Kyrios Turbocharged September 25, 2019 Share September 25, 2019 6 minutes ago, PSP415 said: I read that. George Orwells. Good book. Reality of life. "Some will always be more equal than others" iirc. That's life. Unfairness and misfortunes. The poor, sick and homeless. Genocides and senseless fighting. Vanities of life. Rights and wrongs. Haves and have nots. Yet at 1 time in history, the richest man in his lifetime committed suicide because he found life boring and meaningless. Great wealth. So stupid hor. Many of us will be very happy.😂😁😁 Just yada-ing Safe ride Cheers Wah brudder...u so fast packing it in ah...😄 ↡ Advertisement 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PSP415 Supersonic September 25, 2019 Author Share September 25, 2019 38 minutes ago, Playtime said: Please share the full context of that speech? Or can share link to that? Quoting a portion of a speech where its most appealing to whoever is similar to quoting out of context. Hehe...i learnt that in bible studies. Must read from head to tail. Not suka suka take portion to prove what is in one's mind to justify something. Eg...a little wine is good for the stomach is often used to say drinking is fine. An example. I am not saying its good or bad. 🤣😂😂😂 Kam sia Safe ride Cheers 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Tjkbeluga 5th Gear September 25, 2019 Share September 25, 2019 (edited) 53 minutes ago, Playtime said: That's kinda heavy reading isn't it.. I reckon that's probably for post sec level. Actually Animal Farm would probably be good literature for sec school as entry level. .. but no surprise it would be deemed too sensitive. It is in their Sec 2 literature syllabus. Both my children did read it... Edited September 25, 2019 by Tjkbeluga 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kusje Supersonic September 25, 2019 Share September 25, 2019 warn LJ la. no one trusts a snake. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Victor68 Turbocharged September 25, 2019 Share September 25, 2019 7 hours ago, PSP415 said: Please share the full context of that speech? Or can share link to that? Quoting a portion of a speech where its most appealing to whoever is similar to quoting out of context. Hehe...i learnt that in bible studies. Must read from head to tail. Not suka suka take portion to prove what is in one's mind to justify something. Eg...a little wine is good for the stomach is often used to say drinking is fine. An example. I am not saying its good or bad. 🤣😂😂😂 Kam sia Safe ride Cheers Didn't manage to read or listen to the full speech. Care to share how you interpret his message? Obvious one no need to explain. Like he needs to convince more people in parliament to support his motion when you have more oppositions. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PSP415 Supersonic September 25, 2019 Author Share September 25, 2019 24 minutes ago, Victor68 said: Didn't manage to read or listen to the full speech. Care to share how you interpret his message? Obvious one no need to explain. Like he needs to convince more people in parliament to support his motion when you have more oppositions. Obvious? I read it as more unnecessary noises detracts from good policies being weighed and accessed as one's attention will be solely taxed to "separate the wheat from the chaff". Instead of debating on merits of a policy, it will be to debate for the sake of opposing. That is why I prefer to understand the text of this in light of his full speech. Rather not assume based on my interpretation which is obvious to me and not to others just as your interpretation is not an obvious one to me. Because the before and after text can add or subtract to my interpretation. Just my pov. Safe ride Cheers 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Voodooman Supersonic September 26, 2019 Share September 26, 2019 9 hours ago, PSP415 said: Please share the full context of that speech? Or can share link to that? Quoting a portion of a speech where its most appealing to whoever is similar to quoting out of context. Hehe...i learnt that in bible studies. Must read from head to tail. Not suka suka take portion to prove what is in one's mind to justify something. Eg...a little wine is good for the stomach is often used to say drinking is fine. An example. I am not saying its good or bad. 🤣😂😂😂 Kam sia Safe ride Cheers Don't think it was taken out of context, LHL did said that opposition is a distraction and he rather focused his time and attention on managing the country than on fixing opposition. Based on all those lawsuits and numerous investigations flying around, he is certainly keeping the opposition busy, especially in recent years. 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PSP415 Supersonic September 26, 2019 Author Share September 26, 2019 10 minutes ago, Voodooman said: Don't think it was taken out of context, LHL did said that opposition is a distraction and he rather focused his time and attention on managing the country than on fixing opposition. Based on all those lawsuits and numerous investigations flying around, he is certainly keeping the opposition busy, especially in recent years. Your interpretation is similar to mine. Frankly, i hope for credible opposition who really love this country and its ppl. We need a good team to help sound out blindspots so that lives of citizens can improve in quality. If they are inside to be popular, we will have a period of grief. Not unlike Taiwan's parliament where its become an entertaining circus, their fists fights and expletives laden debates are claimed to be for the ppl's good. Still, a good opposition voice will strike the chords of reason and even if small in numbers, is a stepping stone for a greater purpose. Patience, a good heart and diligent pair of hands and legs will have its rewards. We are still afterall one ppl. Singaporeans are not stupid or deaf. But i not so sure about Malaysians pretending to be Singaporeans lurking in this forum. Safe ride Cheers 3 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic September 26, 2019 Share September 26, 2019 Maybe we will follow Thailand examples https://www.straitstimes.com/asia/se-asia/thailand-to-open-fake-news-centre-by-nov-1-to-address-rumours-on-social-media-platforms Quote Thailand to open anti-fake news centre by Nov 1 to address rumours on social media platforms Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic September 26, 2019 Share September 26, 2019 11 hours ago, Playtime said: That's kinda heavy reading isn't it.. I reckon that's probably for post sec level. Actually Animal Farm would probably be good literature for sec school as entry level. .. but no surprise it would be deemed too sensitive. can always start off with the classic cartoon. but that's bit slow paced by current standards. I read Animal Farm only in University. Though i had watched the cartoon many times. Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic September 26, 2019 Share September 26, 2019 (edited) 1 hour ago, Voodooman said: Don't think it was taken out of context, LHL did said that opposition is a distraction and he rather focused his time and attention on managing the country than on fixing opposition. Based on all those lawsuits and numerous investigations flying around, he is certainly keeping the opposition busy, especially in recent years. It's just the truth. In America, when congressmen and senators get elected. U know when they start their re-election campaign fundraising? The next few weeks after they get elected So that they have a whole 4 years to fundraise or strategise. It's no different from blaming CEOs for "short termism" when they are just looking at the next quarter. There's some good, some bad with either approach. Edited September 26, 2019 by Lala81 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic September 26, 2019 Share September 26, 2019 (edited) 11 hours ago, PSP415 said: Please share the full context of that speech? Or can share link to that? Quoting a portion of a speech where its most appealing to whoever is similar to quoting out of context. Hehe...i learnt that in bible studies. Must read from head to tail. Not suka suka take portion to prove what is in one's mind to justify something. Eg...a little wine is good for the stomach is often used to say drinking is fine. An example. I am not saying its good or bad. Well to put this into context, we still don't have televised or recorded footage of parliamentary proceedings (that is not from MSM's daily 10min report on what happened in parliament). Given that there are 70-80 pap mps and 5 opposition ones. So that 9 mins is PAP time, 1 min is opposition time. So how can we judge who's making sense? That would be really walking the talk. Shanmugan is a top lawyer. U want to argue with him, 99% sure lose. Even if u fundamentally disagree with the basis of his argument. It's not surprising he's often the one fronting the most unpleasant parts of govt policy. Edited September 26, 2019 by Lala81 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic September 26, 2019 Share September 26, 2019 (edited) Problem with internet is that u go to search and read/hear what u want to hear/read. So the 70% will read their stuff. 30% read their stuff. With every policy, even well constructed. There will be 80% solution, 20% new problems created. It's a never ending cycle. Just what side u want to look at. Government always want to control... Edited September 26, 2019 by Lala81 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kyrios Turbocharged September 26, 2019 Share September 26, 2019 1 hour ago, PSP415 said: But i not so sure about Malaysians pretending to be Singaporeans lurking in this forum. Bro...on this point....for the first time...I dare say I stand shoulder to shoulder with you on this one... I kee chiu and agree..... 2 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
PSP415 Supersonic September 26, 2019 Author Share September 26, 2019 1 minute ago, Lala81 said: Well to put this into context, we still don't have televised or recorded footage of parliamentary proceedings (that is not from MSM's daily 10min report on what happened in parliament). Given that there are 70-80 pap mps and 5 opposition ones. So how can we judge who's making sense? That would be really walking the talk. Shanmugan is a top lawyer. U want to argue with him, 99% sure lose. Even if u fundamentally disagree with the basis of his argument. It's not surprising he's often the one fronting the most unpleasant parts of govt policy. Hence, its open to interpretation of sorts and words can be twisted to suit what one hope to achieve or have ppl to be inclined per se to one's own views. Who's to know and for some, who cares?😅😂😂 If there are facts, regardless who delivers the message, it will stand the test of time and scrutiny. But i concur that getting the Law Minister to touch on this lawful topic is apt and necessary to clear 99% doubts. 1% is donkey minded. Stubborn as a mule and blind as a bat. Deaf as a stone. Okok, wait i kena whacked by the Malaysians disguised as Singaporeans for scolding them. 🤣 Safe ride Cheers 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Lala81 Hypersonic September 26, 2019 Share September 26, 2019 6 minutes ago, PSP415 said: But i concur that getting the Law Minister to touch on this lawful topic is apt and necessary to clear 99% doubts. So many things in SG break the law, of course Law minister can talk a lot mah. If u recall, the previous law minister never talk so much haha 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
Playtime Twincharged September 26, 2019 Share September 26, 2019 1 Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...
inlinesix Hypersonic September 26, 2019 Share September 26, 2019 (edited) 3 minutes ago, Lala81 said: So many things in SG break the law, of course Law minister can talk a lot mah. If u recall, the previous law minister never talk so much haha Who is his predecessor? The next one will follow the same pattern. Edited September 26, 2019 by Davidtch ↡ Advertisement Link to post Share on other sites More sharing options...