2019 Hyundai Avante (Elantra Facelift)

singcheng

I not taking loan.

Those who want to book 70999 with GS, pm me for the SE contact. Tks Edited by carluv

15k coe rebate

Avante

Basic $65,999

S $70,999

Elite $77,999

8 bids non guaranteed. If you are not in a hurry, it's one of all time lowest price..

Can share contact?

Very neat! Excellent comparison... do also compare the torque numbers and the engine speed (RPM) when you access that maximum torque... gives an indication of how drivable the car is...

Based on price alone and features, the Avante wins hands down... you haven't factored in the discounts and the conditions yet... if you're looking at the whole car cost, have to add in interest due to loans etc... I think in the end the Avante will still be the most cost effective.

Thanks bro, i'll see if i can do an updated version later today/tonight basis your suggestions.It would be interesting.

Discounts/conditions (i assume is for used cars) are difficult to factor in until i visit all showrooms but i'm pretty much settled on Avante. Will be meeting the KMC's SE a fellow person recommended to me  [laugh]

I did a quick comparison recently on my potential choices and wrote the key factors that i thought were important (you may think differently so please take it with a pinch of salt). Just want to share it here with fellow guys and serve as a quick comparison guide.

I don’t think Honda Vezel has 8 airbags, most Jap cars have 6 n some have a 7th knee airbag but I’ve not heard of an 8th airbag for a Jap b&b car but maybe others more familiar can comment?

What you say does make sense, i did questioned that too. I got my sources from sgcarmart: https://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_features.php?CarCode=12285&Subcode=6691/

What you say does make sense, i did questioned that too. I got my sources from sgcarmart: https://www.sgcarmart.com/new_cars/newcars_features.php?CarCode=12285&Subcode=6691/

Anyway whether have 8th airbag or not doesn’t really matter. What matters is that I’m in agreement on this Avante being the most value for money n ticks most boxes. 6 airbags shld be standard these days n Avante has 6 unlike some of the Jap cars like Civic 1.6, City, HRV DX have only 2.

BTW, tks for the spreadsheets

vezel sold by our PIs indeed has 8 airbags according to their spec sheets. no idea where is the 8th airbag though, maybe on the roof lining?  [:p]

Anyway whether have 8th airbag or not doesn’t really matter. What matters is that I’m in agreement on this Avante being the most value for money n ticks most boxes. 6 airbags shld be standard these days n Avante has 6 unlike some of the Jap cars like Civic 1.6, City, HRV DX have only 2.

BTW, tks for the spreadsheets

Edited by makeanewcall

Those who want to book 70999 with GS, pm me for the SE contact. Tks

Wa 5k cheaper than komoco? Share lobang

yup rebate at 15k i think, will most likely get car as long as coe doesn't shoot up over 35k. 

probably lowest in the priority queue too. 

Est basic car cost taken frm sgcarmart based on 27k coe roughly ard 60.5k.

Prob add in 4k in cost. Warehousing. Shipping. Handling. Clearance. Leather seats, local fittings for s and basic models. Comms. Etc. etc

So leta round it off to 65k max for 27k coe level in costing bah.

And hypotetechnically make me the ceo of komocco motors, as a profit making gene. I would prob need say a 10k profit. Hehe. Heck make it 7k lah.

Maybe i would want the coe to be 25k to make car cost ard 63k to sell at 70k for the s model. Maybe i would need 200 cars sales a mth . 7kx200.

Anyway thats my pov. Business way.

In the past, based on an ST article talking about secondhand dealers, it was noted that the dealers had to make at least $10,000 a car just to make ends meet... they had to make at least $15,000 just to make it worth their while. And at the period of very low COE premiums, most closed shop cos they simply could earn that premium.

So based on the perceived lower overheads of a secondhand dealer versus a large AD, I wonder if making less than $10,000 is possible to keep afloat.

This ST article I read was during the 2007-2009 period when COEs were super low... Cat A was like $4500 or so... I remember mine was $9000 before it dropped lower... at that time the Avante was offered at $50,000... I went to Orchard Credit and they play punk with me and didn't want to give me the car at the agreed $50,000 as the COE went up by $2000... so I let them bid until the contract ended... I bought a Subaru in the end... then 2 years later, the COE dropped and some of my friends bought the Avante for $44,000 only... sian.... I could have waited for that 2 years cos my car was only 5 years then... even then I remember that they were making about $12,000 - 15,000 per car.

Anyway, when COE is high, the ADs earn until siao... cos their car cost remains the same but they add in a buffer until gao gao to buffer against spikes in the COE..., when COE is low, the ADs also earn until siao cos they sell large volumes even though the margin for each is lower... either way they win...

Unless the government separate the COE and car price... the dealer has to price each separately... but then again they will profiteer by creative accounting again lar...

Edited by teomingern

In the past, based on an ST article talking about secondhand dealers, it was noted that the dealers had to make at least $10,000 a car just to make ends meet... they had to make at least $15,000 just to make it worth their while. And at the period of very low COE premiums, most closed shop cos they simply could earn that premium.

So based on the perceived lower overheads of a secondhand dealer versus a large AD, I wonder if making less than $10,000 is possible to keep afloat.

