Jaguar XE

Damienic

A saloon is a saloon, what coupe body??

I think he meant coupe styling, compare a bmw 3 series and 4 series gt where the back slopes down like a coupe

hmmm why? Feels like OMV 40k ish is overly high?

Should be more of a 35k-38k OMV car?

For a 44k car the dash looks plasticky, compared to audi A4 with a 33k omv. Edited by Lchong

Wow so many detractors out there for XE. Am surprised!

But right now I still love my Jag XE diesel.

Its my childhood dream car, ever since I saw the E-type, and I did'nt even know thats what its called then.

Today's XE's sloping roofline, smooth lines, muscular stance, the red badge front makes for a handsome cat that I don't ever get tired of checking out everytime I walk towards it.

My parents remember seeing the old Jags from their time, and think this one is really beautiful. They had no issues getting in, and appreciate the sportiness. To them, this car is really exclusive.

I had a previous ride and never used the fold down seats ever in the 7 years I drove it. I love that ride too, its manual and loved the experience of being fully in control.

But the XE is truly a driver's car. Its interior wraparound effect mimics a sports car interior. What I call cozy and cocoon interior, others call lack of space. I am a really heavy guy, 95 kg and 1.7m. I find this car fits me well.

XE is well composed at all speeds, inspiring confidence no matter the situation. Its high torque gets me out of tight situations with ease and the super efficient brakes makes sure I don't do anything stupid.

When I get in and am greeted with the pulsating red Start/Stop button, it syncs with your heart beat

da dum.....da dum......da dum......

Start... the Cat growls and the rotary gear selector rises out of its flushed position. Thats really cool.....

When I get home, I cannot but take another peek as I walk away from it.

By the way, XE came out tops in its class for Euro Ncap testing.

Wow, your wonderful writeup is great.

You are really in Love with your Jag :wub:          

Maybe this is what owning a car should be like, so much joy and happiness and so deeply in love [inlove]

"When I get home, I cannot but take another peek as I walk away from it."

It is just so romantic [:)]

Even those chio Bu SEs cannot compete.   [laugh] 

Its my childhood dream car, ever since I saw the E-type, and I did'nt even know thats what its called then.

Today's XE's sloping roofline, smooth lines, muscular stance, the red badge front makes for a handsome cat that I don't ever get tired of checking out everytime I walk towards it.

My parents remember seeing the old Jags from their time, and think this one is really beautiful. They had no issues getting in, and appreciate the sportiness. To them, this car is really exclusive.

I had a previous ride and never used the fold down seats ever in the 7 years I drove it. I love that ride too, its manual and loved the experience of being fully in control.

But the XE is truly a driver's car. Its interior wraparound effect mimics a sports car interior. What I call cozy and cocoon interior, others call lack of space. I am a really heavy guy, 95 kg and 1.7m. I find this car fits me well.

XE is well composed at all speeds, inspiring confidence no matter the situation. Its high torque gets me out of tight situations with ease and the super efficient brakes makes sure I don't do anything stupid.

When I get in and am greeted with the pulsating red Start/Stop button, it syncs with your heart beat

Start... the Cat growls and the rotary gear selector rises out of its flushed position. Thats really cool.....

Very poetic... [thumbsup]

Agree with most of your points.

I felt the diesel engine is one of the more refined and most quiet one I have heard across different marque. Stand outside each car with the engine running and you can tell the difference. Some other diesel models you will not be faulted for thinking a sonata taxi is pulling up behind you if you never turn your head. Within the car itself, the diesel engine noise and vibration is also very well insulated.

Did not have chance to do a mid range overtake, the SE only let me go around the Lengkee Alexandra area, low end is good with slight hesitancy on initial throttle. Acceleration is brisk rather than breath taking (maybe I am used to my own car's acceleration). But overall quite a good performance in this price range.

Interior space wise I like the minimalistic look and wrap around feel, equipment level not exactly poor but little things that are omitted just reminds you that you are in the entry level of the marque. No electrochromic rear view, no ventilated seats, no professional sound system, no blind spot monitor. Full genuine leather interior is a plus.

The almost full aluminium light weight structure is a hit or miss, on one hand it reduces the weight improving FC and maybe improve handling, on the other, during the drive, it felt abit "looser"? Not as "tight"? Don't really know how to put it. Not as firm and planted as other heavier cars.

Overall a pretty good option if I am looking to downsize in near future.

I just went to see the XE.. really nice! 

Selling at 13k depreciation.. what more can u ask for? 159k is based on 38k COE.. now is $165k..

