Playtime Twincharged September 28, 2019 Share September 28, 2019 On 9/24/2019 at 5:32 PM, Soya said: This AMDK will probably get his PR revoked. Even if apply EP, might be rejected. And his clients might wanna distance themselves from him. All becoz he couldn't hold his drink. i heard people say this too... but any idea if this really happens in reality? cos i also heard that once get PR, its not easy or done to revoke unless very serious. ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic September 28, 2019 Share September 28, 2019 28 minutes ago, Playtime said: i heard people say this too... but any idea if this really happens in reality? cos i also heard that once get PR, its not easy or done to revoke unless very serious. Christopher Lee didn’t get his PR revoked after his jail term. 😬 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Fcw75 Hypersonic September 28, 2019 Share September 28, 2019 1 hour ago, Weez911 said: Do you notice a lot of depressed Australians going around punching singaporeans? Seems like a token 1 week custodial sentence is not a deterrence for these Australians. I hardly read about depressed locals beating other people. The depression of these Australians are different from our depression? Depressed local no but siao lang local many...haha. 3 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic September 28, 2019 Share September 28, 2019 2 hours ago, Fcw75 said: Another white trash. No additional jail term for contempt of court? If local do the same thing? https://sg.news.yahoo.com/australian-jailed-for-assault-rails-at-court-accuses-judge-of-making-him-plead-guilty-061526507.html?soc_src=social-sh&soc_trk=fb SINGAPORE — Dramatic scenes unfolded in the States Courts on Friday (27 September) as an Australian man who was jailed for assault shouted at a District Judge, accusing him of forcing him to plead guilty. Scott John Ashby, 46, was sentenced to seven weeks’ jail for assaulting a taxi driver and a police officer after drinking. But even before the sentence was announced, Ashby lost his cool during an exchange with District Judge Christopher Tan. As Deputy Public Prosecutor Tan Yen Seow read out the statement of facts, Ashby was heard scoffing and remarking, “What a travesty” and “wow”. He said he “fundamentally” disagreed with the facts after it was read out. When DJ Tan asked him what he meant, the Australian replied, “Well Your Honour, what else can I do?”. DJ Tan then asked, “You agree to these facts? Nobody can force you to plead”, to which Ashby replied, “You are ,Your Honour. I have lost my job.” DJ Tan told Ashby, “I am trying to be patient because I know you are frustrated. There will be court decorum and it will be respected.” When the judge asked Ashby’s lawyer Too Xing Ji whether he needed to take instructions from his client, Ashby shouted, “I do not need to!” In response, DJ Tan said, “I am not speaking to you, Mr Ashby. You do not interrupt when the court is speaking.” After the proceedings were stood down for a moment, Ashby eventually agreed to the facts without dispute. He was heard saying, “F*** you, f*** this country, f*** this judicial system” after the hearing was concluded. The burly man had turned up to court dragging a large green roller luggage and four smaller pieces of baggage. The luggage, Too told the court, comprised 15 years worth of Ashby’s belongings during his stay in Singapore. As his employment pass was not renewed due to the court case, Ashby will have to return to Australia after serving his sentence. Too said that his client, who is divorced with two young children, had lost everything. He had lost his job as a consultant, and will not be able to visit his children, who reside in Singapore, said Too, who added that his client suffered from depression and was on anti-depressants. The facts of the case Ashby pleaded guilty to one count of voluntarily causing hurt to 43-year-old cabby Oh Kuan Hui and one of using criminal force to deter a police officer from discharging his duty. He also admitted to using abusive words on the police officer, but had this charge taken into consideration for sentencing. Oh picked up Ashby at about 9.30pm on 10 September last year at a taxi stand near Suntec. He observed Ashby to be drunk. Ashby had drunk five cans of 500ml Anchor beer with his friends earlier. After arriving at the destination ten minutes later, Ashby alighted and did not pay for his cab fee of $16.70. Oh immediately followed him and asked for the money. Ashby then pushed Oh twice on the chest area, causing the taxi driver to fall to the ground. After Oh got back to his feet, Ashby pushed him again, causing him to hit a nearby metal gate. The impact dislodged the panel of the gate. The taxi driver called the police minutes later. Two police officers, including Sergeant Tay Ming Wei, responded to the call and saw Ashby walking alone on a pavement. They requested his particulars. Ashby initially refused to provide his particulars but eventually retrieved his employment pass from his wallet. Instead of handing the pass over, he threw it on the floor and said “f***ing take it”. At this point, Tay gave him a warning. As Tay attempted to calm Ashby down and interview him again, Ashby refused and insisted on leaving. Tay then decided to arrest Ashby. The latter resisted by swinging his arms aggressively and hit Tay’s lower lip. The two officers managed to handcuff him eventually. Throughout the incident, Ashby hurled vulgarities at the officers. Tay