This ST article I read was during the 2007-2009 period when COEs were super low... Cat A was like $4500 or so... I remember mine was $9000 before it dropped lower... at that time the Avante was offered at $50,000... I went to Orchard Credit and they play punk with me and didn't want to give me the car at the agreed $50,000 as the COE went up by $2000... so I let them bid until the contract ended... I bought a Subaru in the end... then 2 years later, the COE dropped and some of my friends bought the Avante for $44,000 only... sian.... I could have waited for that 2 years cos my car was only 5 years then... even then I remember that they were making about $12,000 - 15,000 per car.

Anyway, when COE is high, the ADs earn until siao... cos their car cost remains the same but they add in a buffer until gao gao to buffer against spikes in the COE..., when COE is low, the ADs also earn until siao cos they sell large volumes even though the margin for each is lower... either way they win...

Unless the government separate the COE and car price... the dealer has to price each separately... but then again they will profiteer by creative accounting again lar...

Great insights here esp for new car buyers like myself. Just placed a 76k on Avante S trim. Great experience with Uncle Choo. Those just looking to learn more can speak to him too Edited by Crashbit

Absolutely spot on.

If you want to purchase a car without COE, Authorised Distributors will mark up the base price of the car to make it not worth the while.

At the rate avante sales are moving, numbers are looking pretty good actually.

But those who signed at 70999 will be pretty tight and gotta hope that coe falls lower and its 8 bids non g anyway.

At the rate avante sales are moving, numbers are looking pretty good actually.

But those who signed at 70999 will be pretty tight and gotta hope that coe falls lower and its 8 bids non g anyway.

Surprised that Hyundai Avante (subjective looks) sales are a big leap over the Audi lookalike Kia Cerato.

Monthly sales of the Hyundai are triple that of the Kia in Jan and June 2019, and double in Feb, Mar & Apr 2019.

https://www.lta.gov.sg/content/dam/ltaweb/corp/PublicationsResearch/files/FactsandFigures/M03-Car_Regn_by_make.pdf

Probably due to the pricing. The similar specs Kia Cerato EX costs $7,000 more than the Hyundai Avante S, both with identical engines and gearboxes.

Edited by Vinceng

Surprised that Hyundai Avante (subjective looks) sales are a big leap over the Audi lookalike Kia Cerato.

Monthly sales of the Hyundai are triple that of the Kia in Jan and June 2019, and double in Feb, Mar & Apr 2019.

https://www.lta.gov.sg/content/dam/ltaweb/corp/PublicationsResearch/files/FactsandFigures/M03-Car_Regn_by_make.pdf

Probably due to the pricing. The similar specs Kia Cerato EX costs $7,000 more than the Hyundai Avante S, both with identical engines and gearboxes.

yup i shared the screenshot in the other thread too. people who like the looks will definitely go for cerato as well. 

as a buyer if you compare avante to cerato for specs, avante is a winner but looks wise cerato wins hands down no doubt. however, the overall buying process from komoco is way better than from c&c, no rubbish t&c.

no loans/full cash - ok

no insurance - ok

no trade in - ok

prices are transparent unlike c&c where they make it almost mandatory to take minimum loan/trade in/insurance to get the discounts unless you have so much energy to drive a hard bargain, worse still delivery takes donkey years. komoco usually delivers the car promptly in less than a month after you secure coe. 

the most impt factor for me is 2 air bags & no traction control on cerato vs 6 airbags on avante. really didn't like the idea of compromising on safety. i test drove the cerato ex and asked about traction control and the SE said "oh so without traction control and if you do a hard turn at speeds like 70kmh, there is a chance that the car might lose control lor."

Edited by makeanewcall

yup i shared the screenshot in the other thread too. people who like the looks will definitely go for cerato as well.

as a buyer if you compare avante to cerato for specs, avante is a winner but looks wise cerato wins hands down no doubt. however, the overall buying process from komoco is way better than from c&c, no rubbish t&c.

no loans/full cash - ok

no insurance - ok

no trade in - ok

prices are transparent unlike c&c where they make it almost mandatory to take minimum loan/trade in/insurance to get the discounts unless you have so much energy to drive a hard bargain, worse still delivery takes donkey years. komoco usually delivers the car promptly in less than a month after you secure coe.

the most impt factor for me is 2 air bags & no traction control on cerato vs 6 airbags on avante. really didn't like the idea of compromising on safety. i test drove the cerato ex and asked about traction control and the SE said "oh so without traction control and if you do a hard turn at speeds like 70kmh, there is a chance that the car might lose control lor."

Cant comment much on cnc. But yeah. Yrs back my friend was looking to get his first car. But cnc din wan2 give him the 5k trade in disc.

So he went with other brand.

Lately i also went to cnc see see look look twice. 1 se willingly to absorb the 5k, whist another refuses.

Those min loan thingy well, its true also.

Looks wise. First thought cerato looks sharp. Nice. But perphaps lately the looks dun grow on me. In chinese. "Bu nai kan". Well. Like say looks are subjective.

Interior of cerato looks n feels better than avante though.