Hiring a domestic helper - tips and info needed

therock

My current helper is a transfer maid.  We employed her 15 years ago and have no regrets.  I let kids choose then cuz kids were toddlers and i needed them to feel comfortable with the maid. I specifically asked for one who had completed a 2 or 4 year stint.

My rationale was if a previous employer can tahan the maid for a full contract,  then should be quite OK. She wanted a new employer and her only demand other than more money was every Sunday off.  I was OK with that and back then, 15 years ago, giving maids one off day every week was unusual.   And now, we benefit from her great cooking skills!

On 5/2/2021 at 5:09 PM, therock said:

Bros, do you all have any tips to help ease a new maid in?

Or a checklist / orientation program? 

My MIL might need to get one soon, thank you..

are you considering transfer or new hire? 

If new hire, the current process of application is quite strict, unless one of the family members has  a medical condition with a proper medical report , otherwise, application of approval is very challenging due to covid situation. 

For transfer helpers, because of the tight helper market now, they are out to look for best deal. If your MIL will to stay with you,  you are going to have tough luck finding one. I tried that last year, the moment they heard about the size of my house, they will back out immediately. I have interviewed so many transfer helpers that I have given up eventually, despite I offered them S$850 with day off, simply no one wants to take. My condition is no need to vacuum floor, just use xiaomi roborock and  no need to wash car, but there was no takers. They simply have too many potential employers to choose from.  I think they will simply choose those simple household to work for. 

For new hires, make sure you share with them the expectation and the job role clearly , otherwise it will be a waste of time if you get into expectation  mismatch. One more, it is best you share with them a little more responsibility than to bargain with them when they are here.  You can make the requirement tougher, whoever willing to take the job will be more keen to work for you. 

End of the day, it boils down to luck as well. Hope you could find a suitable one soon. 

Edited by Ct3833

Hi bros

How much space do you give your maids? What about cupboard space and such? 

Due to a miscalculation, I have to find a 180-190cm long bed frame... because the room allocated is too short.. and it's pretty hard to find one.

I found a sofa bed from Ikea that might fit, but I would like to give her something a bit better and the fixed frame ones will also allow her to store her luggage underneath. 

18 minutes ago, therock said:

Hi bros

Due to a miscalculation, I have to find a 180-190cm long bed frame... because the room allocated is too short.. and it's pretty hard to find one.

I found a sofa bed from Ikea that might fit, but I would like to give her something a bit better and the fixed frame ones will also allow her to store her luggage underneath. 

Most of them are not so tall, so 1.8m bed frame is longer than enough. Last time i custom made a bad frame because of the length of the room,  but she has to  fold the mattress slightly on one end.  but that is not a problem because she does not use the full length of the mattress .  cupboard space wise, one or two shelve space is sufficient, the rest of her belonging can be kept under the bed or in a storeroom. 

On 5/3/2021 at 5:22 PM, Ct3833 said:

I tried that last year, the moment they heard about the size of my house, they will back out immediately. 

Wow you must be Mr Lim of Sheng Siong! Now we know....You need an estate manager not a helper!  😄

Edited by Volvobrick

For my new maid, she is sleeping in same room as my mum. Cabinet is all filled with mum's clothing and items so no space for maid to keep her things. Got her those toyogo-type containers to keep her things.

The mattress come with the bed my mum has currently. If not sleeping time, can just keep under my mum's bed and take out at night.

18 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

Wow you must be Mr Lim of Sheng Siong! Now we know....You need an estate manager not a helper!  😄

No need vacumm floor, wash car... but everyday mop just one floor and wash 10 toilets oredi pengshan liao. Following week mop second floor...then swee swee cover all 4 floors in a month then samurah...😅

40 minutes ago, Volvobrick said:

Mine is a small little house, but these people are looking for small family to work for , like 1 couple with 1 kid, not too big condo or HDB,  the best can walk the dog everyday, they are not keen to work for my type of household size. I am  no Mr. Lim but i am  lim xi bei  feng

actually finding helper is very tough since  last year till now , very few transfer helpers available, so much so that they can pick and choose employers. I even have to offer condition like  no need to wash car, vacuuming will be done by roborock, no hand wash  but still no takers.  I still ended up have to take risk to hire a new one, paid for covid test, quarantine etc and be prepared to pay for hospital bills if she gets into covid complication. 

Edited by Ct3833

2 hours ago, therock said:

Hi bros

In the contract,  employer is suppose to provide a room and bed for the maid,  but it is never enforced.  Most maids are fine with sleeping on the floor ( on a mattress of course).  

If you really want a bed for her,  and space is a limitation, you might want to consider those tatami storage bed, which you can mix and match the storage boxes according to your requirement. 

Something like what's in the link below. 

https://m.ezbuy.sg/product/51000950321961.html?gclid=CjwKCAjw2ZaGBhBoEiwA8pfP_tzuhg52nyw0uk7-EAC1_1XAA4lZmuO3XIapz-qOScOmxf6uoXdqCRoCk0QQAvD_BwE&language=en&skuid=4484711631054

Space wise, there is not written requirement, but it might be good to give her some private space for breaks and rest.  We converted the storeroom into the maid room, and all maids were happy with in.  Just be sure that whichever room you intend to use has a window,  otherwise there must not be a door.  This is hdb requirement for "bedrooms", not sure if it also apply to private landed housing,  but I am guessing is for safety reason,  so might just be applicable also.  

Storage wise,  most maid only come with a luggage and one hand carry,  once empty out nothing left inside,  can keep anywhere.  Almost ALL will want to buy new ones when they go back,  so don't worry about their luggage and bags,  most likely throw away later.  

One small wooden cupboard from giant is more than enough,  in fact as @Christan mentioned,  a 4 tier toyogo container like this one below is good to go.  [laugh][laugh][laugh]

IMG20210613235300.thumb.jpg.43f970ffd712a24275a5198f267ef610.jpg

You may also want to prepare a set of eating and drinking utensils  for her,  separating from the household ones. 

Edited by Tianmo

5 hours ago, therock said:

Situation is quite bad here - acute shortage of maids and also agency fees have skyrocketed too due to shortage and SHN boarding and stringent MOM rejecting applications too …… just dunno what’s going on 

13 minutes ago, 13177 said:

The article mentioned that one maid wanted higher salary but lesser work? Where got such thing de? Can i tell this to my boss? Lol.

Everyone is keen on it but like the rest of us slogging away .. reality bites

we put up with two airbags, no auto brake etc

we will find more budget options even those part time ones..

Very soon, gahmen will encourage locals to be maids. LOL

Diploma in Maidology coming... to our local polytechnics...

Edited by Kangadrool

Nah bro, the pay will not attract the locals.. even the Malaysians will not bite.. do you know much a confinement lady earns? $$..

Thanks for the tips, with the help of my MIL (rather than in spite of 😉 ) we got one, and I'm in the process of sprucing up the tiny room for her.

Any other tips on handling her will be great.

I also heard from my wife's friends that those seeking confinement ladies are also experiencing demand.. 

On 5/2/2021 at 5:09 PM, therock said:

Bros, do you all have any tips to help ease a new maid in?

Or a checklist / orientation program? 

My MIL might need to get one soon, thank you..

Which agency did you used bro?

May also need a live in caregiver soon. 

5 hours ago, Fcw75 said:

Which agency did you used bro?

May also need a live in caregiver soon. 

I’ll ask my wife, but essentially we took over my MIL’s first as my mum was familiar with her, then she got another…