Beregond Supersonic July 4, 2021 Share July 4, 2021 1 hour ago, Spring said: Against a weaker Ukraine, Sancho was chosen to get behind the opposition. Mount is good at pressing, Grealish is good as an impact sub so they will be deployed accordingly n the England Mgr will not be swayed by pressure from club loyalties i watch till the 3rd goal and go sleep. i dun feel sancho show any thing worth his value esp in the first 1/2. grealish might do better then him if given a starting place. man c should keep sterling , he show he is england main man in attack ↡ Advertisement 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
mersaylee Hypersonic July 4, 2021 Share July 4, 2021 2 minutes ago, Beregond said: its not as 1 side as the result show. first 1/2 was quite even. ukraine undone by 2 early goal from each 1/2 infact after the first goal, ukraine play quite ok. england sitting back. the early goal again in 2nd half break ukraine... I was surprised to see that goalie decided to drop legs but not raise his arms...could have made a save... 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged July 4, 2021 Share July 4, 2021 7 hours ago, Locknload said: The demolition of Ukraine by England (4-0) with the assist of Luke Shaw was a joy to watch, with fast, flowing and fluid attacking play. The hug between both ManU players Maguire and Luke was highly-charged after Maguire scored from Luke's feeder, with Ukraine helpless at defending set-pieces. Looks like Alex Telles and Brendan Williams will definitely be onlookers, given Luke's vast improvement at both ManU and in the England teams. Man U can now go buy Stones and Pickford to complete their backline. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic July 4, 2021 Share July 4, 2021 2 hours ago, mersaylee said: I'd give credit to SG for the formation...there were almost always 8-9 white shirts against the Ukrainians despite their creative football to try tear down the stubborn English defence. Wah you give Steven Gerrard credit huh? Never give Southgate. England never let a goal in and have all the best wingers. Sterling, Sancho, Bellingham that can create a goal and have an in form No 9 striker in Kane. So this Euro will be won by Italy? 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic July 4, 2021 Share July 4, 2021 20 hours ago, Starry said: I find the red card given to Swiss damn soft lor...... Actually to think about it, Spain won this match without actually scoring any goal in 120 minutes. Both goals were scored by Swiss players..... That's not the only one. This tournament indeed seems to have some directive to clamp down on certain tackles. Dunno whether UEFA had highlighted this beforehand or not. If didn't, then it's really not fair. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic July 4, 2021 Share July 4, 2021 Eng vs Uk is like watching Man Utd and City vs West Ham. 4 - 0 not surprising. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic July 4, 2021 Share July 4, 2021 20 hours ago, Beregond said: he go in with 2 foots, follow through and bring the players down. many ppl like me and u will find it soft. but from what i see these dangerous tackle that might cause serious inj is totally out in this euro. Last time the two-footed tackles that warranted a red card, are those that go in with studs towards opponents. this one if i'm not wrong, was trying to kick the ball (but of course missed) with the top (shoe lace part) of the boot. Not that I condone or encourage this, but i feel UEFA should have highlighted that they will clamp down hard, just so that the players and teams are all fully aware of new rules, as they might have been playing with a totally different set of standards their whole life in club football. It's like some countries got no speed limit (autobahn), some countries like Aust got 130 km/h, some countries like NSH 110 km/h, and some highways like PIE only 90 km/h. Then if we invite drivers from all over the world to come and drive in KPE, then we better highlight to them that got speed camera at 70 km/h and 80 km/h there lor. