Tyre puncture

Neutrino

On 5/28/2024 at 2:24 PM, DOBIEMKZ said:

Tpms is useful indeed, contemplating to install an aftermarket one.

Just buy external TPMS. No need install 

On 5/28/2024 at 2:19 PM, Ct3833 said:

If kena big one TPM cannonly tell yountyre flat liao, but still too late 🤣

By the way , you install after market tpm ? or you change to new car already ?

Contemplating to install an aftermarket one... shopee and lazada seem many but i supposed they are the same from generic manufacturer. 

On 5/28/2024 at 2:26 PM, inlinesix said:

Just buy external TPMS. No need install 

Yes, external one seems good. 😉

On 5/28/2024 at 2:26 PM, DOBIEMKZ said:

Contemplating to install an aftermarket one... shopee and lazada seem many but i supposed they are the same from generic manufacturer. 

My 15 yo coe car uses a very simpe fundamental method, the systems compares the rotation of 4 wheels to tell me tyre pressure low but unable to tell me which one 🤣

And in case any one like me cheapo has no pressure guage, go petrol kiosk , set the air pump to your rating, shaft it on the vavle of the tyre, you can see the pressure of your tyre on the meter the moment it starts pumping.

Edited by Ct3833

On 5/28/2024 at 12:32 PM, Beregond said:

I aiming aysm 6 also. Need to wait my front 2 pcs wear off. Almost liao 🤣

Hmmm.. then i suggest when your car is parked, keep turning the steering lock-to-lock left and right for an hour. 😅

On 5/28/2024 at 1:48 PM, Mkl22 said:

a tpms would have solved and saved you money for a new tire and also the labour to fit the spare on. 🤣

For small punctures I would have the tyre patched up. 

But when that metal scrap was retrieved out, the gash was rather wide. I was skeptical if the patching latex will fully covered up the wide cut and securely sealed up the puncture.

I use a steelmate external tpms plug into cig lighter. My own unit used for 8years already. Parents and family member cars used for 5years.  Just change batteries only. 
saved me 2 times so far. Started beeping like crazy when I drove off. Stopped in a couple of meters and then pumped up the tire, then proceeded to the tire shop. Only got my hands dirty hooking up with air pump. 
no need any spare. 
chances of a big blow out where tpms is of no use is super rare.

Never encountered any or know of any in all my years of driving. But have seen and ownself have experienced driving with a flat and destroying the tire sidewall. When the tire was dismounted, could see lots of tire dust inside which is due to driving with the tire under inflated. 

Edited by Mkl22

On 5/28/2024 at 2:29 PM, Ct3833 said:

My 15 yo coe car uses a very simpe fundamental method, the systems compares the rotation of 4 wheels to tell me tyre pressure low but unable to tell me which one 🤣

And in case any one like me cheapo has no pressure guage, go petrol kiosk , set the air pump to your rating, shaft it on the vavle of the tyre, you can see the pressure of your tyre on the meter the moment it starts pumping.

My Mini also have that.

But I installed TPMS instead. More reliable 

@DOBIEMKZ  WOW, look like u offend someone haha..  better get it change. 

you can go => 160 Sin Ming Dr, Singapore 575722,  if you have no other recommendations. Cause my dad always go there change. 

On 6/26/2024 at 6:30 PM, DOBIEMKZ said:

Damn !!! Just changed tyres a like a month ago and today this happened again! 😟

image.png.b6630f12ec7ae8df012b37b73ab88174.png

image.thumb.png.5a764f85ec53e49f3993adc18bb175bd.png

Time to change car!!! It’s a big big sign!!!!!

On 6/26/2024 at 6:30 PM, DOBIEMKZ said:

Damn !!! Just changed tyres a like a month ago and today this happened again! 😟

image.png.b6630f12ec7ae8df012b37b73ab88174.png

image.thumb.png.5a764f85ec53e49f3993adc18bb175bd.png

This is sibei suay, the screw so long.

This type cannot patch one.

Edited by Fcw75

On 6/26/2024 at 8:42 PM, Fcw75 said:

can try la, see how

ask the mech before push in the worm, put some glue on it first.

or straight away do inner patch

On 6/26/2024 at 9:04 PM, Beregond said:

can try la, see how

ask the mech before push in the worm, put some glue on it first.

or straight away do inner patch

But this is almost at the sidewall.

On 6/26/2024 at 8:42 PM, Fcw75 said:

I have it patched up. Signnn....

image.thumb.png.105b124c914fba06737d1aa15133b3ab.png

On 6/26/2024 at 9:21 PM, DOBIEMKZ said:

I have it patched up. Signnn....

image.thumb.png.105b124c914fba06737d1aa15133b3ab.png

monitor a few weeks loh

I alway laugh at ppl kenna puncture, until i kenna twice in 1 mth last month, before that i went years and years never kenna.

i got scared and go buy a xiaomi portable pump😂

On 6/26/2024 at 9:21 PM, Fcw75 said:

But this is almost at the sidewall.

The puncture still at base thread although quite close to the side-wall so still patchable.

Going forward ,  i read that there are some tyres with a layer of sealant inside such that the when there is a puncture the sealant will immediately seep to the puncture and seal it off.  Now i am seriously considering those..

On 6/26/2024 at 9:25 PM, DOBIEMKZ said:

The puncture still at base thread although quite close to the side-wall so still patchable.

Going forward ,  i read that there are some tyres with a layer of sealant inside such that the when there is a puncture the sealant will immediately seep to the puncture and seal it off.  Now i am seriously considering those..

Hope it last. You have a portable pump in your car?