sustained tenderness on the left side of his chin, amongst other unspecified injuries. Taxi driver Oh suffered from tenderness over his left hip and abrasions over his left hand, left wrist and left elbow. F*** you, f*** this country, f*** this judicial system wor Are they gonna do anything about this? 3 3 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Soya Supersonic September 28, 2019 Share September 28, 2019 2 hours ago, Weez911 said: Do you notice a lot of depressed Australians going around punching singaporeans? Seems like a token 1 week custodial sentence is not a deterrence for these Australians. I hardly read about depressed locals beating other people. The depression of these Australians are different from our depression? These white trash can't hold their drinks lah. Then get themselves into all kinda shit and blame others. Happens in their homeland too Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Mustank Hypersonic September 28, 2019 Share September 28, 2019 1 hour ago, Soya said: These white trash can't hold their drinks lah. Then get themselves into all kinda shit and blame others. Happens in their homeland too But in court scold here scold there don’t think drunk go court Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged September 28, 2019 Share September 28, 2019 5 hours ago, Mustank said: F*** you, f*** this country, f*** this judicial system wor Are they gonna do anything about this? Must watch out for shamugan Facebook la .. give him time.. he may be busy calling in some people to fark for suddenly creating so much saga.. 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Maxus-MIFA9 Supersonic September 29, 2019 Share September 29, 2019 On 9/28/2019 at 12:23 PM, Mustank said: F*** you, f*** this country, f*** this judicial system wor Are they gonna do anything about this? Nope....... cos they are AMTK, they are FT ...... See, molest case (molester heard was a MY) can get probation naih ....... 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Sdf4786k Twincharged September 29, 2019 Share September 29, 2019 (edited) On 9/28/2019 at 12:23 PM, Mustank said: F*** you, f*** this country, f*** this judicial system wor Are they gonna do anything about this? Not sure if even discussing this is considered a violation or contempt of court because citizen not supposed to comment on the judgement from what coffee shop unker mention... Such is the "fear factor" that we sometimes are like trap in a harry potter movie and unmentionable. Sounds very retro, as if I am back in school and not suppose to speak unless spoken to. It would be quite unreal if all of us get haul to court because of us even discussing on this. Edited September 29, 2019 by Sdf4786k 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Galantspeedz Turbocharged September 30, 2019 Share September 30, 2019 On 9/28/2019 at 10:45 AM, Weez911 said: Do you notice a lot of depressed Australians going around punching singaporeans? Seems like a token 1 week custodial sentence is not a deterrence for these Australians. I hardly read about depressed locals beating other people. The depression of these Australians are different from our depression? 7 weeks not 7 days 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lethalstrike Turbocharged September 30, 2019 Share September 30, 2019 Kan ni nah, whatever such cases happened, one of the reasons given to defend the accused always involve depression. Fark that lah. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weez911 Supersonic September 30, 2019 Share September 30, 2019 50 minutes ago, Galantspeedz said: 7 weeks not 7 days https://www.channelnewsasia.com/news/singapore/man-jailed-punching-roxy-square-security-guard-abuse-11934420 SINGAPORE: A man caught on video punching a security guard in the face was sentenced to one week's jail on Monday (Sep 23). After the clip went viral online, British national and Singapore permanent resident Stuart Boyd Mills began receiving hate mail and abuse, his lawyer said. The 47-year-old has since been diagnosed with major depressive disorder, said lawyer Ramesh Tiwary. Mills pleaded guilty on Monday to one charge of voluntarily causing hurt, with a second charge of using abusive words taken into consideration for sentencing. The court heard that he had been drinking at Roxy Square on the night of Apr 3 this year, and after having a third of a bottle of liquor, was trying to find an exit out of the mall. Past midnight, Mills was taken to the victim Andrew Lim, the security supervisor that was on duty at the time. Mr Lim, who works for Regal Security, then explained to Mills where the exits of the mall at 50 East Coast Road were located. As they talked, Mr Lim noticed that Mills was getting increasingly indignant and aggressive. The security supervisor asked another officer to record the incident on his phone. Mills proceeded to do the same on his own phone. In a video clip played to the court, Mills is shown trailing Mr Lim, trying to trip him with his leg, and suddenly landing a blow on Mr Lim's face, knocking him to the ground. Mills then left the scene, while Mr Lim called the police, who noticed swelling on his eyebrow. After the incident, Mills looked at the video he had taken on his phone and confided in his wife about what had happened. He decided to go back to Roxy Square to apologise for his actions and was later detained. The victim later went to hospital, where he was found to have suffered swelling and tenderness in the