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic July 4, 2021 Share July 4, 2021 7 minutes ago, Atrecord said: Last time the two-footed tackles that warranted a red card, are those that go in with studs towards opponents. this one if i'm not wrong, was trying to kick the ball (but of course missed) with the top (shoe lace part) of the boot. Not that I condone or encourage this, but i feel UEFA should have highlighted that they will clamp down hard, just so that the players and teams are all fully aware of new rules, as they might have been playing with a totally different set of standards their whole life in club football. It's like some countries got no speed limit (autobahn), some countries like Aust got 130 km/h, some countries like NSH 110 km/h, and some highways like PIE only 90 km/h. Then if we invite drivers from all over the world to come and drive in KPE, then we better highlight to them that got speed camera at 70 km/h and 80 km/h there lor. i not sure of the process. but i think before the game. the ref will give a briefing to both side of player what is his expectation what is allow or disallow Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Stary Turbocharged July 4, 2021 Share July 4, 2021 19 minutes ago, Jamesc said: Eng vs Uk is like watching Man Utd and City vs West Ham. 4 - 0 not surprising. It is like a training match for England. Like as if first team vs the subs Ukraine played it too gentlemanly. No urgency, no press, no aggression. This is probably the only match ever that has no yellow card. 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Spring Moderator July 4, 2021 Share July 4, 2021 Chelsea will hv at least 1 player who will complete the UCL/Euro double as they hv players in all the 4 S/Finalists. Christensen-Denmark, Chilwell, Mount, James-England, Jorginho, Emerson-Italy, Azpilecueta-Spain. List of players who hv done this double before: 1964: Luis Suarez (Internazionale Milano and Spain); 1988: Hans van Breukelen, Ronald Koeman, Berry van Aerle, Gerald Vanenburg (PSV Eindhoven and Netherlands); 2012: Fernando Torres, Juan Mata (Chelsea and Spain); 2016: Cristiano Ronaldo, Pepe (Real Madrid and Portugal) 8 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic July 4, 2021 Share July 4, 2021 2 hours ago, Spring said: Yellow cards reset after the q/finals so clean slate for all. I’m really happy for England though not counting any chickens yet. Happy cos there are a lot of England naysayers always so quick to knock England when they lose. Calling their players overhyped, overpaid, got no heart etc. Admittedly, sometimes it’s deserved but more often than not, it’s not deserved. Ironically, the critics are often fans of the big 6 and sometimes I wonder if these criticisms are due to tribal loyalties ie fans not happy that a certain player from their club team is not in the first X1. In the old days, Pool fans will swear by Gerrard, Chelsea fans by Lampard n Man U fans by Scholes. A few England Mgrs tried to fit all 3 but none could. Southgate facing the same problem as there hv been calls to include Foden (City), Sancho (United), Mount (Chelsea), Grealish (Villa) and Saka (Arsenal). All 5 hv merits why they shld be included but only 2 places available in the front 4 as Kane n Sterling almost undroppable. Southgate has managed it well so far by including whom he felt will play better depending on the opposition eg against a stronger Germany, Saka was chosen as he is defensively sounder. Against a weaker Ukraine, Sancho was chosen to get behind the opposition. Mount is good at pressing, Grealish is good as an impact sub so they will be deployed accordingly n the England Mgr will not be swayed by pressure from club loyalties which shld be the way. There were also calls to include Henderson as 1 of the double pivot as the current 2 occupying the slots play for non big 6 teams ie Phillips (Leeds) n Rice (West Ham) but Southgate resisted. I hope this continues and England can finally put an end to their 55 yr barren run internationally but I’m worried about a resurgent Italy team who are proving difficulty to beat but let’s get the Danes out of the way first! Agree with all that you said. i'm happy for England too, mostly at least. But everytime when Ukraine attacked, i somehow hoped that they'll score a goal or two leh, esp when the prick-ford miskicked the clearance. i was hoping he'll do a <what's the spanish keeper's name?