Jaguar XE

Damienic

Pros and cons for each model

BMW  316/318: die hard fans, batch, handling but end of life models not much power

C180: luxurious interior and wow exterior but pseudo leather and ave handling and expensive

Jag XE: best power and excellent handling but poor legroom and door opening

Audi A4: luxurious interior and good space but boring exterior and worrisome reliability 

Individual preference and batch perception

If have $$$$, Best is to be able to rotate to drive each model every year [laugh]

If compare real physical figures, they have same length, Jag XE is wider though, wheelbase very similar also. The XE looks bigger to me maybe because of its design, more pronounced curves, less sharper lines or dips in body work like the C-class.

I checked out the C-class, XE and latest A4 but the XE's leg room and foot space isn't very good. If I had to rank these 3, the C would be no.1, followed by A4 and the XE would be a very far no.3.

In terms of interior design, it's up to individual preference. I didn't like it but others may dig it. It is more matured looking. Quality wise, the interior of the XE gave me this "hollow" feeling which the C or A4 didn't exude.

XE looks pretty fantastic. I will keep a look out for a potential mid-life refresh, need to clear car loan before can think about changing car. I got hooked by the gimmicky gear selector that rises up when the engine is switched on. Not to mention driving a more exclusive car, so many Mercs/BMW/Audi on the roads.

Pros and cons for each model

BMW  316/318: die hard fans, batch, handling but end of life models not much power

C180: luxurious interior and wow exterior but pseudo leather and ave handling and expensive

Jag XE: best power and excellent handling but poor legroom and door opening

Audi A4: luxurious interior and good space but boring exterior and worrisome reliability 

Individual preference and batch perception

If have $$$$, Best is to be able to rotate to drive each model every year [laugh]

BMW 318: People say badge whore, 3 cylinder BMW, lol. I think buy higher range like 328i more suitable but price different alot by then, outgoing model for me so I strike off my list - $165K

C180: Love the current latest model both exterior & interior, luxurious and spacious, not as well equipped I thought it would be, badge appeal for some people, very common on the roads - $171K

Jag XE: Handsome exterior, but image wise not suitable someone not yet 30 like me, exclusivity is big draw point for me, very new model on the roads - 2.0 Turbodiesel $160K, 2.0 Turbo petrol $170K

Audi A4: New LED lights on the outside, new sweet design language inside, exterior sheet metal overly safe, latest model amongst these 4 - $155K

Above prices was when I was doing my shopping during the period when COE Cat B was $38K. In the end, I chose the A4. I couldn't get the C-class to justify its additional $15,000 with its subpar specs at this price segment and extensive waiting time. Neither could I live with the Jag XE image over the long run.

There ought to be some level of performance in this segment. C180 and the new A4 is very similar. The BMW is the weakest in the whole lot. Jag XE both diesel & turbo variant is most powerful.

Jag XE is a handsome car, no doubt. Just not my cup of tea. But everytime check online reviews, they always say new Jag XE is cream of the crop amongst these 4 options leh.

BMW 318: People say badge whore, 3 cylinder BMW, lol. I think buy higher range like 328i more suitable but price different alot by then, outgoing model for me so I strike off my list - $165K

C180: Love the current latest model both exterior & interior, luxurious and spacious, not as well equipped I thought it would be, badge appeal for some people, very common on the roads - $171K

Jag XE: Handsome exterior, but image wise not suitable someone not yet 30 like me, exclusivity is big draw point for me, very new model on the roads - 2.0 Turbodiesel $160K, 2.0 Turbo petrol $170K

Audi A4: New LED lights on the outside, new sweet design language inside, exterior sheet metal overly safe, latest model amongst these 4 - $155K

Above prices was when I was doing my shopping during the period when COE Cat B was $38K. In the end, I chose the A4. I couldn't get the C-class to justify its additional $15,000 with its subpar specs at this price segment and extensive waiting time. Neither could I live with the Jag XE image over the long run.

There ought to be some level of performance in this segment. C180 and the new A4 is very similar. The BMW is the weakest in the whole lot. Jag XE both diesel & turbo variant is most powerful.

Jag XE is a handsome car, no doubt. Just not my cup of tea. But everytime check online reviews, they always say new Jag XE is cream of the crop amongst these 4 options leh.

Dun restrict to only contis. Lexus is 200T (with 8 sd gb), infiniti q50 2.0T sport (with m274 engine n 7g tronic gb) could be viable options too.

Wah, you are so very lucky

When I was in my twenties, was taking bus and struggling to save for a second hand 800cc car [smallcry]

Never even had a chance to sit in one of those as a passenger bec good friends as poor

Remembered when I saw the Jaguar batch and figurine, its like wow, may be in my next life [laugh]

Dun restrict to only contis. Lexus is 200T (with 8 sd gb), infiniti q50 2.0T sport (with m274 engine n 7g tronic gb) could be viable options too.

Bro, are you sure same price segment? Lexus premium pricing puts the IS200T at $203K listed price. Even with discounts and over trade, I don't see how it can match C180 pricing $170K or Audi A4's $155K during when I was shopping.

Q50 looks I don't like. Heavy / old chassis, bad for performance and FC, not that it matters a lot lah the FC.

Wah, you are so very lucky

When I was in my twenties, was taking bus and struggling to save for a second hand 800cc car [smallcry]

Never even had a chance to sit in one of those as a passenger bec good friends as poor

Remembered when I saw the Jaguar batch and figurine, its like wow, may be in my next life [laugh]

No lah, I am just YOLO.

Bro, are you sure same price segment? Lexus premium pricing puts the IS200T at $203K listed price. Even with discounts and over trade, I don't see how it can match C180 pricing $170K or Audi A4's $155K during when I was shopping.

Q50 looks I don't like. Heavy / old chassis, bad for performance and FC, not that it matters a lot lah the FC.

No lah, I am just YOLO.

The level of equipment on the C180 is quite sad compared to Lexus IS or Jag. C180 does not even have electric and memory seats for the driver, or reverse camera. It is barely premium other than the badge.

Bro for lexus got to take 25k off list price, same goes to q50 too. These are what we refer as junior exec segment. Is, 3 series, c class. Xe, a4, q50. Lets not confuse price with brand positioning. Looks wise of cos subjective. They are people who will lean more towards jap look wheras some will lean towards the conti look. They are buyers who dun like their rides to be too common. Just like me. Different buyers choose different makes based on their most pressing criteria. Of course there is a group that swears by one brand only.

I have the Jaguar "latte" trim which is beige in english. Its a lot nicer than the black trim. Seats and parts of door rests and cubby cover in beige leather. Dashboard is black with central panel in black piano. The combination of black and beige is a lot more classy looking.

For the C180, understand that the standard trim is Not genuine leather. Its Artico leather, which I think is artificial stuff.

This Artico leather is actually really durable from what I've heard about it. Personally I don't feel any preference to real leather, since that doesn't necessarily mean it will last longer or feel better.

Anyone add on the black pack?

Just wanna confirm if it's just consist of grill, vents, window trims and respray of rims? Seems to me quite costly (4 digits) as quoted by SE.

UK's side did upgrade the rims for XF, so just wanna see if my SE does pull a fast one on me.

Care to PM me the price that you had to add on?

12063382_10153159861416914_5273435954443

12027497_10153159861406914_4093824439040

12032959_10153159861486914_4073652740626

Love the 20" propeller rims.......but dont think we will see many Sports version on the road....