4Training app for validation.

Measure it once you wake up.

Edited by inlinesix

On 5/17/2024 at 8:34 PM, Theoldjaffa said:

Ownself do in the morning. Can check when wake up, and after pang Jio. Sit down, relax a min, start.

Nike outlet at changi city point having sale. 2 items @ 30% discount and 3 items 40% shop wide. And discount actually on marked down prices.

Eg 3 pairs of socks was 45, marked down to $9.90 and still applicable for discount. Same for many shoe models. Got a pair of daily wear sneakers for $49 after discount where original price $165 marked down to $69.90.

On 5/18/2024 at 9:26 PM, Kxbc said:

Nike outlet at changi city point having sale. 2 items @ 30% discount and 3 items 40% shop wide. And discount actually on marked down prices.

Eg 3 pairs of socks was 45, marked down to $9.90 and still applicable for discount. Same for many shoe models. Got a pair of daily wear sneakers for $49 after discount where original price $165 marked down to $69.90.

Sale until when?

Wah... You resting heart rate is elite athletes range.

The new Garmin Connect interface is really bad... also can't switch back after updated....

On 5/17/2024 at 12:37 PM, Ender said:

Not just my experience, new studies are supporting it. It just seems like there's a major sponsor for Creatine that encouraging scientist to discover more new benefits outside from strength and high intensity workout.🤣 Very evil.

For me Creatine main benefit for my sports is recovery. As long I don't feel fatigue, and feel energized everyday for new workout, I consider it works. And so far, it works..

Downside is I suspect it might increase my risk of gout. I haven't had an attack for year ever since I lower my Thyroid meds to half tab every other day.

On day 4, my left foot felt a dull pain, which is familiar onset of gout I had in past. But that was resolved after my run when I drank lots of water. Day 5 -7, totally pain free, seems like it's gone.  Changes is I took Creatine mixed into 800ml of water (max level for my shaker) instead of the recommended 8 oz on the label. And I just drank more water than usual.

I took creatine syrup during my NS, no loading required... Just take 30mins before exercise routine. 

It does delay the muscle fatigue...That was also when I did my highest number of pull up during IPPT.

Now I only take BCAA before going for resistance training. Then take protein shake after. 

On 5/18/2024 at 11:23 PM, Atonchia said:

Wah... You resting heart rate is elite athletes range.

The new Garmin Connect interface is really bad... also can't switch back after updated....

I kinda gotten used to the interface liao and I like it better than the previous one 🫣

wah… jin elite fit zai

cannot bluff de

👍💪