If only if i dont need a bigger car..i will go for it.. haha

Got itchy backside for it.. but CO said mai knn to me.. small car change small car.. dont bo liao. :(

Edited by Rayoflight

I just went to see the XE.. really nice!

Selling at 13k depreciation.. what more can u ask for? 159k is based on 38k COE.. now is $165k..

If only if i dont need a bigger car..i will go for it.. haha

Got itchy backside for it.. but CO said mai knn to me.. small car change small car.. dont bo liao. :(

Your price is for the diesel or petrol?

I think price is softer now... The SE even said can squeeze more discount and freebies after confirm.

A saloon is a saloon, what coupe body??

It is explained by my SE that Jaguar XE design was based on the F-type that why the coupe body and sloping backend and the narrow entrance of the rear door.

the car is beautiful. 

my biggest concern is maintenence cost once warranty over.....

my dad used to own one. minor servicing few Ks. major servicing/repair easily 5 digit .......

Will wait for Fpace 2.0D before making a move to Jag.

the Fpace 3.0D will be insane!  700nm of torque!

Prices in SG will be too!

If currently based on pricing.. xe 2.0d really no horse run. I just send my car for servicing at Lengkee.. Went to take a stroll at audi & jag.

A4 is also very nice but XE interior is more special.

Orange stitched leather seats. Pop up gear selector. The side doors are shaped quite nicely as well.

Just that sometimes i need to put wheelchair, put stroller. Its either the wheelchair or the stroller.. But recently i bought a foldable stroller from taobao which can fold into very compact. Next will be the problem of having 2 child seats. Also the occasion changi airport trips with full size luggages

Edited by Rayoflight

If currently based on pricing.. xe 2.0d really no horse run. I just send my car for servicing at Lengkee.. Went to take a stroll at audi & jag.

Orange stitched leather seats. Pop up gear selector. The side doors are shaped quite nicely as well.

Just that sometimes i need to put wheelchair, put stroller. Its either the wheelchair or the stroller.. But recently i bought a foldable stroller from taobao which can fold into very compact. Next will be the problem of having 2 child seats. Also the occasion changi airport trips with full size luggages

Change your 2nd car to a load carrier and your primary car can be more fun?

just like RWD, let the rear wheels do the pushing and let the front wheels focus on steering.

Yes, have to agree that the price really no horse run. For 160K there abouts, shortlisted conti would be a4, 3 series and maybe B class (not sure B class pricing). Each brand have the pro and cons, so its a really tough choice to choose between badge, petrol vs diesel, space, exclusivity etc.

For me, I have never used AD workshop before as was all 2nd handcars w/o warranty, so I assumed that maintenance package wise would be similar between jag, merc or bimmer. Maybe someone with relevant experience be able to advise on that.

Reasons why I jump into a jag mostly cos of the outlook (hahah dont flame me or). Fierce looking front, pop up gear selector, the curve that went from door to the windscreen, value for money (as in AD markup is the lowest, higer omv) and a newer model than the rest I shortlisted.

Rest of the issues be it back seat space, flimsy panels (which I didnt notice), non fold down seats and diesel chatter doesnt bother me much.

End of the day, love at first sight when I saw the XE. Maybe just me, but outlook more impt than engine specs. Went showroom and like class95 advent, just notice all the nice trims and not the bad.

Yes, have to agree that the price really no horse run. For 160K there abouts, shortlisted conti would be a4, 3 series and maybe B class (not sure B class pricing). Each brand have the pro and cons, so its a really tough choice to choose between badge, petrol vs diesel, space, exclusivity etc.

For me, I have never used AD workshop before as was all 2nd handcars w/o warranty, so I assumed that maintenance package wise would be similar between jag, merc or bimmer. Maybe someone with relevant experience be able to advise on that.

Reasons why I jump into a jag mostly cos of the outlook (hahah dont flame me or). Fierce looking front, pop up gear selector, the curve that went from door to the windscreen, value for money (as in AD markup is the lowest, higer omv) and a newer model than the rest I shortlisted.

Rest of the issues be it back seat space, flimsy panels (which I didnt notice), non fold down seats and diesel chatter doesnt bother me much.

End of the day, love at first sight when I saw the XE. Maybe just me, but outlook more impt than engine specs. Went showroom and like class95 advent, just notice all the nice trims and not the bad.

Did they give u 5years maintenance free programme? SE said dont even need to pay for labour.

5years no need worry.

Did they give u 5years maintenance free programme? SE said dont even need to pay for labour.

5years no need worry.

5 yrs or 80K free service, except wear and tear parts like brakepad etc.

3 yrs or 100k warranty.

Both whichever comes first.