> 😆, then get dropped for the next games.... then i'll be totally behind the team 😁 surprisingly England seems to be able to switch between offensive and defensive modes quite effectively and efficiently this tournament. Credits to the unheralded southgate and the players. With some luck, they might indeed be able to go all the way - but as we've seen so far, the ball is round, so one game at a time... While Kane is peaking, i don't like the way he slows the counter attacks down by passing back, then slowly jogging to the front - instead of pushing the ball forward to the wingers who were already further upfield. Gives me the impression that he wants to be involved and be the point man to finish any attacks. When he had Son around him, he was more forthcoming in releasing the ball to the pacy Son when he's further upfront. Why is he not doing the same for England? This is not so glaring when they are leading with such a clear margin. But if the team was trailing, sure will kanna slammed. Denmark continued to surprise. After Czech beat the stronger Netherlands, i tot they will be clear favourite to go semis, and then they went 2-0 down... to such a beautifully scored 2nd goal too. Now Schemiecal will be wondering whether he can follow his father's footsteps to win the title or not. Another team that doesn't have any big names after Eriksen's departure, but has done well against the odds. Still, the Italians have been impressive. maybe a shade more than the other teams. For now. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Atrecord Supersonic July 4, 2021 Share July 4, 2021 18 minutes ago, Beregond said: i not sure of the process. but i think before the game. the ref will give a briefing to both side of player what is his expectation what is allow or disallow alamak... cannot lah, so late. must highlight in press conference or similar, so that players and coaches can take note and get used to it in training mah. until game starting, then tell the captains, how to make sure it sinks in... Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Jamesc Hypersonic July 4, 2021 Share July 4, 2021 19 minutes ago, Spring said: Chelsea will hv at least 1 player who will complete the UCL/Euro double as they hv players in all the 4 S/Finalists. Christensen-Denmark, Chilwell, Mount, James-England, Jorginho, Emerson-Italy, Azpilecueta-Spain. List of players who hv done this double before: 1964: Luis Suarez (Internazionale Milano and Spain); 1988: Hans van Breukelen, Ronald Koeman, Berry van Aerle, Gerald Vanenburg (PSV Eindhoven and Netherlands); 2012: Fernando Torres, Juan Mata (Chelsea and Spain); 2016: Cristiano Ronaldo, Pepe (Real Madrid and Portugal) Cheque book club Chelsea has so many players some games they tackle each other. England Croatia Mateo Kovacic cruch tackle his own team mate Mason Mount. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weez911 Supersonic July 4, 2021 Share July 4, 2021 (edited) 5 hours ago, Beregond said: i watch till the 3rd goal and go sleep. i dun feel sancho show any thing worth his value esp in the first 1/2. grealish might do better then him if given a starting place. man c should keep sterling , he show he is england main man in attack I wish Shaw plays like this at Man Utd every game. And someone like John Stones will help Maquire a lot. Edited July 4, 2021 by Weez911 1 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Weez911 Supersonic July 4, 2021 Share July 4, 2021 4 hours ago, Atrecord said: Agree with all that you said. i'm happy for England too, mostly at least. But everytime when Ukraine attacked, i somehow hoped that they'll score a goal or two leh, esp when the prick-ford miskicked the clearance. i was hoping he'll do a <what's the spanish keeper's name?> 😆, then get dropped for the next games.... then i'll be totally behind the team Pickford will concede a lot more if not for Stones, Maguire, Phillips and Rice. The 2 DM, in particular, are so energetic and they gave a lot of protection to their defense. England used to be quite lethargic in the summer tournaments because of the weather but Phillips and Rice and a few others played with a lot of energy this round. If they continue this way they really can win it. 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beanoyip Turbocharged July 5, 2021 Share July 5, 2021 Going for Ita - Eng final! 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Beregond Supersonic July 5, 2021 Share July 5, 2021 1 minute ago, Beanoyip said: Going for Ita - Eng final! denmark will give a much harder challenge to england then ukraine .😁 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Yeshe Turbocharged July 5, 2021 Share July 5, 2021 3 minutes ago, Beregond said: denmark will give a much harder challenge to england then ukraine .😁 It's a fairy tale for Den if they clinch the title. 1) after losing first 2 opening games, who would think they had any chance to even reach the semis 2) that erikson incident could spur and motivated them all the way. For their #10 3) Schmeichel to replicate what the father did in 1992. ↡ Advertisement 4 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...