Exercising and losing weight

ODC

On 11/24/2025 at 1:21 PM, Enye said:

No 3 highs and no money… don’t say regular cardiologist, never seen one before

Peasant better to live in blissful ignorance ba

one day if collapse and mati, will come back and haunt this thread

😬😂

If you believe in apples and tree, just see how your parents and older relatives are doing.....

I look around and have some inklings. 😭

On 11/25/2025 at 9:28 AM, TangoCharlie said:

If you believe in apples and tree, just see how your parents and older relatives are doing.....

both of you, your activity levels are all like top 2-3% of your age group. not so easy to tio dai ji one lah...

On 11/25/2025 at 9:28 AM, TangoCharlie said:

Wah boss… now I develop depression

according to apples and trees, I have 10 years left

😬🥲

On 11/25/2025 at 9:59 AM, Enye said:

😬🥲

Choose to believe durian and tree instead lah...no bao jiak one 😁

On 11/25/2025 at 9:38 AM, Lala81 said:

both of you, your activity levels are all like top 2-3% of your age group. not so easy to tio dai ji one lah...

On 11/25/2025 at 9:59 AM, Enye said:

😬🥲

There's 命,there's 运. 

Former can't do much. Latter up to you lo.😄💪

On 11/24/2025 at 9:48 AM, Matoonia said:

I did CT Angiogram scan. 

image.thumb.png.bc87d1e8f4fb69c73d24a8294836465e.png

Yes, i started taking statins for first time from Sep 2022, and it came down in 6 months. Then act smart stopped for 1 year cos I read it's not good long term, and so it came back with vengeance all time high + 50% blockage. cardio said in my case LDL has to maintain below 1.8. Sep 2024 was the best readings cos I was scared out of hell when cardio said i had 10% chance of heart attack in next 10 years, so i was super disciplined. 

Once you start taking statins the body (liver) are suppress from producing LDL. But once you stop the body will auto compensate it and increase the production of LDL to make it up.

Just my theory 😅

On 11/25/2025 at 10:57 AM, Giordanogavin said:

Once you start taking statins the body (liver) are suppress from producing LDL. But once you stop the body will auto compensate it and increase the production of LDL to make it up.

Just my theory 😅

Yes, in fact right from start the doc already told me once start statins cannot stop de. But I act smart stopped for 1 year.

Luckily i still did the lipids testing after 1 year. The clinic also called me immediately once the result is out telling me to see a doc immediately. Had I not done the test, god knows how high it will climb to maybe already return NRIC liao. When i went back to the clinic the doc lectured me for 10 mins. first time kena scolding by doc.. 

Funny thing is physically I felt very good during the time when i stopped the statins and my LDL is sky high. when i told my colleague they also shocked cos I looked healthy. So after this I realise that 'Fit' and 'Healthy' is very different. My fre's husband who is elite national runner passed away from heart attack in 2022 and also read in news so many seemingly fit people just drop dead. I've also seen skinny people have 3 highs, while sedentary bui bui can have very normal readings. So just do what you can control and rest leave to Him

On 11/25/2025 at 10:57 AM, Giordanogavin said:

Just my theory 😅

This is like the rebound effect Omeprazole. There are strategy to ween of meds like Omeprazole via tapering the dosage over a few weeks. Don't know about statins.

On 11/25/2025 at 11:57 AM, Ender said:

This is like the rebound effect Omeprazole. There are strategy to ween of meds like Omeprazole via tapering the dosage over a few weeks. Don't know about statins.

no point one if you have already optimised your diet and your weight is stable.

On 11/25/2025 at 9:38 AM, Lala81 said:

Everyone can increase their activity level thru NEAT. 

I have been purchasing this HelloRide 90 days pass as cost saving for travel and errands around my neighborhood. These are low intensity ride with HR like leisure walking.

Since the beginning of 2025, 193.5 hours of cycling. That is like 240 minutes per week, more than HPB guideline of 150minute just from NEAT.

image.png.e320c622755edf9f35d669e4c0df5274.png

On 11/26/2025 at 2:24 AM, Ender said:

Even the GOAT of marathon has to wear a CGM. LOL.  It's part of their training, very sure he is not diabetic.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/568548357142506?multi_permalinks=1797613014236028&hoisted_section_header_type=recently_seen

590605276_2298943543910963_9129369949031

probably just trying to figure out a personalised refueling plan for him. When to take the gels etc. 

Shocking to those who say health is 80% diet and 20% exercise. According to him, the study shows dieting alone without exercise shows no reduction in risk for all-cause mortality.  Dieting will work when coupled with exercise to produce the best outcome.