Exercising and losing weight

ODC

Crossfit is a very effective way of keeping fit. Rich Froning is the guy who got me interested in CF. He dominated for a couple years. Yesterday night watched channel 209, and saw the women competing. All of them even if bulky can see 6 pac one. And has the strength to boot, not just good to see but not nice to eat. They can easily clean 200+ over pounds, when I think my max is only 100+ pounds nia. They do muscle ups all no laksa when i struggle to do even 1 [smallcry]

Have to get back into my routine soon..

Edited by Matoonia

You can also take video. @Lala81 also can take video. All inspirational stories.

Cannot liao lah.

When I started, it was more of tulan, buay cum wan, and anger more than inspiration. 

Now is NVNT liao. Ppl look at me now, i think nobody will believe my story, except those who saw me before and after.  [:p]  [laugh]  [laugh]

You don't look honest. [laugh] [laugh]

Becoz now he look like fit zai mah. No one believe he was a pai kar last time.

This one worth buying ? Seems good price. Just want to do weighted squats, lunges, ..

$69.90 for 3kg, dumb bell / bar bell convertible

http://jmall.sg/dumbbell-barbell-package-sets/1605-10kg-black-versatile-dumbbell-set.html

Lazada got similar one, same price but 20kg only.

https://www.lazada.sg/products/20kg-2-in-1-convertible-barbell-dumbbell-set-20kg-weights-bar-bell-dumb-bell-i7022237-s8890086.html

Jmall is now under JiJi, they have a showroom at 62 sungei kadut loop ground floor, and a warehouse cum showroom at 62 Ubi Road, #01-38, Oxley Bizhub 2, if you want can go take a look at the weights.

I actually went to the sungei kadut one to test the pull up rack, but buy from homegym.  [:p]  [laugh]  [laugh]

I think worth buying or not really depends on oneself, if you need it and feel happy with it, is worth it liao.  [thumbsup]

So lao seet lang, the dumbbell/barbell set can buy boh ?

If I, I will buy lor.  If not I will be thinking everyday.  Anyway comparing to those sports shops, these are consider good buy [:p]  [laugh]  [laugh]

Edited by Tianmo

I think, one should eat less junk food and exercise more. This will help you to lose weight and keep you fit. Regular exercise will surely helps you to lose weight. Eat sprouts, green tea, follow the diet and take warm water in that put honey and lemon. This will keep your weight in balance. 

just got back my blood test result.

total red blood cell count just below the range and MCV is slightly elevated. all other blood indicators are ok.

doctor says no concern, i also no concern but just curious why this is so since i would have thought regular exercise would have helped to increase RBC since we need more RBC to help carry more oxygen to our muscles during exercise.

anyone who is regular in their exercise seeing the same blood test result?

I guess exercises that push you for air for a long duration of time. I.e work the circulatory system hard for some time. For running, it would be a 30min or more tempo run. Just guessing.

And eat beef for iron.

Edited by Ender

Maybe he has to do more exercise to increase lactate threshold.

Maybe. I don't even know if my runs are tempo or lactate threshold runs. Just know it's not a comfortable run, but something I can hold til I reach my goal distance and getting very shag out at the end.

What's your routine like ?

2 x weights session per week

• approx 45 min per session
  • depending on exercise, each exercise is 3-4 sets @ 8-12 reps per set with the heaviest kg i can do with good form or it can be a body weight exercise
  • rest between each set is around 45 sec to 1 min (i count to estimate recovery time)
  • rest between each exercise is around 1 min plus
  • basically is more or less worn out after 45 min.

1 to 2 runs per week - usually between 3km to 5km per run, at the fastest pace i can run and shag out at the end of the run. sometimes might sub a run with a HIIT run. Not a (fast) runner and don't enjoy runs but i understand the benefits of it so i force myself to run.

Maybe. I don't even know if my runs are tempo or lactate threshold runs. Just know it's not a comfortable run, but something I can hold til I reach my goal distance and getting very shag out at the end.

You are doing tempo run la.  Need to learn to go slow to increase variety in your run.

With lactate threshold run, VO2 max will increase which will increase red blood cell.

You are doing tempo run la. Need to learn to go slow to increase variety in your run.

With lactate threshold run, VO2 max will increase which will increase red blood cell.

How should you feel in lactate threshold runs? It is not easy to determine what state of the run you are in? I guess yesterday 90mins run was a lactate threshold run? Coz after 90mins, I could still go on and on. It was like I am at a state or pace where I am not pushing myself, but fast enough to be consider not an easy run.

But for vo2max improvement, I am still a believer in a vo2max training session like a >4x miles or km repeats at max pace.

Edited by Ender

How should you feel in lactate threshold runs? It is not easy to determine what state of the run you are in? I guess yesterday 90mins run was a lactate threshold run? Coz after 90mins, I could still go on and on. It was like I am at a state or pace where I am not pushing myself, but fast enough to be consider not an easy run.

But for vo2max improvement, I am still a believer in a vo2max training session like a >4x miles or km repeats at max pace.

Use McMillan run calculator to determine your pace.

I follow 10km training plan from strava. I will have VO2 Max training every week.