Roh96 6th Gear January 7, 2019 Share January 7, 2019 So big cities such as NY Manhattan and HK are seeing decline. Will this happen to Sg one day? I say absolutely possible! However, I see ppl choose to live in denial and imagination. Hahaha OCBC 2.68%, chiong ah....huat ah! ↡ Advertisement 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged January 7, 2019 Share January 7, 2019 While its good to be prudent with finances save and invest, this to me is rather overdone. Must also live a little, spend and enjoy, strike a balance. All i gotta say to this is ... 2 FH landed ... their next generation huat ah! u mean buy 2 FH Landed ? 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Showster Twincharged January 7, 2019 Share January 7, 2019 (edited) Happened before from 2013-2017 while HK surged another 40%? NY increased another 30% thereabout as well. During the same period, SG housing dropped 10%, solely based on the idea that such a growth would have set us up for a huge drop today. So technically, we are still underpriced by some 30% relative to global prices, assuming a growth of 10% in 2018. I have been reading the denial for the last 4 years. I have warned that those who were waiting were only waiting for higher prices at higher rates and much improved inflationary pressures. Certainly, it did not pay to wait. So big cities such as NY Manhattan and HK are seeing decline. Will this happen to Sg one day? I say absolutely possible! However, I see ppl choose to live in denial and imagination. Hahaha OCBC 2.68%, chiong ah....huat ah! Edited January 7, 2019 by Showster 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Showster Twincharged January 7, 2019 Share January 7, 2019 https://www.statista.com/statistics/379423/inflation-rate-in-singapore/ Its not a coincidence that dipping inflation (negative slope periods) correlates well with tendency for prices to be falling and rising inflation (positive slope periods) correlates with rising prices. Beyond 2020 or 2021 it could be quite variable but we do see higher inflation coming. Eggs, water, food supply wise, transport, housing (rent) etc. Be prepared BEFORE the storm, not during the storm. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Roh96 6th Gear January 7, 2019 Share January 7, 2019 What warnings or advices will you give now? Happened before from 2013-2017 while HK surged another 40%? NY increased another 30% thereabout as well. During the same period, SG housing dropped 10%, solely based on the idea that such a growth would have set us up for a huge drop today. So technically, we are still underpriced by some 30% relative to global prices, assuming a growth of 10% in 2018. I have been reading the denial for the last 4 years. I have warned that those who were waiting were only waiting for higher prices at higher rates and much improved inflationary pressures. Certainly, it did not pay to wait. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic January 7, 2019 Share January 7, 2019 If 3% increase, a 1 mil property today supported by 10,000 monthly income would cost 1.34 mil 10 years later supported by 13,400 monthly income 10 years later, and 2.4 mil 30 years later supported by $24,000 monthly income 30 years later. What’s the issue? The only issue is that those with the income today choose to wait till tomorrow to buy in tomorrow’s conditions, or those with the income yesterday try to get yesterday’s prices in today’s market. You expect 3% income growth every yr? 3% income growth is not 3% increment. It is average fresh grad (0 yrs exp) in 2019 being paid 3% more than average fresh grade (also 0 yrs exp) in 2018. Don't have to be fresh grade but exp should be constant. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Showster Twincharged January 7, 2019 Share January 7, 2019 My projections were actually 2%. 3% is to show the max it will go to. Singapore fresh grad salary has no issue meeting this 2% growth. My relative's starting salary with the same qualifications as me (a dozen years later) is a whopping 33.3% higher! Real figures! You expect 3% income growth every yr? 3% income growth is not 3% increment. It is average fresh grad (0 yrs exp) in 2019 being paid 3% more than average fresh grade (also 0 yrs exp) in 2018. Don't have to be fresh grade but exp should be constant. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Showster Twincharged January 7, 2019 Share January 7, 2019 (edited) Buy to live in, do consider older HDBs. The maintenance increases / interest changes for private can be quite unfriendly unless one has huge buffers to carry on. Unless one has an existing HDB or paid private to hide, then go ahead. Buy to invest and rent out awaiting appreciation, I feel the tide is turning, or at least it won't get any worse. The equity bob should have shaken investors sufficiently, who might be willing now to pay a premium to secure safety. Property has to be a long term hold though. Worse it can go, -5%. Highest it can go, refer to bro Mercs posts. What warnings or advices will you give now? Edited January 7, 2019 by Showster 5 