EPL- 2019/2020

Spring

17 hours ago, Atrecord said:

2 seasons ago Pep didn't wanna pay to get VVD. Then last season he didn't wanna pay to get Maguire. I wonder how he'll feel this season...

i think not his fault, they went for maguire.

but man c cannot balance their book i think.

the fifa financial fair play rules did have its effect.

and judging from maguire form at man u, i think its correct to stop increasing bid.

if u look at man c purchase, they never over bid.

they indeed buy alot, but non even reach 70m

Edited by Beregond

34 minutes ago, Beregond said:

and judging from maguire form at man u, i think its correct to stop increasing bid.

Hmmmm......... so ManU Director of Football kena carrot for paying so many players above $70 million pounds ... :secret-laugh:

Wondering DOF undercut (aka undertable) how many million pounds .. [lipsrsealed]

30 minutes ago, Beregond said:

Yes, City were outbidded not only for Maguire but also for Sanchez previously though that turned out to be a blessing in disguise eventually.

Anyway, point is that City have a squad of 2 players for each position but at CB they only have 3 for 2 positions. Hence, Pep wanted to get in Maguire but failed to do so. He will definitely try to get in a quality CB in Jan but there are not many good CBs in the market and as such, they might find it tough to fill that position.

Pool has VVD, Gomez, Matip and Lovren at CB so they are well covered. Pool's weakness could be LB but Milner is so versatile and experienced that he could possibly fill there but whether he can do it week in, week out is a ? 

3 hours ago, Beregond said:

Pep was wrong in his judgement lah.

He just needs to hire the Leicester scout instead. Leicester managed to get good CBs. From the Morgan-Hugh combo, till now Maguire made them 70m, bought in a guy whose name i can't pronounce also quite good...

Somehow Pep cannot identify CBs with good potential, and so have to rely on finished products... Then again, while his achievements are very impressive, most of his players are finished products instead of developed from within.

Also, his problem with CBs is that the 'finished products' he had bought, are not fantastic, to say the least. Stones, bought for such a hefty price at that time, didn't quite improve. Otamendi... dun even need to say...

2 hours ago, Spring said:

Yes, City were outbidded not only for Maguire but also for Sanchez previously though that turned out to be a blessing in disguise eventually.

Anyway, point is that City have a squad of 2 players for each position but at CB they only have 3 for 2 positions. Hence, Pep wanted to get in Maguire but failed to do so. He will definitely try to get in a quality CB in Jan but there are not many good CBs in the market and as such, they might find it tough to fill that position.

Pool has VVD, Gomez, Matip and Lovren at CB so they are well covered. Pool's weakness could be LB but Milner is so versatile and experienced that he could possibly fill there but whether he can do it week in, week out is a ? 

Pep is too possession and attack-minded, that defence is an area that he feel can be improvised. He played one of the best DMs in the world as a CB, at Barca. Now he's repeating that with Fernandinho, out of necessity - but who knows, it might be better than anything he can find in the market...

44 minutes ago, Atrecord said:

Pep was wrong in his judgement lah.

He just needs to hire the Leicester scout instead. Leicester managed to get good CBs. From the Morgan-Hugh combo, till now Maguire made them 70m, bought in a guy whose name i can't pronounce also quite good...

Çaglar Söyüncü from Russia ... [thumbsup]

Edited by Picnic06-Biante15

23 hours ago, Spring said:

Man City lost last night cos their top but yet most underrated player, Kevin De Bruyne didn't play. Of course, City should not depend on a handful of players but KdB is really good and created most of his team's chances. His range of passing n the weight of his passes are almost perfect.

Pool now hot favourites for the title with an 8 point lead after only 8 games. City caught out by 2 counter attacks but if KdB had played, I'm sure the Citizens would have been ahead with the chances created by him. International break this weekend.

Yeah they are just a one man team.

No KDB no wins.

They spent a billion pounds but they did no spent it wisely.

Its an unbalanced team.

4 hours ago, Spring said:

Pep missed a trick.

He should have got that Aldervirus guy from Spurs for 25 million.

He would have been good for a few years before Pep goes to PSG to spend another billion.

19 minutes ago, Jamesc said:

Pep missed a trick.

He would have been good for a few years before Pep goes to PSG to spend another billion.

ha ha... i like the name...

anyway he's going to be free agent right? Quick, go broker a deal for Jan, at maybe 15 mil. Then if earn 10% cut, will be better than tio 4D... 😆

32 minutes ago, Jamesc said:

Pep missed a trick.

This Toby A is a good defender and so I don't understand why no club went for him at the last transfer window. Now he and his team mates seem to have a confidence crisis and thus Spurs leaking lots of goals and he doesn't look so good anymore. I suppose he needs to leave together with another Spurs defender Jan Verthongen but they are 30 yrs old or more so not many years left.

8 minutes ago, Spring said:

This Toby A is a good defender and so I don't understand why no club went for him at the last transfer window. Now he and his team mates seem to have a confidence crisis and thus Spurs leaking lots of goals and he doesn't look so good anymore. I suppose he needs to leave together with another Spurs defender Jan Verthongen but they are 30 yrs old or more so not many years left.

i wonder if man u will jump at posh if he leave spurs... they wanted him for many season

30 minutes ago, Beregond said:

i wonder if man u will jump at posh if he leave spurs... they wanted him for many season

I think they will. Poch no lack of suitors.

It will be a game of cat and mouse as Levy won't sack him n will wait for the big clubs to buy out his contract so see who will blink first. I think it will be either Man United or Real Madrid depending on how bad their season progresses. The other Mgrs who are waiting for top posts are JM and Max Allegri so could be a game of musical chairs. JM to Real, Poch to Man U and Allegri to Spurs?

11 hours ago, Spring said:

i doubt he will go spurs, totally not his style to work with a small budget.

but i tink he running out of options. seem less and less likely real will reappoint him.

1 hour ago, Beregond said:

i doubt he will go spurs, totally not his style to work with a small budget.

but i tink he running out of options. seem less and less likely real will reappoint him.

I also have doubts but yes JM getting desperate though it seems Lyon approached him just this week n he turned them down.

Daniel Levy won't be so generous with transfer budget so I doubt if he will get the Spurs job but on the flip side, JM is almost guaranteed silverware and that is precisely what Spurs need to unleash their potential. He will target the League Cup as a starter and despite skeptics laughing at this "Mickey Mouse Cup", it is the most attainable if you are serious to win it.

JM won his first trophy with Chelsea by winning the League Cup and repeated that with Man United and on both occasions he went on to win bigger trophies with both teams.