eye area. UNPROVOKED AND THUGGISH ATTACK: PROSECUTOR Deputy Public Prosecutor Vincent Ong asked for two weeks' jail to be imposed, saying Mills had committed an "unprovoked and thuggish attack" on a security officer merely doing his duty. He said Mills was drunk and had first tried to trip Mr Lim, who later fell to the ground with a "single forceful blow to the head". Mills' lawyer told the court that his client was "utterly remorseful for what he has done". "The surest sign of his remorse is the fact that he had returned to the scene when he realised what he had done and he had returned to the scene to apologise to the victim, even though he knew that by returning, it would lead to his own identification," said Mr Tiwary. Mills has also paid S$2,000 in compensation to the victim and indicated from the start that he wanted to plead guilty. "He realises the embarrassment he has caused the victim and he's trying to make compensation by paying the victim something," said the lawyer. "He has repeatedly said to me that he regrets his actions. They were uncalled for, and he understands that." This is Mills' first brush with the law in Singapore and overseas, said the lawyer. "He realised when he saw the video how bizarre and unexplainable his behaviour was," he added. "He has been seeking medical help, he has been diagnosed with major depressive disorder. I'm not saying there's any causal link, but he's taking steps to reform his behaviour." ACCUSED RECEIVED ABUSE, HATE MAIL: DEFENCE Mr Tiwary said that Mills "has himself become the subject of abuse and hatred through messages received on his phone and even through letters sent to his address". "This is because somebody has released his personal information online and people have this information," said the lawyer. The prosecution said that while Mills did save the police some time in apprehending him, "it's not as if there was no other way he could be identified". There were clips of the incident and members of the public had "somehow" managed to identify Mills, he said. District Judge Christopher Tan said he noted that the victim had tried to walk away from an entirely unprovoked attack, but Mills had gone after him, trying to trip him before attacking a sensitive part of his body. He accepted the prosecution's argument that security officers are in a very vulnerable position, being exposed to risks. "And unlike the police, they do not have the necessary legal powers to protect themselves from that risk and this is a factor that can be taken to support the conclusion that they are deserving of a certain degree of protection," said the judge. For hurting Mr Lim, Mills could have been jailed for up to two years and fined a maximum of S$5,000. Source: CNA/ll(hs) 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weez911 Supersonic September 30, 2019 Share September 30, 2019 53 minutes ago, Galantspeedz said: 7 weeks not 7 days 1 week = 7 days Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jon_cclau 3rd Gear September 30, 2019 Share September 30, 2019 3 minutes ago, Weez911 said: 1 week = 7 days after deduct Sat & Sun, he will be out in 5 days.. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weez911 Supersonic September 30, 2019 Share September 30, 2019 5 minutes ago, Jon_cclau said: after deduct Sat & Sun, he will be out in 5 days.. Under the Prisons Act, remission can only be granted for imprisonment aggregate term of more than 14 days: Grant of remission 50H.—(1) Subject to subsections (2) and (3), a prisoner shall, upon his admission to prison, be entitled to have his sentence remitted in accordance with and subject to the provisions of this Act. (2) A prisoner who is sentenced to an aggregate term of imprisonment of 14 days or less shall not be entitled to have his sentence remitted. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jon_cclau 3rd Gear September 30, 2019 Share September 30, 2019 2 minutes ago, Weez911 said: Under the Prisons Act, remission can only be granted for imprisonment aggregate term of more than 14 days: Grant of remission 50H.—(1) Subject to subsections (2) and (3), a prisoner shall, upon his admission to prison, be entitled to have his sentence remitted in accordance with and subject to the provisions of this Act. (2) A prisoner who is sentenced to an aggregate term of imprisonment of 14 days or less shall not be entitled to have his sentence remitted. Revised Act? 20 years ago when I still young and naughty, was sentence to 7 days but out in 5 days after sat and sun. Now I am a good man liao That time still at Queenstown remand. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ash2017 Twincharged September 30, 2019 Share September 30, 2019 5 minutes ago, Jon_cclau said: Revised Act? 20 years ago when I still young and naughty, was sentence to 7 days but out in 5 days after sat and sun. Now I am a good man liao That time still at Queenstown remand. I truly admire people like you because you got the BALLS to own up and change 6 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jon_cclau 3rd Gear September 30, 2019 Share September 30, 2019 1 minute ago, Ash2017 said: I truly admire people like you because you got the BALLS to own up and change Actually nothing to be shy of.. human make mistake especially when young. Is a learning journey Now grown up and have children liao, must work hard and guide them well lor… don't let them make the same mistake. ↡ Advertisement 9 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...