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ash2017 Twincharged January 7, 2019 Share January 7, 2019 to each his or her own stock if got no time to monitor don't play if want to play but blue chips with good dividend yield property if for own stay anytime is a relatively good time rather then renting if buy property location location location if invest in property make sure you calculate the cost of maintenance including management fee (Orange Groove is a killer) the type of property for investing - I find offices/warehouses/shops relatively easier because tenant takes care of everything If that few hundred thousand lost in stocks was invested into property instead, would have been collecting rental with tenant helping pay up the bank loan, while enjoying super low interest rates for many years, if lucky enough to have met with enbloc fever, would have even seen that few hundred thousand easily up few folds to become millions.During uncertain times and especially in a volatile stock market, best play for stocks is do fast in fast out, with exception to companies with healthy balance sheet/strong expansion plans/ offering good div yield to justify the risk of holding long term. With stock prices often doing rollercoaster, in out few rounds would already have made some good money.Invest in stock market rather than SG property? lol good luck 7 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Showster Twincharged January 7, 2019 Share January 7, 2019 (edited) You expect 3% income growth every yr? 3% income growth is not 3% increment. It is average fresh grad (0 yrs exp) in 2019 being paid 3% more than average fresh grade (also 0 yrs exp) in 2018. Don't have to be fresh grade but exp should be constant. This trend is also seen in the household income growth and median income growth. Given that the top 20-30th percentile income earners will get consistent income growth which is way higher than 3%, the base of 3% is sufficient to support the steady background price growth of 2-3%. Edited January 7, 2019 by Showster Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic January 7, 2019 Share January 7, 2019 Polycarbonate on aluminium awning, say for a 3 by 5m stretch - 5k, 50% more for glass Painting of an intermediate terrace - exterior - around 5k plus scaffolding. Interior around 4k or less depending on the size Toilets... wooo if you hack, the costs can be pretty high, especially if you use fancy brand toilet ware... I'm guessing his "awning" is probably something more permanent. He only wants high quality stuff. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic January 7, 2019 Share January 7, 2019 I'm guessing his "awning" is probably something more permanent. He only wants high quality stuff. Don't knock polycarbonate bro... It may not be a palatial style, but it's pretty permanent 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic January 9, 2019 Share January 9, 2019 u mean buy 2 FH Landed ?Yes, as mentioned by bro Showster - "After paying off 1 FH landed, they bought another FH landed when prices were down, paying ABSD plus BSD over 200K" 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic January 9, 2019 Share January 9, 2019 to each his or her own stock if got no time to monitor don't play if want to play but blue chips with good dividend yield property if for own stay anytime is a relatively good time rather then renting if buy property location location location if invest in property make sure you calculate the cost of maintenance including management fee (Orange Groove is a killer) the type of property for investing - I find offices/warehouses/shops relatively easier because tenant takes care of everything I concur if downturn do come, best time to bargain shopping load up on 'cheap' blue chips with good div yield for long term play 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic January 9, 2019 Share January 9, 2019 2019 chiong ah! https://www.businesstimes.com.sg/real-estate/rv-altitude-fyve-derbyshire-and-fourth-avenue-residences-poised-to-kick-off-2019 RV Altitude, Fyve Derbyshire and Fourth Avenue Residences poised to kick off 2019 launches Jan 9, 2019 (The preview for the Fourth Avenue Residences attracted over 2,000 visitors) 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
therock Supersonic January 9, 2019 Share January 9, 2019 Either there are a lot of people who just like to kaypoh, or there are a lot of folks with spare cash... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Wt_know Supersonic January 9, 2019 Share January 9, 2019 Either there are a lot of people who just like to kaypoh, or there are a lot of folks with spare cash...a lot of spare cashhard truth Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mercs Hypersonic January 9, 2019 Share January 9, 2019 These are potential buyers, but i reckon at this juncture, many are just 'window shopping' With the abundance of new launches in 2019, choices galore, so there's really no hurry. If developers dun price them attractively, uphill task to move units ↡ Advertisement 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...