Watch Part V

Carbon82

On 10/8/2023 at 12:29 PM, inlinesix said:

My usual recommendation is either Suunto or Coros.

Suunto still provides support even though my watch is more than 10 years old. Unfortunately, its display giving up on me

Narrowed down to Garmin and Fitbit. Ended getting the Garmin Forerunner 55 as Garmin has more accessories available when I was searching through Lazarda. 

Good deal for 10.10 too.

On 10/8/2023 at 12:29 PM, inlinesix said:

My usual recommendation is either Suunto or Coros.

Suunto still provides support even though my watch is more than 10 years old. Unfortunately, its display giving up on me

Narrowed down to Garmin and Fitbit. Ended getting the Garmin Forerunner 55 as Garmin has more accessories available when I was searching through Lazarda. 

Good deal for 10.10 too.

On 10/10/2023 at 9:20 AM, Adrianli said:

Good deal for 10.10 too.

How much did you pay?

Coros Pace 3 is a newer watch than Forerunner 55.

The difference could be $50.

Lastly, what accessories you are looking for?

On 10/10/2023 at 9:20 AM, Adrianli said:

Good deal for 10.10 too.

How much did you pay?

On 10/10/2023 at 10:04 AM, inlinesix said:

How much did you pay?

Paid $280 for the Garmin Forerunner 55. Also got the silicone protective cover and screen protector. 

Looking at bike mounts, external heart rate monitor and cadence sensor.

20231010_214614.jpg

Edited by Adrianli

On 10/10/2023 at 9:42 PM, Adrianli said:

Paid $280 for the Garmin Forerunner 55. Also got the silicone protective cover and screen protector. 

Looking at bike mounts, external heart rate monitor and cadence sensor.

20231010_214614.jpg

For cadence sensor and external HRM, you can get either Magene Shopee Store or Decathlon.

On 10/12/2023 at 8:25 AM, BanCoe said:

Is this a good buy or popular ?? 

98420eea-1e07-4db9-974f-b752e7f52178.jpeg

Bro, buy what you like lah. Just like me, I keep to Sub and GMT only

On 10/12/2023 at 9:55 AM, Arogab said:

Bro, buy what you like lah. Just like me, I keep to Sub and GMT only

Ok later I go down to see it in flesh 🤣 U n T2 is Sifu here ;

I wish it was in blue face ( can like match casual denim  jeans) 

Edited by BanCoe

On 10/12/2023 at 10:17 AM, BanCoe said:

This has 2 versions. One with older movement and one with newer movement.

in my opinion it doesnt matter becos the movement is already damn solid.  No point paying $3k more for newer movement which is simply a change of some parts and material.  

also better to get this rhodium dial one with baby blue hands as it is truly unique to this model.   blue dial one is too commonly seen on many other models and doesnt hv the signature baby blue hands.  In other words, i personally will get the rhodium, not the blue one.

overall, after Rolex rejigged the case profile for the YM40 and introduced the rhodium with “tiffany” hands, it has been doing much better than previous.  At current lower prices in the mid teens,  it represents decent value for a hard wearing, modern looking Rolex.  

On 10/12/2023 at 9:17 AM, BanCoe said:

Buy liao change your jeans to grey color can liao. Remember the Mohamad and mountain story. Haha

On 10/12/2023 at 11:54 AM, Arogab said:

Buy liao change your jeans to grey color can liao. Remember the Mohamad and mountain story. Haha

Ok I go buy  some bleach 🤣

On 10/12/2023 at 11:13 AM, BanCoe said:

Ok I go buy  some bleach 🤣

Cheaper right. Haha

Anyway, buy and enjoy lah. If later don't like can give me under the table :XD:

On 10/12/2023 at 9:25 AM, BanCoe said:

Is this a good buy or popular ?? 

98420eea-1e07-4db9-974f-b752e7f52178.jpeg

The yacht-master 40, imo, is severely underrated. It is a nice watch which should get more attention. 

It is great for people who have a sporty-inclination, but at the same time, wanted also some dressiness in the watch. It is a watch that works well  in casual or formal.

The case profile is slim and curvy and even though at 40mm, it wears like a nice 39 or 38 because of how the case look.

I have seen both rhodium and blue version.  The rhodium look elegant, and that baby blue hand is unique. However, contrast is not the best although that rhodium dial looks darker under certain angle.  Still, I find most photos don't do it justice....you need to see it to appreciate how elegant and beautiful it is.

The blue version has an amazing sunburst blue  and that red second hand simply pops.  I have never seen the same sunburst blue on any other watches; that blue is simply mesmerizing. Contrast is good but some don't like that red second hand....so different people different taste.

The  biggest difference in the movement between old and new is the new one has abt 70 hours power reserve. The old one has abt 48 hrs. The advantage of 70 hours power reserve is convenience; they still run over the weekend when one put it down on Friday and pick it up again the following Monday.

Edited by Starry

On 10/12/2023 at 9:08 PM, Starry said:

The yacht-master 40, imo, is severely underrated. It is a nice watch which should get more attention. 

It is great for people who have a sporty-inclination, but at the same time, wanted also some dressiness in the watch. It is a watch that works well  in casual or formal.

The case profile is slim and curvy and even though at 40mm, it wears like a nice 39 or 38 because of how the case look.

I have seen both rhodium and blue version.  The rhodium look elegant, and that baby blue hand is unique. However, contrast is not the best although that rhodium dial looks darker under certain angle.  Still, I find most photos don't do it justice....you need to see it to appreciate how elegant and beautiful it is.

The blue version has an amazing sunburst blue  and that red second hand simply pops.  I have never seen the same sunburst blue on any other watches; that blue is simply mesmerizing. Contrast is good but some don't like that red second hand....so different people different taste.

The  biggest difference in the movement between old and new is the new one has abt 70 hours power reserve. The old one has abt 48 hrs. The advantage of 70 hours power reserve is convenience; they still run over the weekend when one put it down on Friday and pick it up again the following Monday.

Wow ! Thanks for the heads up ….. will swing over to the AD